Agencies | Governor
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall
Department of Transportation
Commonwealth Transportation Board
chapters board meetings
Guidance Documents    Periodic Reviews
Board Description: The Commonwealth Transportation Board is a policy board comprised of 18 members. The Secretary of Transportation serves as Chairman, the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Transportation serves as Vice-Chairman, and the Executive Director of the VIrginia Port Authority and the Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation serve as non-voting members. Nine of the remaining members are appointed by the Governor for a four-year term to represent each of the nine construction districts in the Commonwealth. The other members are appointed to represent urban and rural interests, along with the concerns relating to airports, seaports, railways, and mass transit. All members are act in the best interests of the Commonwealth as a whole, rather than the best interest of the district from which they are chosen, or the interest represented. A listing of duties and powers of this body appears in Article 2 of Chapter 2 of Title 33.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Official Board Description: Link to VA Administrative Code
Frequency of Meetings: 11 per year

Primary contact information for this board.
Name / Title: JoAnne P. Maxwell  / Agency Regulatory Coordinator
Address: Governance and Legislative Affairs Division
1401 E. Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
Email Address:
Telephone: (804)786-1830    FAX: (804)225-4700    TDD: ()-