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 The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with Section 9-6.14:7.1.G of the Administrative Process Act 

and Executive Order Number 25 (98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1.G requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities 

to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to 

be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 

regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  The analysis presented 

below represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation 

 The proposed regulation amends various fees paid by nurse practitioners with 

prescriptive authority to the Board of Nursing.  The purpose of these fee increases is to bring the 

Board into compliance with the Board’s interpretation of § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia.  

Section 54.1-113 requires all regulatory boards under the Department of Health Professions to 

revise their fee schedules if, after the close of any biennium, there is more than a 10 percent 

difference between revenues and expenditures.  The proposed fee changes are as follows: 

• The penalty for late renewal of prescriptive authority will decrease from $25 to $10; 

• Reinstatement of a lapsed authorization (an authorization not renewed for at least one 

biennium after expiration) will increase from $25 to $60; 

• Reinstatement of a suspended or revoked authorization will increase from $25 to $85; 

• The cost of obtaining a duplicate authorization would be reduced from $10 to $5; and 
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• The returned check charge will increase from $15 to $25. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

These regulatory amendments are part of a broader set of fee changes proposed for the 

Board of Nursing.  Fee increases for nurses and certified nurse aides were published in the 

Virginia Register on November 22, 1999.  The primary effect of the proposed fee changes will 

be to increase licensing costs for all licensees under the Board of Nursing in Virginia by 

approximately $4.8 million biannually.1  No changes are proposed to the application and renewal 

fees paid by licensed nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority. 

Under the current fee structure, the Board of Nursing projects a $5.2 million deficit for 

the 2000-2002 biennium.2  The proposed fee increases would substantially reduce the projected 

deficits during the 2000-2002 biennium and thereafter would begin to generate a modest surplus, 

thereby bringing the Board into compliance with the Code.  

According to the Board of Nursing, several circumstances have been responsible for the 

failure of fee revenue to keep up with expenditures.  Such circumstances include implementation 

of the Health Practitioner Intervention Program and, to a lesser extent, staff pay raises and 

related benefit increases included in the Governor’s budget, Y2K compliance, installation of a 

new computer system, and relocation of the Department of Health Professions (DHP).  These 

circumstances have increased costs despite other efforts to improve efficiency (i.e., the 

privatization of certain functions, reductions in staff, etc…) undertaken by the Department and 

the Board during the past five years.  According to DHP, the proposed fee increases are 

necessary so that the Board of Nursing can continue to perform its essential functions of 

licensing, investigations of complaints, adjudication of disciplinary cases, and the review and 

approval of nursing education programs.  These functions sustain the supply of nurses in 

Virginia and protect the public from continued practice by incompetent or unethical nurses.   

The level of the proposed fee increases is based on revenue and expenditure projections 

prepared by DHP for the Board of Nursing.  The proposed amounts were selected such that 

                                                 
1 This figure reflects the difference between projected revenue for the Board of Nursing under the current fee 
structure and Proposal #2 ($5,946,750 and $10,311,590).  Also included is the difference between projected 
revenues for the Certified Nurse Aide program ($816,250 under the current fees and $1,221,250 under the proposed 
$45 renewal fee). 
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projected revenues would be sufficient to cover projected expenditures but would not result in 

anything more than a modest surplus.  The changes in fee structures are largely based on DHP’s 

Principles for Fee Development and are discussed below.3 

Reinstatement and Late Renewal Fees 

 The existing regulations require all individuals who do not renew by the expiration date 

to reinstate their authorization.  Reinstatement includes submission of a reinstatement application 

and a fee of $25.  This policy does not differentiate between persons who are merely a day late in 

renewing their authorization from persons who have chosen to let their authorization lapse for a 

lengthy period of time (i.e., someone who had left the state to practice in another jurisdiction, 

and then has returned to Virginia).  The proposed rules would establish a $10 late fee for 

licensees renewing within one biennium of the expiration date and require reinstatement for the 

renewal of any authorizations (now lapsed) beyond the biennium.  The proposed reinstatement 

fee of $60 includes $25 for application processing and document review, a $10 late fee, and the 

$25 biennial license renewal fee.  Applicants reinstating a suspended or revoked license would 

be required to pay an additional $25 (total fee of $85) since a disciplinary reinstatement hearing 

must be held.   

 The Board estimates that 25 nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority will benefit 

from a reduction in the late fee from $25 to $10.  According to DHP, the proposed fee more 

accurately reflects the costs incurred by the Department for processing late renewals, which 

cannot be processed through the automated system but must be manually entered. The estimated 

number of nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority who will request reinstatement of 

lapsed or suspended/revoked licenses is under 10.  Licensing costs for these individuals would 

increase under the proposal. 

Miscellaneous Fees 

Almost all of the other proposed fee changes are intended to represent more accurately 

the actual cost of service.  For example, the fee charged for a duplicate license is reduced from 

$10 to $5 and the returned check charge is raised from $15 to $25.  By charging individuals for 

                                                                                                                                                             
2 This figure reflects the sum of the $4,615,498 deficit projected for the Board of Nursing plus the $624,744 deficit 
projected for the Certified Nurse Aide Program. 
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the full costs incurred on their behalf, the proposed changes are both more efficient and 

equitable. 

Summary 

The proposed regulation amends certain fees charged by the Board of Nursing for nurse 

practitioners with prescriptive authority in Virginia.  According to DHP, the proposed fee 

increases are necessary to prevent a delay in the performance of or the elimination of 

investigations and discipline, license renewals, and educational program approvals, a delay 

which could negatively affect public health and safety and reduce the supply of nurses and nurse 

practitioners in Virginia. 

Businesses and Entities Affected 

 There are currently 1,747 nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority licensed by the 

Board of Nursing in Virginia.   

Localities Particularly Affected 

 The proposed fee changes will not affect any particular localities since they apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed fee changes are not expected to have any significant impact on 

employment of nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority in Virginia. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 The proposed fee changes are not expected to have any significant effects on the use and 

value of private property in Virginia. 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
                                                                                                                                                             
3 This document, dated May 20, 1999, outlines the principles by which DHP sets its licensing fees.  The principles 
are intended to provide structure, consistency, and equity for all the professionals regulated within the Department.  
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