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8VAC20-340-10 State-Approved Driver Education Program. 

A.  In accordance with provisions of the National Highway Safety Act of 1966 (23 USC 

§401 et seq.) and §46.2-334 of the Code of Virginia, schools shall schedule a program of 

driver education for all eligible students. The program shall consist of 36 periods of 

classroom instruction and 14 periods of in-car instruction, which shall include seven 

periods of actual driving, and seven periods of observation time. The classroom 

instruction should be offered during the 10th grade. School divisions may offer 

alternative programs. These shall be developed in accordance with procedures outlined in 

the Curriculum Guide for Driver Education in Virginia. local school boards shall 

determine whether to offer a driver education program, and, if offered, whether it will be 

elective or required. School divisions offering programs that comply with the 

standardized program of study and regulations established by the Board of Education and 

the provisions of section §22.1-205 of the Code of Virginia are entitled to participate in 

the distribution of state funds for driver education. 

 

B.  A state-approved driver education program consists of a minimum of 36 periods of 

classroom instruction, and 14 periods of in-car instruction.  The standardized driver 

education program established by the Board of Education requires that: 
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1. Classroom and in-car instruction shall follow the standardized program of study; 

2. Classroom driver education may be taught in lieu of 36 class periods of health 

education or as an elective course; 

3. Superintendents and heads of private schools must seek program approval from 

the Department of Education prior to providing instruction and certify that the 

proposed program meets all state-approved program requirements; 

4. The length of a class period must be a minimum of 50 minutes; 

5. Students must drive a minimum of 50 miles during the in-car phase of instruction; 

6. In-car instruction must be limited to no more than two periods of instruction in 

any 24-hour period, of which at least one must be actual driving; 

7. No more than four periods of actual driving and four periods of observation on a 

multiple-car-range can count towards the 14-period in-car requirement; 

8. Combination, on-street, simulation, and multiple-car-range programs must 

provide at least six periods of on-street driving and observation, four periods of 

multiple-car-range driving and observation, and eight periods of simulation; 

9. Only fees approved by the Board of Education may be collected for the laboratory 

phase of driver education pursuant to the appropriation act; 

10. Public or private schools must submit classroom and in-car driver education 

teachers’  driver license information for driver record monitoring as required by § 

46.2-340 of the Code of Virginia; 

11. Local school boards must develop written policies concerning initial or continued 

employment of classroom and in-car teachers who receive excessive demerit 

points on their driving record; 
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12. Public and private schools must provide the Department of Education with the 

previous year’s program data to calculate in-car basic aid reimbursement and to 

monitor program compliance; 

13. Classroom and laboratory phases of the program must be offered concurrently at 

the same school, or allow only a limited amount of time to elapse between 

classroom completion and laboratory instruction; 

14. Students who have not successfully completed the classroom phase at one school 

cannot begin in-car instruction at another school;  

15. Successful completion of a standardized end-of-course road skills assessment 

must be achieved prior to the school issuing a 90-day provisional license; 

 

8VAC20-340-20. Driver Education Vehicles. 

 

The school division or school shall: 

1. Provide a vehicle in excellent mechanical condition, equipped with dual-control 

brakes, a roof top sign, dual side mirrors, and safety restraints;  

2. Ensure all driver education vehicles are equipped with restraint systems of the 

type approved by the Department of State Police in accordance with §§46.2-1093 

and 46.2-1095 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Provide a vehicle with a current Virginia inspection sticker and license plate; 

4. Insure the vehicle above the minimum amount required by state statute for 

liability and property damage; 
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5. Identify the instructional vehicle by displaying DRIVER EDUCATION 

VEHICLE AND NAME OF SCHOOL (or school division) attached to the top of 

the vehicle.  The school name does not have to be on the rooftop sign and may 

appear in another visible location on the vehicle. 

 

8VAC20-340-30. Teacher Requirements. 

The standardized driver education program established by the Board of Education 

requires teachers:  

1. To hold a valid Virginia teaching license with an add-on endorsement or approved 

program endorsement in driver education; or, for in-car instruction, to satisfy the 

paraprofessional training requirements; 

2. To hold a valid Virginia driver’s license and; or, teachers with valid out-of-state 

driver’s licenses must provide the Department of Education with a copy of their 

driving record at the beginning of each semester, at the beginning of summer 

school, and when they receive a moving violation; 

3. To have a broad background of driving experiences (two years minimum) in 

cities, rural roadways and highways; 

4. To possess sound physical, mental and emotional qualities; 

5. To have a satisfactory driving record; teachers who have accumulated six or more 

demerit points shall be removed from providing behind-the-wheel instruction for 

a period of 24 months; (no public or private school shall retain its driver education 

program approval by the Department of Education unless the teacher is removed, 

§46.2-340 of the Code of Virginia); 
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6. Who have had their license suspended or revoked, or who have received a Driving 

Under the Influence (DUI) arrest or conviction, to be immediately removed from 

any classroom or laboratory driver education teaching assignment; 

7. To obtain parent/guardian permission to enroll a student in the laboratory phase of 

instruction; 

8. To make every reasonable effort to protect students from injury; 

9. To ensure the proper use of safety restraints by all persons occupying the driver 

education vehicle; 

10. To ensure that the student driver has in his/her possession a valid Virginia 

learner’s permit when operating a driver education vehicle; 

11. To have at least two students, or no more than three students, in the car.  

Exception: When it is in the best interest of the student, and with prior written 

permission from the parents or legal guardians, one student may be scheduled for 

in-car instruction; 

12. Shall not allow the driver education vehicle to be used by any student during on-

street instruction without the teacher being in the vehicle providing direct 

instruction.  If the vehicle is parked and students remain in the vehicle, the keys 

shall be removed by the teacher.  In no event should the vehicle’s engine remain 

running with students inside the vehicle without the teacher also being inside the 

vehicle; 

13. Shall not allow the driver education vehicle to be used during multiple-car range 

instruction without teacher supervision.  
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I certify that this document is accurate and true. 

   Adopted by the Virginia Board of Education on April 29, 2004. 

   

     

 

Margaret N. Roberts 

Agency Regulatory Coordinator 

May 5, 2004 

 


