
 
 

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20  
(VR 480-04-2),  which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner 
examinations and certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *Surface Blaster 
This certification authorizes the holder to perform blasting operations and to record blasting 
examination information concerning blasting operations at surface mines. 
NOTE:  This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification. 
 
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
� Application (BCME-1) and $10.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 
� One year blasting experience on a surface mine under the direction of a certified surface 

blaster or appropriately related work experience approved by the Chief of the Division of Mines 
� Current first aid training (MSHA first aid 5000-23 acceptable) 

 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 85% on each element of the examination 
 
ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
� Mined Land Reclamation Rules & Regs. (DMLR)   (MR)   20 
� Blasting Practices   (BP)        20 
� Electric Blasting   (EB)        20 
� Explosive Products   (EP)        20 
� Explosive Safety Procedures   (ES)      20 
� Rules & Regulations (DM)   (RR)      20 
� First Aid   (MM)         20 

 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:  
 � Title 30 CFR     � Surface Blasters Study Guide 
 � Mining Laws of Virginia   � DMLR Rules & Regulations 
 � BCME Requirements    � MSHA (Basic First Aid) Manual 3 

 
The above mentioned study mater ials are available at the Depar tment of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center  (276) 523-8233 and Keen Mountain 
Field Office (276) 498-4533. 
 
*5 year  DMLR recer tification required 
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