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Agency name | Board of Physical Therapy, Department of Health Professions

Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC112-20
(VAC) citation

Regulation title | Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy

Action title | Direct access certification
Date this document prepared 2/25/08

This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 36 (2006) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual.

In a short paragraph, please summarize all substantive changes that are being proposed in this
regulatory action.

The amended regulations will: 1) establish the qualifications and applicagwiner@ents for
certification in direct access; 2) set out the responsibility for the gdiytbierapist to obtain the
medical release and patient consent required by the statute; 3) estal#ishial benewal of
certification with continuing education hours; and 4) establish the fees for albess

certification.

Proposed regulations will replace the “emergency” regulation adopted plianoe with the

second enactment clause of HB2087 and SB1305 enacted by the 2007 General Asserbly, whic
required: “That the Board shall promulgate regulations to implement provisions of this act to be
effective within 280 days of its enactme@hapters 9 and 18 of the 2007 Acts of the Assembly
were enacted on March 13, 2007; emergency regulations expire on October 31, 2008.

Legal basis

Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including
(1) the most relevant law and/or regulation, including Code of Virginia citation and General Assembly
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chapter number(s), if applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., the agency, board, or person. Describe
the legal authority and the extent to which the authority is mandatory or discretionary.

18VAC112-20-10 et seg. Regulations Gover ning the Practice of Physical Therapy are
promulgated under the general authority of Chaptesf Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section
54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board of Physical Therapy the authority to promulgatdioagttia
administer the regulatory system:

§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards
The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:

6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Aét18:9-et
seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectivelygthatoey system. Such
regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter@hnagfter 1 ($54.1-
100et seq.) and Chapter 25 §3.1-2500et seq.) of this title. ...

The mandate for promulgation of regulations to establish a certificatialrémt access
authorization for physical therapists is found in:

§ 54.1-3482. (Contingent effective date - see Editor's note) Certgieence and referrals required;
unlawful to practice physical therapist assistance except under thedtion and control of a licensed
physical therapist.

A. It shall be unlawful for a person to engage in the practice of physicapexcept as a licensed
physical therapist, upon the referral and direction of a licensed doctor of imedasteopathy,
chiropractic, podiatry, dental surgery, licensed nurse practitioner as autlibnizkis practice protocol,
or a licensed physician assistant acting under the supervision of a licenseclghyeskcept as provided
in this section.

B. A physical therapist who has obtained a certificate of authorization pursuant to § 54.134§2.1
evaluate and treat a patient for no more than 14 consecutive business days afisicvalithout a
referral under the following conditions: (i) the patient at the time ofgatdion to a physical therapist
for physical therapy services is not being currently cared for, astatt¢o in writing by the patient, by a
licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, dental sutigersed nurse
practitioner as authorized in his practice protocol, or a licensed physicidastassacting under the
supervision of a licensed physician for the symptoms giving rise todkerpation; (ii) the patient
identifies a practitioner from whom the patient intends to seek tegdtifithe condition for which he is
seeking treatment does not improve after evaluation and treatment by siieaptherapist during the
14-day period of treatment; (iii) the patient gives written conserthiphysical therapist to release all
personal health information and treatment records to the identified practitiand (iv) the physical
therapist notifies the practitioner identified by the patient no ldtentthree days after treatment
commences and provides the practitioner with a copy of the initial evaluating alith a copy of the
patient history obtained by the physical therapist. Evaluation and treatnagnhot be initiated by a
physical therapist if the patient does not identify a licensed doctor ofimedisteopathy, chiropractic,
podiatry, dental surgery, licensed nurse practitioner as authorized irrdisige protocol, or a licensed
physician assistant acting under the supervision of a licensed physician to manpgtehis condition.
Treatment for more than 14 consecutive business days after evaluation of tseichsball only be upon
the referral and direction of a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chitapnaodiatry, dental
surgery, licensed nurse practitioner as authorized in his practice protocallioensed physician
assistant acting under the supervision of a licensed physician. A physical sh@nagicontact the
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practitioner identified by the patient at the end of the 14-day period tongeif the practitioner will
authorize additional physical therapy services until such time as thenpatie be seen by the
practitioner. A physical therapist shall not perform an initial evaluation of eepatinder this subsection
if the physical therapist has performed an initial evaluation of theepatinder this subsection within the
immediately preceding three months. For the purposes of this subsectioesudays means Monday
through Friday of each week excluding state holidays.

C. After completing a three-year period of active practice upon therabferd direction of a licensed
doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, dental surgery, édemsrse practitioner as
authorized in his practice protocol, or a licensed physician assistant acting tnedsupervision of a
licensed physician, a physical therapist may conduct a one-time evaluatiodo#satot include
treatment, of a patient who does not meet the conditions established ioghhiv) of subsection B
without the referral and direction of a licensed doctor of medicine, ostequtingpractic, podiatry,
dental surgery, licensed nurse practitioner as authorized in his praatiteqol, or a licensed physician
assistant acting under the supervision of a licensed physician; if apprgptiatphysical therapist shall
immediately refer such patient to the appropriate practitioner.

D. Invasive procedures within the scope of practice of physical therapyasiadiitimes be performed
only under the referral and direction of a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopatioprakbtic, podiatry,
dental surgery, licensed nurse practitioner as authorized in his pragtiteqgol, or a licensed physician
assistant acting under the supervision of a licensed physician.

E. It shall be unlawful for any licensed physical therapist to fail tonédiately refer any patient to a
licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or dental sugyeaylicensed nurse
practitioner as authorized in his practice protocol, whose medical cond&idetermined, at the time of
evaluation or treatment, to be beyond the physical therapist's scope of @raidyien determining that
the patient's medical condition is beyond the scope of practice of a physicaisheaxgghysical therapist
shall immediately refer such patient to an appropriate practitioner.

F. Any person licensed as a physical therapist assistant shall perform his auiffeunder the direction
and control of a licensed physical therapist.

G. However, a licensed physical therapist may provide, without refarglgervision, physical therapy
services to (i) a student athlete participating in a school-sponsoreetiathktivity while such student is
at such activity in a public, private, or religious elementary, middle or ligbd, or public or private
institution of higher education when such services are rendered by a licensezhptingsiapist who is
certified as an athletic trainer by the National Athletic Trainers' Asgimn Board of Certification or as
a sports certified specialist by the American Board of Physical TheragjaBigs; (ii) employees solely
for the purpose of evaluation and consultation related to workplace ergondii)cspecial education
students who, by virtue of their individualized education plans (IEPs), needghlgsi@apy services to
fulfill the provisions of their IEPs; (iv) the public for the purpose dirvess, fitness, and health
screenings; (v) the public for the purpose of health promotion and education; attte(public for the
purpose of prevention of impairments, functional limitations, and disailiti

(2000, c. 688; 2001, c. 858; 2002, cc. 434, 471; 2003, c. 496; 2005, c. 928; 2007, cc. 9, 18.)

§ 54.1-3482.1. (For contingent effective date - see Editor's note) Gedertification required.

A. The Board shall promulgate regulations establishing criteria for geatibn of physical therapists to
provide certain physical therapy services pursuant to subsection B of 848R]1without referral from a
licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, dental sufigensed nurse
practitioner as authorized in his practice protocol, or a licensed physicidastassacting under the
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supervision of a licensed physician. The regulations shall include but tiotitesl to provisions for (i)
the promotion of patient safety; (ii) an application process for certibioab perform such procedures;
(i) minimum education, training, and experience requirements for cetiic to perform such
procedures; and (iv) continuing education requirements relating to carryindimdt access duties
under 8 54.1-3482.

B. The minimum education, training, and experience requirements for céidifichall include evidence
that the applicant has successfully completed (i) a doctor of physical ther@gnapr approved by the
American Physical Therapy Association; (ii) a transitional program in jghysherapy as recognized by
the Board; or (iii) at least three years of active practice witlilente of continuing education relating to
carrying out direct access duties under § 54.1-3482.

C. In promulgating minimum education, training, and experience criteria, thedBball consult with an
advisory committee comprised of three members selected by treaMgatiety of Virginia and three
members selected by the Virginia Physical Therapy Association. All meoilibe advisory committee
shall be licensed by the Board of Physical Therapy or the Board of Medicinéahdrgyage in clinical
practice. The committee shall have a duty to act collaboratively and in gootbfagbommend the
education, training, and experience necessary to promote patient safety. Tleyactwsmittee shall
prepare a written report of its recommendations and shall submit this reptive Board of Physical
Therapy and shall also submit its recommendations to the Board of Medicine foosutieists as may
be deemed appropriate, prior to the promulgation of draft regulations. The advisonyittesmmay meet
periodically to advise the Board on the regulation of such procedures.

D. In promulgating the regulations required by this section, the Board shalbtekeonsideration of the
education, training, and experience requirements adopted by the American Piiysicgby Association
and the American Medical Association.

(2007, cc. 9, 18.)

The third enactment provides that the amendments to 8§ 54.1-3482 becoctigeef80 days
after the effective date of regulations promulgated under § 54.1-3482.1.

Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation by (1) detailing the specific reasons why
this regulatory action is essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens, and (2) discussing
the goals of the proposal, the environmental benefits, and the problems the proposal is intended to solve.

The purpose of the regulatory action is compliance with the statute that seeif®oard to
establish criteria for certification to provide certain physical thesspvices without referral.
Regulations must provide for promotion of patient safety and for continuing educatamnyto c
out direct access duties. Therefore the qualifications for ceritiitcate a doctoral or
transitional program that includes education in screening for medical disordfife@ntial
diagnosis or specific continuing education in those areas coupled with at leagetrnseef
experience in active practice. In addition, a physical therapist who intendstaima
certification will have to direct at least four of the required 30 hours of contjraducation each
biennium to topics related to practice in a direct access environment.
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In compliance with the law, a physical therapist treating a patient witefastal will be
required to obtain an attestation from a patient that he is not currently beitegl tfer the same
condition by another practitioner and written consent to provide a copy of the patiedttoecor
another practitioner identified by the patient, if the condition for which he is sete&atgent
does not improve after the 14-day period in which the physical therapist is allmvedtt

The qualifications required for certification in direct access assurenthahysical therapist has
education and training in the recognition of and screening for medical disordersett petient
health and safety while in the care of the physical therapist. The requirementtiEm consent
to provide patient records to another health care practitioner will assutkettysical
therapist is able to work collaboratively with other practitioners to providessaf effective
treatment.

Substance ‘

Please briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing
sections, or both where appropriate. (More detail about these changes is requested in the “Detail of
changes” section.)

The proposed criteria for direct access certification are identichbse set out in the Code of
Virginia and in the emergency regulations currently in effect. For thosddha#ot hold a
doctoral degree or a transitional doctorate in physical thera@asathree years of post-licensure,
active practice with evidence of 15 contact hours of continuing educatioadical screening or
differential diagnosis, including passage of a post-course examinegioacaired for certification. The
application fee for certification is set at $75.

To maintain certification, it is required to have four contact hours relatedrgng out direct
access duties as part of the required 30 contact hours of continuing education for biennial
renewal in courses relating to clinical practice in a direct acceaswgsdthe renewal fee is $35
per biennium.

Issues ‘

Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:

1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;

2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and

3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.

If the regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please so indicate.

1) Since the regulations follow the mandate for criteria for certifinaind the requirement for
continuing education to practice in a direct access environment, there articwgra
advantages or disadvantages to the public.

2) There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth.
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3) These regulations replace emergency regulations that expire OctpB6081

Requirements more restrictive than federal

Please identify and describe any requirement of the proposal which are more restrictive than applicable
federal requirements. Include a rationale for the need for the more restrictive requirements. If there are
no applicable federal requirements or no requirements that exceed applicable federal requirements,
include a statement to that effect.

There are no requirements more restrictive than applicable fedguakeraents.

Localities particularly affected

Please identify any locality particularly affected by the proposed regulation. Locality particularly affected
means any locality which bears any identified disproportionate material impact which would not be
experienced by other localities.

There are no localities particularly affected by the proposed regulation.

Public participation

Please include a statement that in addition to any other comments on the proposal, the agency is seeking
comments on the costs and benefits of the proposal and the impacts of the regulated community.

The Board is seeking comments on the proposed regulations, including but not limitedietasl) i

to assist in the development of a proposal, 2) the costs and benefits of the alteraatigas st

this background document or other alternatives and 3) potential impacts of the saguléie

Board is also seeking information on impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of
the Code of Virginia. Information may include 1) projected reporting, recordiggapd other
administrative costs, 2) probable effect of the regulation on affected smakbsess, and 3)
description of less intrusive or costly alternative methods of achieving thegauof the

regulation.

Anyone wishing to submit written comments may do so by mail or email to laba,H
Executive Director of the Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, 32(te
Richmond, VA 23233 disa.hahn@dhp.virginia.goer may submit comment on the Virginia
Regulatory Townhall atvww.townhall.virginia.gov Written comments must include the name
and address of the commenter. In order to be considered comments must be redbeéasby
day of the public comment period noted on the Townhall.

A public hearing will be held and notice of the public hearing will appear on tiye\ar
Regulatory Town Hall websitevfvw.townhall.virginia.goy after the publication of the
proposed regulation. Both oral and written comments may be submitted at that time.
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Economic impact ‘

Please identify the anticipated economic impact of the proposed regulation.

Projected cost to the state to implement and
enforce the proposed regulation, including
(a) fund source / fund detail, and (b) a
delineation of one-time versus on-going
expenditures

a) As a special fund agency, the Board must gene
sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures from
non-general funds, specifically the renewal and
application fees it charges to practitioners for
necessary functions of regulation; b) The agendy
incur some one-time costs (less than $1,000) for
mailings to the Public Participation Guidelines
mailing lists, conducting a public hearing, and
sending notice of final regulations to regulated
entities. Every effort will be made to incorporate
those into anticipated mailings and Board meeting
already scheduled. The on-going costs relating to
direct access certification are those associatdd wi
review of applications, response to inquiries abou
criteria and practice, audit for continuing edumati
and enforcement of laws and regulations. Feda s
regulation are intended to be sufficient to cover
related costs.

prat

Wi

et

Projected cost of the regulation on localities

None

Description of the individuals, businesses or
other entities likely to be affected by the
regulation

The entities that are likely to be affected by ¢hes

regulations would be physical therapists who quali

for direct access certification and want to practic
with such certification.

Agency’s best estimate of the number of such
entities that will be affected. Please include an
estimate of the number of small businesses
affected. Small business means a business entity,
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently
owned and operated and (ii) employs fewer than
500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales
of less than $6 million.

The agency has no estimate of the number ¢
entities affected since the number that may
apply in the future is unknown enactment or
the 2007 legislation provides that practice with
certification doesn't go into effect until 180 days
after the effective date of the emergency
regulations, which will be April 29, 2008.
Therefore, the Board has had only 16 applicatio
completed that are ready to be certified.

There are 4757 physical therapists with active
licenses who could qualify for direct access
certification. Of that number, many work within
health care systems or in environments in which
direct access for patients is not important. Of th
who do seek direct access certification, some w
be considered small businesses but many PT’s
work as employees of hospitals, corporate
practices, or other entities. The agency has no
figures on those practices that are independentl
owned.

Df

NS

pse
ould

All projected costs of the regulation for affected
individuals, businesses, or other entities.

For applicants for certification in direct access,
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Please be specific. Be sure to include the there will be some additional costs. The application
projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other fee is $75 for a physical therapist to obtain
administrative costs required for compliance by certification to provide services without a referral;

small businesses. the fee for biennial renewal on a direct access

certification is $35; and there is a fee of $15 for
processing a late renewal of certification in
addition to the renewal fee

Alternatives ‘

Please describe any viable alternatives to the proposal considered and the rationale used by the agency
to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential purpose of the action.
Also, include discussion of less intrusive or less costly alternatives for small businesses, as defined in
§2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, of achieving the purpose of the regulation.

In order to determine the minimum education, training, and experience requicedtiftcation,
the Board was required to consult with an advisory committee, as set forth intsub€eof
§54.1-3482.1 The law requires that the advisory committee be comprised of three members
selected by the Medical Society of Virginia and three members stleectle Virginia Physical
Therapy Association. All members of the advisory committee must be licepsiee Board of
Physical Therapy or the Board of Medicine and must engage in clinicaicera

The Committee met on Friday, May 11, 2007, from 4:00pm - 6:00pm at the Department of
Health Professions in Richmond, Virginia. All members were in attendance.

The Committee began its discussions with consideration of the minionienia set out in
subsection B 064.1-3482.1 as follows: The minimum education, training, and experience
requirements for certification shall include evidence that the applidaad successfully
completed (i) a doctor of physical therapy program approved by the gamddhysical Therapy
Association; (ii) a transitional program in physical therapy as recognizethéyBoard; or (iii)

at least three years of active practice with evidence of contiredngation relating to carrying
out direct access duties undeb4&.1-3482

The physical therapists on the Committee described the scope dbttoral program and the
transitional program in physical therapy, including the prejmardor practice in a direct access
environment. Students graduating from accredited physical thpragyams currently receive

the DPT or Doctor of Physical Therapy degree. Phystwalapists who graduated before
schools adopted doctoral programs may enter a transitional progsartedlds to a doctoral

degree. Virginia physical therapy schools have been graduddictgral students for at least
three years. The physical therapists also provided information albowuses available for

continuing education in medical screening and differential diagnosis.

There was discussion about the educational and practice prepanatitadical screening and
differential diagnosis in the DPT and transitional programs and dbeuteed for some period
of time in independent practice of physical therapy to ensurerierpe with patient

presentation, treatment options and indicators for referral. Baselde information provided
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and its responsibility to recommend the education, training and experegiteria necessary to
promote patient safety, the Committee recommends the following quatifisgbr certification:

1) Evidence of completion of a doctor of physical therapy progmapnozed by the American
Physical Therapy Association and completion of at least oneofegaost-licensure, full-time,
clinical practice;

2) Evidence of completion of a transitional program in physloadapy as recognized by the
Board of Physical Therapy and completion of at least one yeaosiflicensure, full-time,
clinical practice; or

3) Evidence of completion of at least 15 contact hours of continuing ealugtdiinclude face-
to-face or on-line courses with a post-course examinatiopgtient assessment or differential
diagnosis, offered by a provider approved by the Board and atheastyears of post-licensure,
full-time, clinical practice.

The 2007 legislation required the advisory committee to provide demriteport of its
recommendations and submit it to the Board of Physical Therf@apgr to the Board’s adoption
of regulations, the recommendations were also be submitted to #nd BoMedicine for such
comments as may be deemed appropriate. Therefore, the advisorytieensatbmitted its report
to the Board of Medicine for its review and comment at its imgein June 21, 2007. The
Board of Medicine accepted the report without further recommendatiba.Board of Physical
Therapy is required to promulgate regulations, including continuing toliceequirements
relating to carrying out direct access duties, to be effective within 28@mfagsenactment or by
November 26, 2007. The provisions of the act amendibd.%83482do not become effective
for 180 days after the effective date of the regulations. Fintdily law provides that the
Committee may meet periodically to advise the Board on the regulation of suctiysesce

The Board of Physical Therapy accepted the report of the Advisory Committeiel imatt
follow its recommendation for one year of post-licensure, full-time climpcadtice as
qualification for certification in direct access. It is the position of thedBtheat graduates from
a DPT program have been taught to practice in a direct access environmenashstates
already permit PT’s to evaluate and treat patients without referratidition, physical therapy
programs are now doctoral-level with extensive hours of clinical experieneeimmggatients,
making differential diagnoses. They have knowledge and training in knowing wheferto r
patients who present with conditions or diseases that require medical caedorEhéhere was
no compelling reason to require graduates to have an additional year of exptribac
qualified for direct access.

Public comment ‘

Please summarize all comments received during public comment period following the publication of the
NOIRA, and provide the agency response.

Commenter Comment Agency response

Matthew Pulisic, | Atleast 2 or 3 years of clinical experience | Since the law only specifies years of clinical

PT should be required for all applicants seekingexperience for who do not hold a DPT or a
certification, including newly graduated transitional DPT, the Board did not choose to
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DPT’s.
PT’'s would benefit from treating patients
with referral first to gain experience.

make the regulation more restrictive.

Brian Hoke, PT

Entry-level DPT graduates should aigve
an experiential component to ensure
adequate recognition of appropriate medic
conditions. Recertification is not approprig
and 4 hours of coursework is arbitrary and
not necessary.

alaw, but the Board chose to limit the hours to

Response same as above.
Continuing education is a requirement of the

teper biennium and to include those hours as p
of the 30 hours already required for renewal o
licensure. The Code of Virginia specifies that
“The regulations shall include but not be limitg
to provisions for ... (iv) continuing education
requirements relating to carrying out direct
access duties under § 54.1-3482

3=

=

2d

Bill Whiteford, PT

Opposes the requirement for ftwours of
continuing education for direct access
certification

The CE is required by the law (see above).
While the continuing education required for
non-doctoral PT’s to qualify for direct access
certification is specific to medical screening o
differential diagnosis, the 4 hours of continuin
education needed for renewal must only relats
clinical practice in a direct access setting. Th
subject area is broad enough to encompass
almost any clinically-based CE for a practition
who holds direct access certification.

Colleen
Whiteford, PT

Opposes the four hours of continuing
education and requirement for recertificatig
Also opposes the fees for certification and
renewal.

The Board'’s regulations do not require re-
rcertification, which would necessitate proof of
re-qualification. The requirement for continui
education is mandated by the Code. All
licenses, certification and registration issued k
a health regulatory board must be renewed
periodically. The same is true for direct acces
certification, especially since there is a statyta
expectation of continuing education that must
attested at the time of renewal.

The fee for renewal has been set at a minima
amount ($35 every two years) and is based o
estimate of the revenue that may be required
audit continuing education requirements,
investigate complaints relating to direct acces
and adjudicate cases arising from violations o
law or regulation. Those who hold the
certification should be responsible for costs
associated with certification; those costs shou
not be borne by PT’s without direct access
certification or by PTA’s. Application costs ar
set by calculating the total of one renewal cyc
($35), a wall certificate ($15), a license ($5) a
the administrative costs of reviewing, process
and approving an application. A fee of $75
arguably does not cover all the component
elements of a direct access certification, but t
Board chose to hold the application fee to a
minimum.
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Pat Salin Huston,
PT

Sets a dangerous precedence by allowing
newly graduated DPT'’s to practice with

direct access if experienced PT’s are not.
should be required to have experience, so

See board responses above.

All

10
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consumers do not believe that a DPT grad
has superior skills to experienced PT's.
Opposes to recertification and inflated fee
structure.

PT

Brian D'Orazio,

Opposes the 4 hours of continuing educati
and recertification as too burdensome and
unnecessary. The Board should consider
specialty board certification as a qualificati
for certification. Applications from DPT or
persons with board certification could be
fast-tracked and less expensive.

pee responses above about continuing educa
& renewal of certification.

DT he law specifies the three pathways for
certification and does not include specialty

must be consistent for all applicants because
component costs are similar.

tion

board certification. The application fee structire

the

Bob Turner, PT

Opposes 4 hours of continuing edocat

for certification and recertification.

should have an exemption for persons with
specialty board certification. Opposes fee$

See responses above about continuing educg
and fees.

tion

Mary Wooten, PT

Opposes 4 hours of continuing etilbica

specialty board certification; ultra-specific
wording of requirement to re-certify will
make it difficult to find courses.

Fees are higher than appropriate.

should have an exemption for persons with

See response re: continuing education and
content of CE above.
See response above on fees.

Gayle Garnett, PT|

Opposes requirement for receatifin and
proof of 4 hours of continuing education.
Opposes fees as stated in regulations

See response re: continuing education.
See response above on fees.

Family impact

Please assess the impact of the proposed regulatory action on the institution of the family and family
stability including to what extent the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights
of parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage
economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and
one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or
decrease disposable family income.

There is no impact on the family.

Detail of changes

Please detail all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.
Detail all new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.

If the proposed regulation is intended to replace an emergency regulation, please list separately (1) all
changes between the pre-emergency regulation and the proposed regulation, and (2) only changes made
since the publication of the emergency regulation.

Current
section
number

Proposed Current
new requirement
section
number

Proposed change and rationale

11
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n/a

81

n/a

A. An applicant for certification to provide services to
patients without a referral as specified in § 54.1-3482.1
shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a physical
therapist in Virginia and shall submit evidence satisfac
to the board, that he has one of the following
qualifications:

1. Completion of a doctor of physical therapy program
approved by the American Physical Therapy Associati
or

2. Completion of a transitional program in physical
therapy as recognized by the board; or

3. At least three years of post-licensure, active practic
with evidence of 15 contact hours of continuing educat
in medical screening or differential diagnosis, including
passage of a post-course examination. The required
continuing education shall be offered by a provider or
sponsor listed as approved by the board in 18VAC112
131 and may be face-to-face or on-line education cour

The minimum qualifications for certification were set in
54.1-3482 in the legislation. The Board did not include
additional requirements for training, education or
experience. The law allows a PT with 3 years of active
practice to qualify with evidence of continuing educatio
which the Board determined should be 15 contact hout
specific subjects, including a post-course test. The 15
hours could include on-line education and is readily
available to PT’s throughout Virginia.

B. In addition to the evidence of qualification for

certification required in subsection A, an applicant seeki

direct access certification shall submit to the board:

1. A completed application as provided by the board,;
2. Any additional documentation as may be required b
the board to determine eligibility of the applicant; and
3. The application fee as specified in 18VAC112-20-11

The application requirements are necessary to ensure
the Board has sufficient information to determine
eligibility and that the application fee has been paid.

ory

DN,

4]

on

20-
5€s.

8

s in

that

90

n/a

Sets out the
general
responsibilities
of a physical
therapist in his
practice

Adds subsection E: A physical therapist providing servi
with a direct access certification as specified in 854.1-
3482shall utilize the Direct Access Patient Attestation &
Medical Release Form prescribed by the board or
otherwise include in the patient record the information,
attestation and written consent required by subsection
854.1-3482.

The law specifies a 14-day period of treatment under
direct access and requires the PT to obtain certain

ces

and

B of

attestations and written consent from the patient before
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treatment without referral can be initiated. The additio
language in section 90 is necessary to assure that the
responsibility is carried out in accordance with the law.

nal
PT's

lion

he

e)

130 n/a Sets out the Adds subsection D: In order to renew a direct access
requirements forn certification, a licensee shall be required to:
biennial renewall 1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a physical
including therapist; and
evidence of 2. Comply with continuing education requirements set
continuing forth in 18VAC112-20-131 |I.
competency
The Board has established a biennial renewal of
certification concurrent with the renewal of a PT’s licen
131 n/a Establishes the | Adds subsection I: Physical therapists holding certifica
hours of to provide direct access without a referral shall include
continuing four contact hours related to carrying out direct access
competency duties as part of the required 30 contact hours of
required for continuing education. Courses for direct access
renewal and the| continuing education shall relate to clinical practice in a
listing of direct access setting.
approved
providers The law requires continuing education requirements
related to carrying out direct access without referral. T
Board determined that four hours every two years (as
part of the 30 hours required for renewal of a PT liceng
relating to clinical practice in direct access was minimal.
Change from the emergency regulation:
Subsection | wasrewritten to eliminate duplicative
language. Therewas no substantive change.
150 n/a Establishes the

fees for
application and
renewal of
certification

Adds subsection F for direct access certification fees: !
The application fee shall be $100 for a physical therap
to obtain certification to provide services without a
referral; 2) The fee for renewal on a direct access
certification shall be $35 and shall be due by Decembe
31%in each even-numbered year; and 3) A fee of $15 f
processing a late renewal of certification within one
renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal f¢

The application fee includes a biennial renewal of
certification ($35) or at least 24 months of certification
before renewal is required. It also includes the cost of
review of an application and issuance of a new license
with direct access certification noted. The renewal fee
based on the need to cover expenses related to audits
continuing education, investigation of complaints for
direct access care, and any disciplinary proceedings th
may result for such care. The late fee is consistent wit
Department policy for late fees to be approximately 1/3

)

st

is
for

at

of

the renewal fee.
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Change from the emergency regulation:

The application fee was reduced from $100 to $75
because staff believesthat is an adequate amount to
cover the cost of application review, awall certificate, a
paper license and one biennial review (the component
cost of an application according to the Principlesfor
Fee Development adopted by the Department in 2000)
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