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Virginia Board of Dentistry 
 

Guidance on Sedation Permits 
 

Applicants for Sedation Permits 

 

• Applicants must complete an application for a permit in either moderate sedation or deep 

sedation/general anesthesia. Permit applicants must identify every location at which the 

applicant will be administering sedation and anesthesia.   

• The permit holder will notify the Board within 30 days of any changes in address of 

facilities or any additional facilities to be added to the permit (please note that a pre-

permit inspection will occur if there are any additional facilities that were not pre-

inspected).   

• Once the application is deemed complete, an employee of the Department of Health 

Professions (inspector) will conduct an announced inspection(s) at all applicable 

locations.    

• Incomplete applications for a sedation permit will expire 12 months from the date of 

submission. 

• Every dentist who administers moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia is 

required to hold a permit. Please note this does NOT apply to oral and maxillofacial 

surgeons (“OMS”) who maintain membership in the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons (“AAOMS”) and who provide the Board with the reports which 

result from the periodic office examinations required by AAOMS. Those OMS do not 

require a permit from the Board and are not subject to periodic inspections. Each OMS 

must have undergone an AAMOS periodic office examination within the five preceding 

years and must provide the reports of the examinations to the Board. 

Pre-permit Inspection 

 

• An employee of the Department of Health Professions (inspector) will conduct an 

announced inspection at all applicable locations to review compliance with: required 

sedation equipment pursuant to 18VAC60-21-291(B) and 18VAC60-21-301(C); 

appropriate training of staff pursuant to 18VAC60-21-260(H)(2), 18VAC60-21-260(I), 

18VAC60-21-260(J), 18VAC60-21-290(D) and (E), 18VAC60-25-100, and 18VAC60-

21-300(C); physical plant requirements pursuant to 18VAC60-21-60(A)(1); and Drug 

Control Act requirements pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-3404.     

• If an applicant is compliant with all applicable regulations, the applicant will receive a 

permit from the Board once a report of complete compliance is received from the 

inspector. If the applicant is found to be in non-compliance with applicable regulations, 

the applicant will receive a report listing the non-compliance. Depending upon the type of 
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non-compliance, the applicant will be required to submit evidence of the correction or 

another announced inspection will be scheduled. When the applicant is in compliance, the 

applicant will receive a permit.   

Periodic Office Inspection for Administration of Sedation and Anesthesia 
 

• Periodic office inspections will be announced for permit holders with no previous 

disciplinary action taken by the Board. The announcement of the inspection will occur 

approximately five business days or less prior to the inspection.   

• Unannounced periodic office inspections will occur for permit holders with previous 

disciplinary action taken by the Board. 

• The permit holder will receive a copy of their preliminary onsite inspection report with 

listed deficiencies at the time of inspection. If the deficiency can be corrected, the permit 

holder may correct the deficiencies and provide proof of correction to 

denbd@dhp.virginia.gov within 14 business days.   

• Practitioners who practice in multiple offices shall identify each location at which 
sedation will be used on the permit application. Each such location will be inspected at 
least once in an inspection cycle. If a permit holder is the sole practitioner in each of the 
locations, inspections of each office will be coordinated to address findings in a 
comprehensive inspection report. 

• Practices with multiple permit holders will be inspected for general compliance at least 
once in an inspection cycle. These inspections will address the compliance of each 
permit holder at the practice.  

• Permit holders practicing on an itinerant basis shall identify a primary practice location 
for a periodic inspection and shall report and provide information about the 
arrangements in place with employing dentists to facilitate inspection of those practice 
settings. 

• The practice locations of permit holders who use the services of another qualified health 

professional to administer moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia as 

permitted in sections 18VAC60-21-291(A) and 18VAC60-21-301(B) shall be inspected. 

Recordkeeping 

 

• The permit holder must comply with all applicable regulations regarding sedation 

recordkeeping. See 18VAC-21-260(C), (D), and (K), 18VAC60-21-291(D) and (E), and 

18VAC60-21-301(E) and (G). 

• The permit holder must document within the patient record the intended level of sedation 

for each patient and each procedure.   
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OMS Requirements 

 

• The requirement for a sedation permit does not apply to an OMS who maintains 

membership in AAOMS and who provides the Board with reports that result from the 

periodic office examinations required by AAOMS. See 18VAC60-21-300(A).   

• An OMS who is not a member of AAOMS must hold a sedation permit. If the OMS 

holds a sedation permit and later becomes a member of AAOMS, the OMS must notify 

the Board within 30 days of becoming a member of AAOMS. 

• An OMS who is a member of AAOMS must submit AAOMS office examination reports 

to the Board within 30 days of receipt.   

 

Inspection Reports and AAOMS Office Examination Results 

 

Inspection reports and AAOMS results will be submitted to the Board for review. Board staff 

will review the information received to determine if a probable cause review is warranted to 

determine compliance with the regulatory requirements addressed in the inspection form. The 

inspection reports and AAOMS results are confidential documents pursuant to Virginia Code 

§ 54.1-2400.2. 

 

Costs Related to Inspections 

 

Permit holders will not be charged an inspection fee for a periodic or initial inspection. A 

$350 fee will be charged for any additional inspections that result from a disciplinary order 

issued to address findings of non-compliance in periodic inspections. See 18VAC60-21-40. 

 


