18VAC90-20-181. Issuance of a license with a multistate licensure privilege.
A. In order to be issued a license with a multistate licensure privilege by the board, a nurse currently licensed in Virginia or a person applying for licensure in Virginia shall submit a declaration stating that his primary residence is in Virginia. Evidence of a primary state of residence may be required to include but not be limited to:
1. A driver's license with a home address;
2. A voter registration card displaying a home address;
3. A federal or state tax return declaring the primary state of
4. A Military Form No. 2058 state of legal residence; or
5. A W-2 from the United States government or any bureau, division, or agency thereof indicating the declared state of residence.
B. A nurse on a visa from another country applying for licensure in Virginia may declare either the country of origin or Virginia as the primary state of residence. If the foreign country is declared as the primary state of residence, a single state license shall be issued by Virginia.
C. A nurse changing the primary state of residence from another party state to Virginia may continue to practice under the former party state license and multistate licensure privilege during the processing of the nurse's licensure application by the board for a period not to exceed 30 days.
1. If a nurse is under a pending investigation by a former home state, the licensure application in Virginia shall be held in abeyance and the 30-day authorization to practice stayed until resolution of the pending investigation.
2. A license issued by a former party state shall no longer be valid upon issuance of a license by the board.
3. If the board denies licensure to an applicant from another party state, it shall notify the former home state within 10 business days, and the former home state may take action in accordance with the laws and regulations of that state.
D. A license issued by a party state is valid for practice in all other party states, unless clearly designated as valid only in the state that issued the license. When a party state issues a license authorizing practice only in that state and not authorizing practice in other party states, the license shall be clearly marked with words indicating that it is valid only in the state of issuance.