PART I.
DEFINITIONS.

18 VAC 25-21-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in these regulations, shdl have the following meaning
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Owner" means the bona fide owner of the real or persona property being offered
for sde in the case of a corporation, partnership, or other entity, except a sole
proprietorship, an authorized officer, director, or parther may be deemed to be "owner" of
the real or personal property being offered for sae, provided sich entity is licensed to do
business in the Commonwedth of Virginia




PART I1.
ENTRY REQUIREMENTS.

18 VAC 25-21-20.  LICENSURE.

All persons or firms as defined in 854.1-600 of the Code of Virginia who conduct auctions or offer
their services to sl a auction in the Commonwedlth are required to file a licensure application and
pay the specified fee to the board. Applicants for individud licensure shdl meet the following
requirements.

1 Be at least 18 years of age.

2. Shdl not have been previoudy found by any regulatory board or agency to have
violated any applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing auctioneer duties or
convicted within the past five years of a crimind offense reated to auction activity in
Virginia or any other jurisdiction. Any plea of nolo contendere shdl be consdered a
conviction for purposes of thls paragraph ,

decree or cae deuson by a court or requlatory agency with the lawful authority to |ssue

such order shdl be admissible as primafacie evidence of such conviction or discipline

3. Successfully complete a course of study a a school of auctioneering which has
obta ned course epprovai from the board, or an equwalent course epeendueted-at—teest—%

Board.
18 VAC 25-21-30. BOND REQUIRED.

All applicants shal submit evidence that a surety bond, executed by a surety company authorized to
do business in the Commonweath and in at least the amount of $10,000, has been obtained. Proof
of current bond must be submitted i in order to obtan or renew the license. Bondsshal-beforaterm

en jcense. The bond must commence
no later than the effectlve date of the license and shdl expire no sooner than the date of expiration of
the license.

a NA/O a'a ='ala N CONC] 1AV N Na_NA/O adaalal ala’

18 VAC 25-21-40.  LICENSE BY RECIPROCITY.

The board may issue a license to any applicant, er—aetive—efficer—n—a—firm individud or firm
holding a license in any date, territory, or possesson of the United States, with whom the board
has edtablished an act of reciprocity provided the requirements and standards under which the
license was issued are subgtantidly equivdent to those established by the board. At the time of
goplication for licensure, the gpplicant must be currently licensed in the date in which
reciprocity is edtablished with the Commonwedth of Virginiaa The Board may deny an
goplication if the licensed auctioneer or firm has been found guilty: by any regulatory board or
agency to have violaed any applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing
2




auctionegring duties; or by a court of any crimind offense or materid migepresentation in the
course of paforming ks auctioneer duties. A certified copy of afina order, decree or case decison
by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such order shdl be admissble as
primafacie evidence of such conviction or discipline.

Nonresdent gpplicants shdl aso file with the board an irrevocable consent that service of process
upon the director is valid and binding as the service of process upon the applicant.

18 VAC 25-21-50. APPLICATION.

A. All gpplicants, eorperations—frms—or—active-officers both individud and firms, seeking licensure
by reciprocity or examinaion shdl submit a fully executed and notarized appllcatlon Wlth the

appropriate fee or fees attached.
Applicants will be notified if their gpplication |S|ncomplete

Applications for licensure by examination must be received by the Department of Professond and
Occupational Regulation 45 days prior to a scheduled examingtion in order to be digible to st for
thet examination.

B. If a corporation, the gpplication shdl include certified true copies of the articles of incorporation,
bylavs and charter, and, if a foreign corporaion, a cetificate of authority issued by the State
Corporation Commission.

C. All applications will be reviewed by the Auctioneers Board daff to determine digibility for
examination and licensure within 30 days of receipt a the offices of the Department of Professond
and Occupational Regulation. However, falure to review an gpplication within 30 days of receipt
shdl not imply or result in the automatic gpproval of the application. No applicant will be approved

for licensure unless dl requirements of this part of these regulations are met.

18 VAC 25-21-60. EXAMINATION.
The examination shdl test the applicant's knowledge of the following:

1. The auction busness induding fundamentals of auctioneering, dementary principles of
red edtate, preparation of contracts, advertisng, find settlement statements, arithmetic and
percentages, and ethics.

2. The Virginia gatutes entitled Auctioneers Licensure Act, 8854.1-600 through 54.1-606
of the Code of Virginia; bulk transfers, §88:6-101-through-8:6-111 8.6A-101 through 8.6A-
110 and 8.2-328 of the Code of Virginia; sales tax laws, Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia;
and the rules and regulations of the board.

18 VAC 25-21-70.  FEES



Fees are nonrefundable and shdl not be prorated.

The fallowing fees shdl apply:

1.

2.

10.

11.

Individua auctioneer license - $40.

Auctioneer firm license - $70.

Examination - $40.

Reexamination fee - $40.

Renewd for individua auctioneer'slicense - $70.

Renewd for firm or corporation license - $80.

Late renewd for an individua auctioneer's license - $95.
Late renewd for an auction firm or corporate license - $105.
Reinstatement of the individua auctioneer's license - $120.
Reingtatement of the firm or corporate license - $130.

Bad Check Fee - $25.



PART I11.
RENEWAL/REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 25-21-80.  NOTICE OF RENEWAL.

The Depatment of Professona and Occupationd Regulation will mal a renewa notice to the
licensee outlining the amount due and procedures for renewd. Failure to receive this notice shal
not relieve the individua or firm licensee of the obligation to renew.

Licenses issued under these regulations shall be issued for a two-year period. Each license holder,
corporation or firm shdl be required to renew the license by submitting the proper fee made payable
to the Treasurer of Virginia, with verification of current surety bond coverage as detailed in 18 VAC
25-21-30 of these regulations.

18 VAC 25-21-90.  FAILURE TO RENEW.

A. Any individud or firm licensee who fails to renew a license within 30 days after the license

expires, shdl be required to pay a late renewd fee which-shal-be-egua-to-the-regularrenewa-fee
phus$25.

B. Any individud or firm licensee, induding individuds initidly licensed pursuant to § 54.1-603.A
of the Code of Virginia, who fals to renew his license within six cdendar months after the
expiration date of the license, shdl be required to goply for reingatement of the license. The
goplicant shdl submit to the Depatment of Professona and Occupationd Regulation a
reingtatement gpplication and fee- and comply with the following:

1. If the license has expired for sx months or more, but less than two years, the applicant
shdl be reguired to submit a reingatement application, which shdl be evauated by the
board to determine if the applicant meets the renewd requirements. A license that is
reingated shall be deemed as having been continuous without interruption.  Nothing in these
regulations shdl divest the board of its authority to discipline a license holder for a violation
of the law or regulaion during the period of time for which the regulant was licensed.

C._If the license has expired for two years or more, the gpplicant shal be required to submit a new
application and meet current_entry requirements that are in effect as of the date the application is
recaived by the board office.  The applicant shdl be required to submit the examination fee and sit
for and pass the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer’'s Examination or _comply with the provisons
contained in 18 VAC 25-21-40. Any auctionegring activity conducted between the time the
previous license expired and the effective date of the new license shdl be considered unlicensed

adtivity.

G D. The date the renewd application is received by the Depatment of Professona and
Occupationd Regulation or its agent will determine whether a license will be renewed without
pendty or will be subject to reinstatement requirements.

D E. Auctioneer individud and firm licenses issued under this regulation shdl expire 24 months
from the last day of the month in which the license was issued asindicated on the license.
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PART IV.
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.

18 VAC 25-21-100. ADVERTISING.

A. All advetiang mugt be truthful. Advertisng shdl contain no fdse, mideading or deceptive
datements, with respect to types or conditions of merchandise offered a auction, why merchandise
is being sold, who has ownership, where the merchandise was obtained, or the terms and conditions
of the auction and sde.

B. In dl advertissments relating to an auction, the auctionear's name and Virginia license number
or the auction firm's name and Virginia license number shal be dearly displayed.

18 VAC 25-21-110. CONTRACTS.

When an auctioneer agrees to conduct an auction, a contract shal be drawn setting forth the
partticulars of the terms and conditions under which the auctioneer received the red or persona
property for auction and particulars for the disbursement of the proceeds. Each contract for auction
shdl indude the following:

1 a A detailed list of the red or persond property received for sde. If a ligt
cannot be made at the time of signing of the contract, then a li must be made a part
of the contract (and attached) prior to auction of the real or persona property for that
day; or

b. If the auctioneer enters into a contract to sdll items on a condgnment basis
where the totd vaue of al the items to be sold a any one auction does not exceed
$500, and the owner of the items agrees to waive this requirement in writing on a
document separate from, but made a part of, the contract, then this the requirement
contained in 18 VAC 25-21-110.1.a. isnot applicable.

2. The name, address, telephone number, and license number of the Virginia auctioneer or
auction firm.

3. The name, address and telephone number of the owner.

4. The date, time and place of the auction or auctions at which the red or persond property
is scheduled to be auctioned.

5. The fee or percentage of gross sdes the auctioneer or auction firm will charge the owner
and what services are included in the fee, such as preparation, travel, labor, advertisng and
any other auction related expenses.

6. By what date the owner isto be paid and who is responsible for disbursing the funds.

7. A dtatement that the clerk sheets, or other evidence to properly account for al items sold,
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shdl be given or made available for ingpection by the owner on adaily bass.

8. The following statement above the owner's sgnature line: "l have read and accepted the
terms of this contract.”

9. A legible executed copy of the contract shdl be given to the owner a the time of
execution.

18 VAC 25-21-120. CONDUCT AT AUCTIONS.

A. No auctioneer shdl attempt to escdate bidding through fase bids, or through colluson with
another (shills). The auctioneer shdl not bid on the owner's behdf nor knowingly accept a bid
made by the owner or made on the owner's behaf unless notice has been given that liberty for such
bidding has been reserved.

B. If a licensad Virginia auctioneer or auction firm contracts with a nonlicensed (in Virginia)
auctioneer, corporation or firm to conduct auctions in Virginia, the Virginia auctioneer, corporation
or firm shdl be condgdered the principd and shdl assume full responshility for the auction and
auctioneers subcontracted.

18 VAC 25-21-130. DISPLAY OF LICENSE.

Auctioneers shdl carry their pocket cards on their person and shal produce them upon request.
Auction firms shdl display ther license in a conspicuous locetion at the address of record. The
address of record shdl not be a post office box as detailed in 18 VAC 25-21-170.C.

18 VAC 25-21-140. DOCUMENTATION.

Upon completion of the auctioner's or auction firm's service, each owner shdl be given legible
copies of hills of sde, clerk sheets, consggnment sheets, settlement papers, baance sheets or other
evidence to properly account for dl items sold at auction.

18 VAC 25-21-150. ESCROW FUNDS.

A. Proceeds of a persona property auction not disbursed to the owner on auction day shdl be
deposited in an auction escrow account by the auctioneer/auction firm no later than the next banking
day following the date of auction or sale of the goods, whichever occursfirg.

B. Auctioneardauction firms shdl use federdly insured depostories in the Commonwedth of
Virginia

C. Proceeds due from the sdle of goods other than red property shall be disbursed to the owner no
later than 30 days after the date of each auction.

D. Funds from ared esate auction shdl be hdd in escrow until settlement in accordance with the
agreement of sdle.
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E. If the owners gods are not sold in a single auction, proceeds due shdl be disbursed to the
owner within 30 days after each auction for goods other than red property, or in accordance with
the agreement of sale for the sde of red property. Notice must be given to the owner of tentative
date of auction of the remaining goods.

F. The auction escrow account shal be used solely for the preservation and guarantee of auction
proceeds until disbursed at settlement.  Funds for any other purpose shdl not be commingled with
the auction escrow account. Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks accepted on the
owner's behdf shdl not be conddered commingling of funds. Moneys due to the auctioneer or
auction firm shal not be withdrawn from the auction escrow account until find settlement is made
with the owner.

18 VAC 25-21-160. RECORDS.

The contract drawvn with each owner; auction records, including but not limited to lists of buyers
and their addresses, and clerk sheets showing the items sold including the buyers numbers or names
and the sdling prices and the fina settlement papers shdl be retained for a period of four years from
the date of settlement. These business records shdl be available for inspection by the board or its
designees as deemed appropriate and necessary.

18 VAC 25-21-170. CHANGE OF ADDRESS.

A. An auctionear's or auction firm's license shdl not be trandferable and shal bear the same name
and physica address as the business.

B. Written notice shal be given within 30 days to the board by each individua or firm licensee of
any change of physical business address or location, whereupon the board shdl issue an amended
license without fee for the unexpired portion of the biennia period.

C. A pogt office box is not an acceptable physical business address.



PART V.
STANDARDS OF CONDUCT.

18 VAC 25-21-180. DISCIPLINE.

A. The board has the power to fine any individud or firm licensee, or to suspend or revoke any
license issued under the provisons of Chapter 6 (854.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant to the provisons of the Adminigtrative Process
Act (89-6.14:1 & s=q. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that:

1 The license was obtained or renewed through fraud or misrepresentation;

2. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found guilty by-the-beard-er by a court of
any cimind offense or materid migepresentation in the course of performing ks
auctioneer duties. A certified copy of a fina order, decree or case decision by a court with
the lawful authority to issue such order shdl be admissble as prima facie evidence of such
conviction or discipline;

3. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found by any regulatory board or agency to
have violated any applicable regulatiions or laws in the course of performing auctioneer
duties. A cetified copy of a find order, decree or case decison by a court or regulatory
agency with the lawful authority to issue such order shdl be admissble as prima facie
evidence of such conviction or discipling

34. The licensed auctioneer or firm has not demonstrated reasonable care, judgment, or
gpplication of his knowledge and ability in the performance of ks auctioneering duties,

45. The licensad auctioneer or firm violated or induced another person to violate any
provisons of Chapters 1, 2, 3, and or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any
provisons of these regulations; or

56. The licensee, auction firm, or firm owner refuses or fals, upon request or demand, to
produce to the board or any of its agents any document, book, or copy thereof in licensee's
or owner's possession concerning the performance of auctioneering duties.

B. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to grant or renew a license of any person for any of the
reasons specified in subsection A of this section.



PART VI.
SCHOOLSOF AUCTIONEERING.

18 VAC 25-21-190. APPLICATION FOR COURSE APPROVAL.

Schools seeking gpprovad of their courses shdl file a request with the board. The request shdl
include the fallowing informetion:

1 Name and address of the schooal;

2. L ocations where classes will be held;

3. Length of the course and total number of hours of ingruction;

4, Subjects covered together with number of instruction hours assigned;

5. Names and qualifications of ingtructors (area of expertise and experience).
18 VAC 25-21-200. REQUIREMENTSFOR COURSE APPROVAL.
To receive course gpprovd the inditution mugt offer to Virginia candidates a minimum of 80 hours
of cdassoom and field indruction in the conduct of auction busness to include fundamentas of
auctioneering, dementary principles of rea edate, brokerage, contract drawing, advertisng, sde
preparation, bid caling, settlement statements and |, ethics and exposure to the current rules and
requlations of the Virginia Auctioneers Board. There must be at least five ingructors who have

been licensed er—ecextified auctionears for a least five years and who specidize in different fidds of
the auction business.

18 VAC 25-21-210. AMENDMENTSAND CHANGES.

Any change in the information provided by the school to the board as required by 18 VAC 25-21-
190, 18 VAC 25-21-200 or 18 VAC 25-21-220 shdl be reported to the board in writing within 30
days of such an occurrence.

18 VAC 25-21-220. PERIODIC REQUALIFICATION FOR CONTINUED COURSE
APPROVAL.

At times eddblished by the board, the board may require that schools which have previoudy
obtained course approvad provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth by the board, that they
continue to comply with the requirements of 18 VAC 25-21-190 and 18 VAC 25-21-200. Falureto
continue to comply with the board's reguirements or respond to such a request may result in the
board withdrawing its approvd.
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