Auctioneers Board Page 1 of 24
Final Auctioneers Board Rules and Regulations
PART I.

DEFINITIONS.

18 VAC 25-21-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
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"Owner" means the bona fide owner of the rea or persona property being offered
for sade; in the case of a corporation, partnership, or other entity, except a sole
proprietorship, an authorized officer, director, or partner may be deemed to be "owner" of
the real or persona property being offered for sale, provided such entity is licensed to do

business in the Commonwealth of Virginia.




Auctioneers Board Page 3 of 24

Final Auctioneers Board Rules and Regulations




Auctioneers Board Page 4 of 24
Final Auctioneers Board Rules and Regulations
PART II.

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS.

18 VAC 25-21-20.  LICENSURE.

All persons or firms as defined in § 54.1-600 of the Code of Virginiawho conduct auctions or offer

their servicesto sdll at auction in the Commonwealth are required to file alicensure application and

pay the specified fee to the board. Applicants for individua licensure shall meet the following

reguirements:

1 Beat least 18 years of age.

2. Shdl not have been previoudy found by any regulatory board or agency to have

violated any applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing auctioneer duties or

convicted within the past five years of a crimina offense related to auction activity in
Virginia or any other jurisdiction. Any plea of nolo contendere shal be considered a

conviction for purposes of this paragraph. Fherecord-of-a-conviction-adthenticated-H-sueh

decree or case decison by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue

such order shall be admissible as primafacie evidence of suchconviction or discipline.
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3. Successfully complete a course of study at a school of auctioneering which has

obtained course approva from the board, or an equivalent course ereenducted-at-least25

passed the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer’s Examination administered by the Auctioneers

Board.

18 VAC 25-21-30. BOND REQUIRED.

All applicants shall submit evidence that a surety bond, executed by a surety company authorized to
do business in the Commonwealth and in at least the amount of $10,000, has been obtained. Proof

of current bond must be submitted in order to obtain or renew the license. Bonds-shall-be foraterm

jeense. The bond must commence

no later than the effective date of the license and shall expire no sooner than the date of expiration of

the license.

18 VAC 25-21-40. LICENSE BY RECIPROCITY.

The board may issue a license to any applicant, er-aective-officertn—-afirm individual or firm

holding a license in any state, territory, or possession of the United States, with whom the board

has established an act of reciprocity provided the requirements and standards under which the
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license was issued ae substantially equivalent to those established by the board. At the time of
application for licensure, the applicant must be currently licensed in the state in which

reciprocity is established with the Commonweslth of Virginiaa The Board may deny an

application if the licensed auctioneer or firm has been found quilty: (i) by any regulatory board or

agency to have violated any applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing

auctioneering duties or (ii) by a court of any criminal offense or material misrepresentation in the

course of parforming his auctioneer duties. A certified copy of afinal order, decree or case decison

by a court or requlatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such order shall be admissible as

prima facie evidence of such conviction or discipline.

Nonresident applicants shall also file with the board an irrevocable consent that service of process

upon the director is valid and binding as the service of process upon the applicant.

18 VAC 25-21-50. APPLICATION.

A. All applicants, eorperations—rms—or—aetive-officers both individual and firms, seeking

licensure by reciprocity or examination shall submit a fully executed and notarized application with

the appropriate fee or fees attached.

Applicants will be natified if their application is incomplete.
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Applications for licensure by examination must be received by the Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation 45 days prior to a scheduled examination in order to be digible to sit for

that examination.

B. If a corporation, the application shall include certified true copies of the articles of
incorporation, bylaws and charter, and, if a foreign corporation, a certificate of authority issued by

the State Corporation Commission.

C. All applications will be reviewed by the Auctioneers Board staff to determine digibility for
examination and licensure within 30 days of receipt at the offices of the Department of Professional

and Occupationa Regulation. However, failure to review an gpplication within 30 days of receipt

shdl not imply or result in the automatic approval of the application. No applicant will be approved

for licensure unless al requirements of this part of this chapter are met.

18 VAC 25-21-60. EXAMINATION.

The examination shall test the applicant’ s knowledge of the following:
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1 The auction business including fundamentals of auctioneering, elementary principles

of real estate, preparation of contracts, advertising, fina settlement statements, arithmetic

and percentages, and ethics.

2. The Virginia statutes entitled Auctioneers’ Licensure Act, 88 54.1-600 through 54.1-

606 of the Code of Virginia; bulk transfers, 88 8:6-101through-8:6-111 8.6A-101 through

8.6A-110 and 8.2-328 of the Code of Virginia; sales tax laws, Title 58.1 of the Code of

Virginia; and the rules and regulations of the board.

18 VAC 25-21-70.  FEES.

Fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.

The following fees shall apply:

1. Individual auctioneer license - $40.

2. Auctioneer firm license - $70.

3. Examination - $40.
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4. Reexamination fee - $40.

5. Renewal for individual auctioneer's license - $70.

6. Renewa for firm or corporation license - $80.

7. Late renewal for an individua auctioneer's license - $95.

8. Late renewa for an auction firm or corporate license - $105.
9. Reinstatement of the individual auctioneer's license - $120.

10.  Renstatement of the firm or corporate license - $130.

[11— Bad Check Fee-$25]
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PART III.

RENEWAL/REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 25-21-80. NOTICE OF RENEWAL.

The Department of Professona and Occupational Regulation will mail a renewal notice to the
licensee outlining the amount due and procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this notice shall

not relieve the individual or firm licensee of the obligation to renew.

Licenses issued under these regulations shall be issued for a two-year period. Each license holder,
corporation or firm shall be required to renew the license by submitting the proper fee made payable
to the Treasurer of Virginia, with verification of current surety bond coverage as detailed in 18 VAC

25-21-30 of these regulations.

18 VAC 25-21-90. FAILURE TO RENEW.

A. Any individua or firm licensee who fails to renew a license within 30 days after the license

expires, shal be required to pay alate renewal fee whi

fee.

B. Any individua or firm licensee, including individuas initialy licensed pursuant to § 54.1-603.A
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of the Code of Virginia, who fals to renew his license within sx calendar months after the

expiration date of the license shal be required to apply for reinstatement of the license. The
applicant shal submit to the Department of Professona and Occupationa Regulation a

reinstatement application and fee: and comply with the following paragraph:

If the license has expired for sx months or more, but less than two years, the applicant shall be

required to submit a reinstatement application, which shall be evaluated by the board to determine if

the applicant meets the renewal requirements. A license that is reinstated shall be deemed as having

been continuous without interruption. Nothing in these requlations shall divest the board of its

authority to discipline a license holder for a violation of the law or regulation during the period of

time for which the requlant was licensed.

C. If thelicense has expired for two years or more, the applicant shall be required to submit a new

application and meet current entry reguirements that are in effect as of the date the application is

received by the board office. The applicant shall be required to submit the examination fee and sit

for and pass the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer’s Examination or comply with the provisons

contained in 18 VAC 25-21-40. Any auctioneering activity conducted between the time the

previous license expired and the effective date of the new license shall be considered unlicensed

activity.

G D. The date the renewd application is received by the Department of Professond and
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Occupational Regulation or its agent will determine whether a license will be renewed without

penalty or will be subject to reinstatement requirements.

D E. Auctioneer individual and firm licenses issued under this regulation shall expire 24 months

from the last day of the month in which the license was issued as indicated on the license.
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PART IV.

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.

18 VAC 25-21-100. ADVERTISING.

A. All advertisng must be truthful. Advertising shall contain no false, mideading or deceptive
statements, with respect to types or conditions of merchandise offered at auction, why merchandise
is being sold, who has ownership, where the merchandise was obtained, or the terms and conditions

of the auction and sae.

B. In dl advertisements relating to an auction, the auctioneer's name and Virginia license number

or the auction firm's name and Virginia license number shall be clearly displayed.

18 VAC 25-21-110. CONTRACTS.

When an auctioneer agrees to conduct an auction, a contract shall be drawn setting forth the
particulars of the terms and conditions under which the auctioneer received the real or personal
property for auction and particulars for the disbursement of the proceeds. Each contract for auction

shdl include the following:
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1 a A detalled list of the rea or persona property received for sde. If alist
cannot be made at the time of signing of the contract, then alist must be made a part
of the contract (and attached) prior to auction of the rea or persona property for that

day; or

b. If the auctioneer enters into a contract to sell items on a consignment basis
where the total value of al the items to be sold at any one auction does not exceed
$500, and the owner of the items agrees to waive this requirement in writing on a
document separate from, but made a part of, the contract, then this the requirement

contained in subdivision 1.a of this sectionis not applicable.

2. The name, address, telephone number, and license number of the Virginia auctioneer or

auction firm.

3. The name, address and tel ephone number of the owner.

4. The date, time and place of the auction or auctions at which the real or personal property

is scheduled to be auctioned.
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5. Thefee or percentage of gross sales the auctioneer or auction firm will charge the owner
and what services are included in the fee, such as preparation, travel, labor, advertisng and

any other auction related expenses.

6. By what date the owner isto be paid and who is responsible for disbursing the funds.

7. A statement that the clerk sheets, or other evidence to properly account for all items sold,

shdl be given or made available for ingpection by the owner on adaily basis.

8. Thefollowing statement above the owner's signature line: "I have read and accepted the

terms of this contract.”

9. A legible executed copy of the contract shal be given to the owner at the ime of

execution.

18 VAC 25-21-120. CONDUCT AT AUCTIONS.

A. No auctioneer shall attempt to escalate bidding through false bids, or through collusion with
another (shills). The auctioneer shall not bid on the owner's behaf nor knowingly accept a bid
mede by the owner or made on the owner's behalf unless notice has been given that liberty for such

bidding has been reserved.
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B. If alicensed Virginia auctioneer or auction firm contracts with a nonlicensed (in Virginia)
auctioneer, corporation or firm to conduct auctions in Virginia, the Virginia auctioneer, corporation
or firm shal be considered the principal and shall assume full responsibility for the auction and

auctioneers subcontracted.

18 VAC 25-21-130. DISPLAY OF LICENSE.

Auctioneers shall carry their pocket cards on their person and shall produce them upon request.
Auction firms shal display their license in a conspicuous location at the address of record. The

address of record shal not be a post office box as detailed in 18 VAC 25-21-170.C.

18 VAC 25-21-140. DOCUMENTATION.

Upon completion of the auctioneer's or auction firm's service, each owner shall be given legible

copies of bills of sale, clerk sheets, consignment sheets, settlement papers, balance sheets or other

evidence to properly account for al items sold at auction.

18 VAC 25-21-150. ESCROW FUNDS.
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A. Proceeds of a persona property auction not disbursed to the owner on auction day shall be
deposited in an auction escrow account by the auctioneer/auction firm no later than the next banking

day following the date of auction or sale of the goods, whichever occurs first.

B. Auctioneers/auction firms shdl use federaly insured depositories in the Commonwedlth of

Virginia

C. Proceeds due from the sale of goods other than real property shall be disbursed to the owner no

later than 30 days after the date of each auction.

D. Funds from ared estate auction shall be held in escrow until settlement in accordance with the

agreement of sale.

E. If the owners goods are not sold n a single auction, proceeds due shall be disbursed to the
owner within 30 days after each auction for goods other than real property, or in accordance with
the agreement of sde for the sale of real property. Notice must be given to the owner of tentative

date of auction of the remaining goods.

F. The auction escrow account shall be used solely for the preservation and guarantee of auction
proceeds until disbursed at settlement. Funds for any other purpose shall not be commingled with

the auction escrow account. Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks accepted on the
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owner's behalf shall not be considered commingling of funds. Moneys due to the auctioneer or
auction firm shall not be withdrawn from the auction escrow account until final settlement is made

with the owner.

18 VAC 25-21-160. RECORDS.

The contract drawn with each owner; auction records, including but not limited to lists of buyers
and their addresses; and clerk sheets showing the items sold including the buyers numbers or names
and the sdlling prices and the final settlement papers shall be retained for a period of four years from
the date of settlement. These business records shall be available for inspection by the board or its

designees as deemed appropriate and necessary.

18 VAC 25-21-170. CHANGE OF ADDRESS.

A. An auctionear's or auction firm's license shall not be transferable and shall bear the same name

and physica address as the business.

B. Written notice shall be given within 30 days to the board by each individua or firm licensee of
any change of physical business address or location, whereupon the board shall issue an amended

license without fee for the unexpired portion of the biennia period.
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C. A post office box is not an acceptable physica business address.
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PART V.

STANDARDS OF CONDUCT.

18 VAC 25-21-180. DISCIPLINE.

A. The board has the power to fine any individua or firm licensee, or to suspend or revoke any
license issued under the provisions of Chapter 6 (8 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Process

Act (8 [9-624:1 2.2-4000] et seq. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that:

1 The license was obtained or renewed through fraud or misrepresentation;

2. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found guilty by-the-beard-er by a court of

any crimina offense or materiad misrepresentation in the course of performing his

auctioneer duties. A certified copy of afinal order, decree or case decison by a court with

the lawful authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such

conviction or discipline;

3. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found by any regulatory board or agency to

have violated any applicable regulations or laws in the course of peforming auctioneer

duties. A certified copy of afina order, decree or case decison by a court or regulatory
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agency with the lawful authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima facie

evidence of such conviction or discipline;

34. The licensed auctioneer or firm has not demonstrated reasonable care, judgment, or

application of his knowledge and ability in the performance of his auctioneering duties;

45. The licensed auctioneer or firm violated or induced another person to violate any
provisions of Chapters 1, 2, 3, and or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any

provisiors of this chapter; or

56. Thelicensee, auction firm, or firm owner refuses or fails, upon request or demand, to
produce to the board or any of its agents any document, book, or copy thereof in licensee's

or owner's possession concerning the performance of auctioneering duties.

B. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to grant or renew a license of any person for any of the

reasons specified in subsection A of this section.
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PART VI.

SCHOOLS OF AUCTIONEERING.

18 VAC 25-21-190. APPLICATION FOR COURSE APPROVAL.

Schools seeking approval of their courses shal file a request with the board. The request shall

include the following information:

1 Name and address of the schoal;
2. L ocations where classes will be held;
3. Length of the course and total number of hours of instruction;

4. Subjects covered together with number of instruction hours assigned;

5. Names and qudifications of instructors (area of expertise and experience).

18 VAC 25-21-200. REQUIREMENTSFOR COURSE APPROVAL.
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To receive course approval the ingtitution must offer to Virginia candidates a minimum of 80 hours

of classroom and field instruction in the conduct of auction business to include fundamentals of
auctioneering, elementary principles of real estate, brokerage, contract drawing, advertising, sale

preparation, bid caling, settlement statements and , ethics and exposure to the current ules and

regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers Board. There must be at least five instructors who have

been licensed ercertified auctioneers for at least five years and who specidize in different fields of

the auction business.

18 VAC 25-21-210. AMENDMENTSAND CHANGES.

Any change in the information provided by the school to the board as required by 18 VAC 25-21-

190, 18 VAC 25-21-200 or 18 VAC 25-21-220 shall be reported to the board in writing within 30

days of such an occurrence.

18 VAC 25-21-220. PERIODIC REQUALIFICATION FOR CONTINUED COURSE

APPROVAL.

At times established by the board, the board may require that schools that have previoudy obtained

course approva provide the board with evidence, in aform set forth by the board, that they continue

to comply with the requirements of 18 VAC 25-21-190 and 18 VAC 25-21-200. Failure to continue

to comply with the board’'s requirements or respond to such a request may result in the board
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withdrawing its approval.

| certify that thisregulation isfull, true and correctly dated.

Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director Date
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation/
Auctioneers Board
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