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Virginia Board of Dentistry 
 
18 VAC 60-20-20. L icense renewal and reinstatement. 

 

 A. Renewal fees. Every person holding an active or inactive license, a full-time faculty license, 

or a restricted volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March 

31, renew his license. Every person holding a teacher's license, temporary resident’s license or a 

temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew his 

license.  

 

1. The fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dentistry shall be $150, 

and the fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dental hygiene shall be 

$ 50.  

 

2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $ 75 for dentists and $25 for dental 

hygienists.  

 

3. The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $15.  

 

4. The application fee for a temporary resident’s license shall be $55. The annual renewal fee 

shall be $35 a year. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.  

 



 

B. Late fees. Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by the deadline 

required in subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an additional late fee of $50 for 

dentists and $20 for dental hygienists. The board shall renew a license if the renewal form, 

renewal fee, and late fee are received within one year of the deadline required in subsection A of 

this section.  

 

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures. The license of any person who does not return the 

completed renewal form and fees by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall 

automatically expire and become invalid and his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be 

illegal.  

 

1. Any person whose license has expired for more than one year and who wishes to reinstate 

such license shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the 

reinstatement fee of $225 for dentists and $135 for dental hygienists.  

 

2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action 

and additional fines by the board.  

 

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired license provided that the applicant can 

demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to §54.1-2706 of the Code of 

Virginia and 18VAC60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant has paid the 

unpaid renewal fee, the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments.  

D. Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or indefinitely suspended. Any person whose 

license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application 



 

and fee of $750 for dentists and $500 for dental hygienists. Any person whose license has been 

indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and 

fee of $350 for dentists and $250 for dental hygienists.  

 

18VAC60-20-91. Temporary licenses to persons enrolled in advanced dental education 

programs.  

A. A dental intern, resident or post-doctoral certificate or degree candidate applying for a 

temporary license to practice in Virginia shall:  

1. Successfully complete a D.D.S. or D.M.D. dental degree program required for admission to 

board-approved examinations and submit a letter of confirmation from the registrar of the school 

or college conferring the professional degree, or official transcripts confirming the professional 

degree and date the degree was received.  

2. Submit a recommendation from the dean of the dental school or the director of the accredited 

graduate program specifying the applicant’s acceptance as an intern, resident or post-doctoral 

certificate or degree candidate in an advanced dental education program. The beginning and 

ending dates of the internship, residency or post-doctoral program shall be specified.  

B. The temporary license applies only to practice in the hospital or outpatient clinics of the 

hospital or dental school where the internship, residency or post-doctoral time is served. 

Outpatient clinics in a hospital or other facility must be a recognized part of an advanced dental 

education program.  



 

C. The temporary license may be renewed annually, for up to five times, upon the 

recommendation of the dean of the dental school or director of the accredited graduate program.  

D. The temporary license holder shall be responsible and accountable at all times to a licensed 

dentist, who is a member of the staff where the internship, residency or post-doctoral candidacy 

is served. The temporary licensee is prohibited from employment outside of the advanced dental 

education program where a full license is required.  

F. The temporary license holder shall abide by the accrediting requirements for an advanced 

dental education program as approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 

American Dental Association.  
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