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(VAC) citation(s)  

 19 VAC 30-70 

Regulation title(s) 19VAC30-70. VIRGINIA MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY INSPECTION 
RULES AND REGULATIONS 

Action title VIRGINIA MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY INSPECTION RULES AND 
REGULATIONS- 2017 AMENDMENTS (FINAL) 

Final agency action date 1 JUNE 2017 

Date this document 
prepared 

15 JUNE 2017 

 
When a regulatory action is exempt from executive branch review pursuant to § 2.2-4002 or § 2.2-4006 of the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (APA) or an agency’s basic statute, the agency is not required, however, is encouraged to 
provide information to the public on the Regulatory Town Hall using this form.  Note:  While posting this form on the 
Town Hall is optional, the agency must comply with requirements of the Virginia Register Act, Executive Orders 17 
(2014) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual.  

 

 

Brief summary  
 

 

Please provide a brief summary of the proposed new regulation, proposed amendments to the existing 
regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the reader to all substantive matters or 
changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
                

 

Promulgated rules, implement changes and or technical amendments to the Virginia Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Rules and Regulations, Title 19 Chapter 70, of the Virginia Administrative Code to make 
supplemental technical corrections and to comply with statutory changes since 2016.   
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Statement of final agency action 
 

 

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was 
taken; 2) the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
                

 

On June 1, 2017, the Virginia State Police adopted final amended regulations for 19 VAC 30-70, the 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Rules and Regulations to make supplemental technical 
corrections and to comply with Virginia statutory changes that have occurred since 2016.   The changes 
are: 
 

1. 19VAC30-70-1 Purpose and Authority – Added language explaining how the Inspection Program 
is based upon the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 
Standards.   
 

2. 19VAC30-70-6  Class IV Offenses - Upon review, the last sentence of paragraph 8 will now read, 
“The conviction of any criminal offense or civil judgment or bankruptcy may result in a suspension 
or revocation of the inspector and/or the station appointment.”  Upon review, paragraph 13 will 
now require those connected with the inspection program to notify their supervising trooper or 
Safety Division Area Office within 72 hours of an arrest for a criminal offense or the institution of 
civil action.  The language “72 hours” replaces that of “immediately.” 
 

3. 19VAC30-70-9.1  Official Inspection Station Appointment - Upon review, paragraph A, section 
1(b) will now read, “The application form or forms are to be completed and returned to the 
supervising trooper processing the application within forty-five (45) days. 
 

4. 19VAC30-70-10  Official Inspection Station Requirements – The revision clarifies that all stations 
may suggest to motorists a time frame of no greater than three hours during which it may be 
anticipated that an inspection may be provided.  Furthermore, it allows for those inspection 
stations with multiple inspection lanes to be able to make appointments for designated time slots; 
provided they have an inspection lane set aside for first-come, first-served. Prohibits inspection 
stations from sharing inspection supplies issued to an inspection station including inserts. 

 
5. 19VAC30-70-20  General Inspection Requirements – The language was modified so that it now 

requires certified safety inspectors to remove and destroy any previous approval sticker that may 
be on a vehicle submitted for inspection. 

 
6. 19VAC30-70-30  Inspector Requirements – This revision states that as an alternative to one year 

of practical experience as an automotive mechanic, certified mechanics are now allowed to have 
six months of practical experience as an automotive mechanic, if combined with an additional and 
separate six months of mirroring another certified state inspector. 

 
7. 19VAC30-70-50  Approval Stickers and Decals - Upon review, paragraph N will now read, “All 

yellow receipt copies of approval stickers and decals will be retained in the books and shall be 
kept on file at the station for at least six (6) months. They may be inspected by any law-
enforcement officer during normal business hours”.  
 

8. 19VAC30-70-160 Auxiliary Lamps:  Backup; Cornering; Driving; Fog; Spot and Warning – 
Changed the language to now allow for the installation of hide-away lights in the backup lights of 
law enforcement vehicles. 
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Family impact 
 

 

Please assess the impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability 
including to what extent the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights of 
parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage 
economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and 
one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or 
decrease disposable family income.  
              

 

The following changes are to ensure the Regulations are consistent with the controlling Virginia laws and 
to ensure the safety of Virginia families as they travel the highways throughout the Commonwealth. 
 


