Agencies | Governor
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall
Agency
Virginia Department of Health
Board
State Board of Health
chapter
Virginia Emergency Medical Services Regulations [12 VAC 5 ‑ 31]
Action Amend current regulations to include new regulations as a result of legislative changes and changes in the practice of EMS.
Stage Final
Comment Period Ends 10/9/2012
spacer
Previous Comment     Next Comment     Back to List of Comments
9/12/12  12:05 pm
Commenter: Robert Mintern, Citizen

12VAC5-31-1552
 

The new EMS Educator requirements are excessive.  They require EMS Educators to obtain an additional 12 hours of educator specific education EVERY recert period, this is in addition to the 50 hours already required to teach in 2 years.  That is a BRAND NEW UNFUNDED MANDATE, the cost of such classes is a financial burden to already budget-poor EMS systems/governments & EMS educators who will likely have to pay for such classes on their own, out of pocket, taking time off of work, especially in the volunteer sector of EMS.  They will be difficult classes to find, as they are RARE at best at the present time.  The second portion of this specific section of the regulations which I am gravely concerned for is the REQUIREMENT that EMS educators MUST TEST every recert time in order to keep serving as such.  NO OTHER HEALTH OR ALLIIED HEALTH PROFESSION REQUIRES THEIR EDUCATORS TO TEST aka "sing for their supper" every 2 to 4 years.  This is also not a requirement for any of the other public safety sector (fire, law enforcement, etc) Instructors to do this so why is it now becoming a regulatory requirement for EMS Educators? UNFUNDED MANDATE, HUGE EXPENSE, TRAVEL EXPENSE TO TEST TO RECERTIFY, TIME OFF FROM WORK TO DO SO, AN EXCESSIVE MANDATE THAT HAS NO RHYME OR REASON BEHIND IT.  Where is the data to show this is essential? If educators are not educating correctly now, there is a regulatory process available to OEMS/VDH to take proper enforcement actions against the specific instructor. Don't punish all for a few peoples mistakes.  If it's not broke, don't fix it.  Take swift action against the bad ones & keep the good instructors.  You're setting this up to be career-only instructor certification, shoving volunteer educators to the curb. UNFUNDED MANDATE.  UNACCEPTABLE, OVER THE TOP REQUIREMENT that is NOT NEEDED.