COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA
Office of the Attorney General

. 900 East Main Street
Mark R. Herring Richmond, Virginia 23219
Attorney General 804-786-2071
FAX 804-786-1991
Virginia Relay Services
800-828-1120
MEMORANDUM
TO: Emily McClellan
Regulatory Supervisor

Department of Medical Assistance Services

FROM: Davis Creef
Assistant Attorney
Office of the Attomey General

DATE: March 1, 2021
SUBJECT: Final Regulations Regarding Electronic Visit Verification, 12 VAC 30-60-65

I am in receipt of the attached regulations to adopt regulations conceming the
implementation of Electronic Visit Verification. You have asked the Office of the Attorney
General to review and determine if Department of Medical Assistance Services has the statutory
authority to promulgate these regulations and if they comport with applicable state law.

Virginia Code § 32.1-325 authorizes the Board of Medical Assistance Services to
promulgate regulations as may be necessary to comply with federal law and carry out the
provisions of the state plan. Virginia Code § 32.1-324 authorizes the Director of the Department
of Medical Assistances with the Board’s authority when it is not in session. It is this Office’s
view that the Director has the authority to promulgate the final regulations, subject to compliance
with the provisions of Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act, and has not exceeded that
authority.

Please note that Virginia Code § 2.2-4013(B) requires that all changes to the proposed
regulation be highlighted in the final regulations. If you have any questions or need additional
information about these regulations, please contact me at 786-6522.

cc: Kim F. Piner, Esq.

Attachment
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Final Text

Action: Electronic Visit Verification
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12VAC30-50-130 Nursing facility services, EPSDT, including school health
services, and family planning

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an institution for mental
diseases) for individuals 21 years of age or older.

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or performed within the scope
of a license of the practitioner of the healing arts.

B. General provisions for early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment
(EPSDT) of individuals younger than 21 years of age and treatment of conditions
found.

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on behalf of individuals
younger than 21 years of age who are Medicaid eligible for medically necessary
stays in acute care facilities and the accompanying attendant physician care in
excess of 21 days per admission when such services are rendered for the purpose
of diagnosis and treatment of health conditions identified through a physical
examination.

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as provided through EPSDT) are
not covered except that well-child examinations in a private physician's office are
covered for foster children of the local departments of social services on specific

referral from those departments.

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if medically necessary to correct a
visual defect identified by an EPSDT examination or evaluation. DMAS shall place
appropriate utilization controls upon this service.

4. Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, early
and periodic screening, diagnostic, and treatment services means the following
services: screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing services,
and such other necessary health care, diagnostic services, treatment, and other
measures described in Social Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate
defects and physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by the
screening services and that are medically necessary, whether or not such services
are covered under the State Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to
recipients 21 years of age and older, provided for by § 1905(a) of the Social
Security Act.

C. Community mental health services provided through early and periodic
screening diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) for individuals younger than 21 years
of age. These services in order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity
criteria based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing within the
scope of their licenses and (ii) shall be reflected in provider records and on
provider claims for services by recognized diagnosis codes that support and are
consistent with the requested professional services.
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1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in this section shall have
the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Adolescent" means the individual receiving the services described in this section.
For the purpose of the use of this term, adolescent means an individual 12 through
20 years of age.

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of information among
health care providers involved with an individual's health care to improve the care.

"Caregiver" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.
"Child" means an individual ages birth through 11 years.

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services.

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct supervision to the peer
recovery specialist. The direct supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of
documented practical experience rendering peer support services or family
support services, have certification training as a PRS under a certifying body
approved by DBHDS, and have documented completion of the DBHDS PRS
supervisor training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental health professional (QMHP-A,
QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as defined in 12VAC35-105-20 with at least two
consecutive years of documented experience as a QMHP, and who has
documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training; or (iii) shall be an
LMHP who has documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training
who is acting within his scope of practice under state law. An LMHP providing
services before April 1, 2018, shall have until April 1, 2018, to complete the
DBHDS PRS supervisor training.

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance Services and its
contractors.

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment.
"Family support partners" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5170.

"Human services field" means the same as the term is defined by the Department
of Health Professions in the document entitled Approved Degrees in Human
Services and Related Fields for QMIHP Registration, adopted November 3, 2017,
revised February 9, 2018.

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the term is defined in
12VAC30-50-226.

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means the same as defined in
12VAC35-105-20.

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as "resident" as defined in (i)
18VAC115-20-10 for licensed professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for
licensed marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for licensed
substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-resident shall be in continuous
compliance with the regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling
profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the functions of the
LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific clinical
duties at a specific site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of
Counseling.

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the same as an individual in
a residency, as that term is defined in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical
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psychologists. An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous compliance
with the regulatory requirements for supervised experience as found in 18VAC125-
20-65 and shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a
"resident" until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site has been
preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Psychology.

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or "LMHP-S" means the
same as "supervisee" as defined in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social
workers. An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous compliance
with the regulatory requirements for supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-
20-50 and shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered a
"supervisee" until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site is
preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work.

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-
5160.

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education aimed at helping
individuals who have mental iliness and their family members or caregivers to
access clear and concise information about mental iliness and (ii) a way of
accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental iliness and its effects in
order to design effective treatment plans and strategies.

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" means the same as the
term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20.

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-E" means the same as
the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements of
12VAC35-105-590 including a "QMHP-trainee" as defined by the Department of
Health Professions.

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" means the same as the
term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements of
12VAC35-105-1370.

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160.

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.
"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face interaction in which the
provider obtains information from the child or adolescent, and parent or other
family member as appropriate, about the child's or adolescent's mental health
status. It includes documented history of the severity, intensity, and duration of
mental health care problems and issues and shall contain all of the following
elements: (i) the presenting issue or reason for referral, (i) mental health
history/hospitalizations, (iii) previous interventions by providers and timeframes
and response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) developmental history including
history of abuse, if appropriate, (vi) educational or vocational status, (vii) current
living situation and family history and relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and
alcohol profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental status exam and profile,
(xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional summary and clinical formulation, (xiv)
recommended care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated signature of the
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP.

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.
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"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160.

2. Intensive in-home services (lIH) to children and adolescents younger than 21
years of age shall be time-limited interventions provided in the individual's
residence and when clinically necessary in community settings. All interventions
and the settings of the intervention shall be defined in the Individual Service Plan.
All IIH services shall be designed to specifically improve family dynamics and
provide modeling and the clinically necessary interventions that increase
functional and therapeutic interpersonal relations between family members in the
home. IIH services are designed to promote benefits of psychoeducation in the
home setting of an individual who is at risk of being moved into an out-of-home
placement or who is being transitioned to home from an out-of-home placement
due to a documented medical need of the individual. These services provide crisis
treatment; individual and family counseling; communication skills (e.g., counseling
to assist the individual and the individual's parents or guardians, as appropriate, to
understand and practice appropriate problem solving, anger management, and
interpersonal interaction, etc.); care coordination with other required services; and
24-hour emergency response.

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid reimbursement prior to the
onset of services. Services rendered before the date of authorization shall not be
reimbursed.

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required prior to the start of services
at the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during the entire duration of
services. Services based upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific
provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. Requirements for
service-specific provider intakes and ISPs are set out in this section.

c. These services shall only be rendered by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E.

3. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided two or more hours per day in
order to provide therapeutic interventions (a unit is defined in 12VAC30-60-61 D
11). Day treatment programs provide evaluation; medication education and
management; opportunities to learn and use daily living skills and to enhance
social and interpersonal skills (e.g., problem solving, anger management,
community responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate peer
relations, etc.); and individual, group, and family counseling.

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid reimbursement.

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required prior to the start of services,
and ISPs shall be required during the entire duration of services. Services based
upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific provider intakes or ISPs
shall be denied reimbursement. Requirements for service-specific provider intakes
and ISPs are set out in this section.

c. These services shall be rendered only by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E.

D. Therapeutic group home services and psychiatric residential treatment facility
(PRTF) services for early and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment
(EPSDT) of individuals younger than 21 years of age.

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in this subsection shall
have the following meanings:

"Active treatment" means implementation of an initial plan of care (IPOC) and
comprehensive individual plan of care (CIPOC).
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"Assessment" means the face-to-face interaction by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-
RP, or LMHP-S to obtain information from the child or adolescent and parent,
guardian, or other family member, as appropriate, utilizing a tool or series of tools
to provide a comprehensive evaluation and review of the child's or adolescent's
mental health status. The assessment shall include a documented history of the
severity, intensity, and duration of mental health problems and behavioral and
emotional issues.

"Certificate of need" or "CON" means a written statement by an independent
certification team that services in a therapeutic group home or PRTF are or were
needed.

"Combined treatment services" means a structured, therapeutic milieu and
planned interventions that promote (i) the development or restoration of adaptive
functioning, self-care, and social skills; (i) community integrated activities and
community living skills that each individual requires to live in less restrictive
environments; (iii) behavioral consultation; (iv) individual and group therapy; (v)
skills restoration, the restoration of coping skills, family living and health
awareness, interpersonal skills, communication skills, and stress management
skills; (vi) family education and family therapy; and (vii) individualized treatment
planning.

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" means a person centered
plan of care that meets all of the requirements of this subsection and is specific to
the individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as identified in the
clinical assessment and information gathered during the referral process.

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation that produces an acute,
heightened emotional, mental, physical, medical, or behavioral event.

"Crisis management" means immediately provided activities and interventions
designed to rapidly manage a crisis. The activities and interventions include
behavioral health care to provide immediate assistance to individuals experiencing
acute behavioral health problems that require immediate intervention to stabilize
and prevent harm and higher level of acuity. Activities shall include assessment
and short-term counseling designed to stabilize the individual. Individuals are
referred to long-term services once the crisis has been stabilized.

"Daily supervision" means the supervision provided in a PRTF through a resident-
to-staff ratio approved by the Office of Licensure at the Department of Behavioral
Health and Developmental Services with documented supervision checks every
15 minutes throughout a 24-hour period.

"Discharge planning" means family and locality-based care coordination that
begins upon admission to a PRTF or therapeutic group home with the goal of
transitioning the individual out of the PRTF or therapeutic group home to a less
restrictive care setting with continued, clinically-appropriate, and possibly
intensive, services as soon as possible upon discharge. Discharge plans shall be
recommended by the treating physician, psychiatrist, or treating LMHP responsible
for the overall supervision of the plan of care and shall be approved by the DMAS
contractor.

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth
Edition, copyright 2013, American Psychiatric Association.

"Emergency admissions" means those admissions that are made when, pending a
review for the certificate of need, it appears that the individual is in need of an
immediate admission to a therapeutic group home or PRTF and likely does not
meet the medical necessity criteria to receive crisis intervention, crisis
stabilization, or acute psychiatric inpatient services.
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"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes scheduled crisis
intervention, stabilization, acute psychiatric inpatient services, and referral
assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-face if indicated, and available
24 hours a day, seven days per week.

"Family engagement" means a family-centered and strengths-based approach to
partnering with families in making decisions, setting goals, achieving desired
outcomes, and promoting safety, permanency, and well-being for children,
adolescents, and families. Family engagement requires ongoing opportunities for
an individual to build and maintain meaningful relationships with family members,
for example, frequent, unscheduled, and noncontingent telephone calls and visits
between an individual and family members. Family engagement may also include
enhancing or facilitating the development of the individual's relationship with other
family members and supportive adults responsible for the individual's care and
well-being upon discharge.

"Family engagement activity" means an intervention consisting of family
psychoeducational training or coaching, transition planning with the family, family
and independent living skills, and training on accessing community supports as
identified in the plan of care. Family engagement activity does not include and is
not the same as family therapy.

"Family therapy" means counseling services involving the individual's family and
significant others to advance the treatment goals when (i) the counseling with the
family member and significant others is for the direct benefit of the individual, (ii)
the counseling is not aimed at addressing treatment needs of the individual's
family or significant others, and (iii) the individual is present except when it is
clinically appropriate for the individual to be absent in order to advance the
individual's treatment goals. Family therapy shall be aligned with the goals of the
individual's plan of care. All family therapy services furnished are for the direct
benefit of the individual, in accordance with the individual's needs and treatment
goals identified in the individual's plan of care, and for the purpose of assisting in
the individual's recovery.

"FAPT" means the family assessment and planning team.

"ICD-10" means International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related
Health Problems, 10th Revision, published by the World Health Organization.

"Independent certification team" means a team that has competence in diagnosis
and treatment of mental iliness, preferably in child psychiatry; has knowledge of
the individual's situation; and is composed of at least one physician and one
LMHP. The independent certification team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor
with contractual or employment relationships with the required team members.

“Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 years of age who is
receiving therapeutic group home or PRTF services.

"Individual and group therapy" means the application of principles, standards, and
methods of the counseling profession in (i) conducting assessments and diagnosis
for the purpose of establishing treatment goals and objectives and (ii) planning,
implementing, and evaluating plans of care using treatment interventions to
facilitate human development and to identify and remediate mental, emotional, or
behavioral disorders and associated distresses that interfere with mental health.

"Initial plan of care" or "IPOC" means a person centered plan of care established
at admission that meets all of the requirements of this subsection and is specific to
the individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as identified in the
clinical assessment and information gathered during the referral process.
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"Intervention" means scheduled therapeutic treatment such as individual or group
psychoeducation; skills restoration; structured behavior support and training
activities; recreation, art, and music therapies; community integration activities that
promote or assist in the child's or adolescent's ability to acquire coping and
functional or self-regulating behavior skills; day and overnight passes; and family
engagement activities. Interventions shall not include individual, group, and
familytherapy; medical or dental appointments; or physician services, medication
evaluation, or management provided by a licensed clinician or physician and shall
not include school attendance. Interventions shall be provided in the therapeutic
group home or PRTF and, when clinically necessary, in a community setting or as
part of a therapeutic pass. All interventions and settings of the intervention shall be
established in the plan of care.

"Plan of care" means the initial plan of care (IPOC) and the comprehensive
individual plan of care (CIPOC).

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice medicine or osteopathic
medicine in Virginia, as defined in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia.

"Psychiatric residential treatment facility" or "PRTF" means the same as defined in
42 CFR 483.352 and is a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and medically necessary,
out-of-home active treatment program designed to provide necessary support and
address mental health, behavioral, substance abuse, cognitive, and training needs
of an individual younger than 21 years of age in order to prevent or minimize the
need for more intensive treatment.

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant or recipient for whom
therapeutic group home or PRTF services are needed.

"Room and board" means a component of the total daily cost for placement in a
licensed PRTF. Residential room and board costs are maintenance costs
associated with placement in a licensed PRTF and include a semi-private room,
three meals and two snacks per day, and personal care items. Room and board
costs are reimbursed only for PRTF settings.

"Services provided under arrangement" means services including physician and
other health care services that are furnished to children while they are in a
freestanding psychiatric hospital or PRTF that are billed by the arranged
practitioners separately from the freestanding psychiatric hospital's or PRTF's per
diem.

"Skills restoration" means a face-to-face service to assist individuals in the
restoration of lost skills that are necessary to achieve the goals established in the
beneficiary's plan of care. Services include assisting the individual in restoring self-
management, interpersonal, communication, and problem solving skills through
modeling, coaching, and cueing.

"Therapeutic group home" means a congregate residential service providing 24-
hour supervision in a community-based home having eight or fewer residents.

"Therapeutic pass" means time at home or time with family consisting of partial or
entire days of time away from the therapeutic group home or psychiatric
residential treatment facility as clinically indicated in the plan of care and as paired
with facility-based and community-based interventions to promote discharge
planning, community integration, and family engagement activities. Therapeutic
passes are not recreational but are a therapeutic component of the plan of care
and are designed for the direct benefit of the individual.

"Treatment planning" means development of a person centered plan of care that is
specific to the individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels.
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2. Therapeutic group home services pursuant to 42 CFR 440.130(d).

a. Therapeutic group home services for children and adolescents younger than 21
years of age shall provide therapeutic services to restore or maintain appropriate
skills necessary to promote prosocial behavior and healthy living, including skills
restoration, family living and health awareness, interpersonal skills,
communication skills, and stress management sKkills. Therapeutic services shall
also engage families and reflect family-driven practices that correlate to sustained
positive outcomes post-discharge for youth and their family members. Each
component of therapeutic group home services is provided for the direct benefit of
the individual, in accordance with the individual's needs and treatment goals
identified in the individual's plan of care, and for the purpose of assisting in the
individual's recovery. These services are provided under 42 CFR 440.130(d) in
accordance with the rehabilitative services benefit.

b. The plan of care shall include individualized activities, including a minimum of
one intervention per 24-hour period in addition to individual, group, and family
therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there is documentation to
justify clinical or medical reasons for the individual's deviations from the plan of
care. Interventions shall be documented on a progress note and shall be outlined
in and aligned with the treatment goals and objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC.
Any deviation from the plan of care shall be documented along with a clinical or
medical justification for the deviation.

c. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a therapeutic group home. The
following requirements for severity of need and intensity and quality of service
shall be met to satisfy the medical necessity criteria for admission.

(1) Severity of need required for admission. All of the following criteria shall be met
to satisfy the criteria for severity of need:

(a) The individual's behavioral health condition can only be safely and effectively
treated in a 24-hour therapeutic milieu with onsite behavioral health therapy due to
significant impairments in home, school, and community functioning caused by
current mental health symptoms consistent with a DSM-5 diagnosis.

(b) The certificate of need must demonstrate all of the following: (i) ambulatory
care resources (all available modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient
treatment) available in the community do not meet the treatment needs of the
individual; (ii) proper treatment of the individual's psychiatric condition requires
services on an inpatient basis under the direction of a physician; and (iii) the
services can reasonably be expected to improve the individual's condition or
prevent further regression so that the services will no longer be needed.

(c) The state uniform assessment tool shall be completed. The assessment shall
demonstrate at least two areas of moderate impairment in major life activities. A
moderate impairment is defined as a major or persistent disruption in major life
activities. A moderate impairment is evidenced by, but not limited to (i) frequent
conflict in the family setting such as credible threats of physical harm, where
"frequent" means more than expected for the individual's age and developmental
level; (ii) frequent inability to accept age-appropriate direction and supervision
from caretakers, from family members, at school, or in the home or community; (iii)
severely limited involvement in social support, which means significant avoidance
of appropriate social interaction, deterioration of existing relationships, or refusal to
participate in therapeutic interventions; (iv) impaired ability to form a trusting
relationship with at least one caretaker in the home, school, or community; (v)
limited ability to consider the effect of one's inappropriate conduct on others; and
(vi) interactions consistently involving conflict, which may include impulsive or
abusive behaviors.
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(d) Less restrictive community-based services have been given a fully adequate
trial and were unsuccessful or, if not attempted, have been considered, but in
either situation were determined to be unable to meet the individual's treatment
needs and the reasons for that are discussed in the certificate of need.

(e) The individual's symptoms, or the need for treatment in a 24 hours a day,
seven days a week level of care (LOC), are not primarily due to any of the
following: (i) intellectual disability, developmental disability, or autistic spectrum
disorder; (ii) organic mental disorders, traumatic brain injury, or other medical
condition; or (iii) the individual does not require a more intensive level of care.

(f) The individual does not require primary medical or surgical treatment.

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for admission. All of the following
criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for intensity and quality of service:

(a) The therapeutic group home service has been prescribed by a psychiatrist,
psychologist, or other LMHP who has documented that a residential setting is the
least restrictive clinically appropriate service that can meet the specifically
identified treatment needs of the individual.

(b) The therapeutic group home is not being used for clinically inappropriate
reasons, including (i) an alternative to incarceration or preventative detention; (ii)
an alternative to a parent's, guardian's, or agency's capacity to provide a place of
residence for the individual; or (iii) a treatment intervention when other less
restrictive alternatives are available.

(c) The individual's treatment goals are included in the service specific provider
intake and include behaviorally defined objectives that require and can reasonably
be achieved within a therapeutic group home setting.

(d) The therapeutic group home is required to coordinate with the individual's
community resources, including schools and FAPT as appropriate, with the goal of
transitioning the individual out of the program to a less restrictive care setting for
continued, sometimes intensive, services as soon as possible and appropriate.

(e) The therapeutic group home program must incorporate nationally established,
evidence-based, trauma-informed services and supports that promote recovery
and resiliency.

(f) Discharge planning begins upon admission, with concrete plans for the
individual to transition back into the community beginning within the first week of
admission, with clear action steps and target dates outlined in the plan of care.

(3) Continued stay criteria. The following criteria shall be met in order to satisfy the
criteria for continued stay:

(a) All of the admission guidelines continue to be met and continue to be
supported by the written clinical documentation.

(b) The individual shall meet one of the following criteria: (i) the desired outcome
or level of functioning has not been restored or improved in the timeframe outlined
in the individual's plan of care or the individual continues to be at risk for relapse
based on history or (ii) the nature of the functional gains is tenuous and use of less
intensive services will not achieve stabilization.

(c) The individual shall meet one of the following criteria: (i) the individual has
achieved initial CIPOC goals, but additional goals are indicated that cannot be met
at a lower level of care; (ii) the individual is making satisfactory progress toward
meeting goals but has not attained plan of care goals, and the goals cannot be
addressed at a lower level of care; (iii) the individual is not making progress, and
the plan of care has been modified to identify more effective interventions; or (iv)
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there are current indications that the individual requires this level of treatment to
maintain level of functioning as evidenced by failure to achieve goals identified for
therapeutic visits or stays in a nontreatment residential setting or in a lower level of
residential treatment.

(d) There is a written, up-to-date discharge plan that (i) identifies the custodial
parent or custodial caregiver at discharge; (ii) identifies the school the individual
will attend at discharge, if applicable; (iii) includes individualized education
program (IEP) and FAPT recommendations, if necessary; (iv) outlines the
aftercare treatment plan (discharge to another residential level of care is not an
acceptable discharge goal); and (v) lists barriers to community reintegration and
progress made on resolving these barriers since last review.

(e) The active plan of care includes structure for combined treatment services and
activities to ensure the attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as identified
in the plan of care. Combined treatment services reinforce and practice skills
learned in individual, group, and family therapy such as community integration
skills, coping skills, family living and health awareness skills, interpersonal skills,
and stress management skills. Combined treatment services may occur in group
settings, in one-on-one interactions, or in the home setting during a therapeutic
pass. In addition to the combined treatment services, the child or adolescent must
also receive psychotherapy services, care coordination, family-based discharge
planning, and locality-based transition activities. The child or adolescent shall
receive intensive family interventions at least twice per month, although it is
recommended that the intensive family interventions be provided at a frequency of
one family therapy session per week. Family involvement begins immediately
upon admission to therapeutic group home. If the minimum requirement cannot be
met, the reasons must be reported, and continued efforts to involve family
members must also be documented. Other family members or supportive adults
may be included as indicated in the plan of care.

(f) Less restrictive treatment options have been considered but cannot yet meet
the individual's treatment needs. There is sufficient current clinical documentation
or evidence to show that therapeutic group home level of care continues to be the
least restrictive level of care that can meet the individual's mental health treatment
needs.

(4) Discharge shall occur if any of the following applies: (i) the level of functioning
has improved with respect to the goals outlined in the plan of care, and the
individual can reasonably be expected to maintain these gains at a lower level of
treatment; (ii) the individual no longer benefits from service as evidenced by
absence of progress toward plan of care goals for a period of 60 days; or (iii) other
less intensive services may achieve stabilization.

d. The following clinical activities shall be required for each therapeutic group
home resident:

(1) An assessment be performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S.

(2) A face-to-face evaluation shall be performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP,
or LMHP-S within 30 calendar days prior to admission with a documented DSM-5
or ICD-10 diagnosis.

(3) A certificate of need shall be completed by an independent certification team
according to the requirements of subdivision D 4 of this section. Recertification
shall occur at least every 60 calendar days by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or
LMHP-S acting within his scope of practice.

(4) An IPOC that is specific to the individual's unique treatment needs and acuity
levels. The IPOC shall be completed on the day of admission by an LMHP, LMHP-
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R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be signed by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP,
or LMHP-S and the individual and a family member or legally authorized
representative. The IPOC shall include all of the following:

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits that would facilitate recovery
and opportunities to develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications indicating the need for
admission;

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual,
(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term goals;

(e) Orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental, and any special health
care needs whether or not provided in the facilities, treatments, restorative and
rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, therapeutic passes, social services,
community integration, diet, and special procedures recommended for the health
and safety of the individual,

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and modification to the plan of care;
and

(9) Plans for discharge.

(5) A CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14 calendar days after admission.
The CIPOC shall meet all of the following criteria:

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes examination of the medical,
psychological, social, behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's
situation and shall reflect the need for therapeutic group home care;

(b) Be based on input from school, home, other health care providers, FAPT if
necessary, the individual, and the family or legal guardian;

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that include measurable short-term and long-
term goals and objectives, with target dates for achievement;

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, and experiences
designed to meet the treatment objectives related to the diagnosis; and

(e) Include a comprehensive discharge plan with necessary, clinically appropriate
community services to ensure continuity of care upon discharge with the
individual's family, school, and community.

(6) The CIPOC shall be reviewed, signed, and dated every 30 calendar days by
the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the individual or a family member
or primary caregiver. Updates shall be signed and dated by the LMHP, LMHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the individual or a family member or legally authorized
representative. The review shall include all of the following:

(a) The individual's response to the services provided;

(b) Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the individual's overall
response to the CIPOC interventions; and

(c) Determinations regarding whether the services being provided continue to be
required.

(7) Crisis management, clinical assessment, and individualized therapy shall be
provided to address both behavioral health and substance use disorder needs as
indicated in the plan of care to address intermittent crises and challenges within
the therapeutic group home setting or community settings as defined in the plan of
care and to avoid a higher level of care.

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14761&replace=yes 11/53



11/24/2020 Virginia Regulatory Town Hall Show XML

(8) Care coordination shall be provided with medical, educational, and other
behavioral health providers and other entities involved in the care and discharge
planning for the individual as included in the plan of care.

(9) Weekly individual therapy shall be provided in the therapeutic group home, or
other settings as appropriate for the individual's needs, by an LMHP, LMHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in progress notes in
accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-60-61.

(10) Weekly (or more frequently if clinically indicated) group therapy shall be
provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be
documented in progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-
60-61 and as planned and documented in the plan of care.

(11) Family treatment shall be provided as clinically indicated, provided by an
LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, and documented in progress notes in
accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-60-61 and as planned and
documented in the plan of care.

(12) Family engagement activities shall be provided in addition to family therapy or
counseling. Family engagement activities shall be provided at least weekly as
outlined in the plan of care, and daily communication with the family or legally
authorized representative shall be part of the family engagement strategies in the
plan of care. For each service authorization period when family engagement is not
possible, the therapeutic group home shall identify and document the specific
barriers to the individual's engagement with the individual's family or legally
authorized representatives. The therapeutic group home shall document on a
weekly basis the reasons why family engagement is not occurring as required.
The therapeutic group home shall document alternative family engagement
strategies to be used as part of the interventions in the plan of care and request
approval of the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family engagement is not
possible, the therapeutic group home shall collaborate with DMAS on a weekly
basis to develop individualized family engagement strategies and document the
revised strategies in the plan of care.

(13) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically indicated in the plan of care
and as paired with facility-based and community-based interventions to promote
discharge planning, community integration, and family engagement activities.

(a) The provider shall document how the family was prepared for the therapeutic
pass to include a review of the plan of care goals and objectives being addressed
by the planned interventions and the safety and crisis plan in effect during the
therapeutic pass.

(b) If a facility staff member does not accompany the individual on the therapeutic
pass and the therapeutic pass exceeds 24 hours, the provider shall make daily
contacts with the family and be available 24 hours per day to address concerns,
incidents, or crises that may arise during the pass.

(c) Contact with the family shall occur within seven calendar days of the
therapeutic pass to discuss the accomplishments and challenges of the
therapeutic pass along with an update on progress toward plan of care goals and
any necessary changes to the plan of care.

(d) Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per individual, per
admission, without authorization as approved by the treating LMHP and
documented in the plan of care. Additional therapeutic passes shall require service
authorization. Any unauthorized therapeutic passes shall result in retraction for
those days of service.
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(14) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and continue throughout the
individual's stay at the therapeutic group home. The family or guardian, the
community services board (CSB), the family assessment and planning team
(FAPT) case manager, and the DMAS contracted care manager shall be involved
in treatment planning and shall identify the anticipated needs of the individual and
family upon discharge and available services in the community. Prior to discharge,
the therapeutic group home shall submit an active and viable discharge plan to the
DMAS contractor for review. Once the DMAS contractor approves the discharge
plan, the provider shall begin actively collaborating with the family or legally
authorized representative and the treatment team to identify behavioral health and
medical providers and schedule appointments for service-specific provider intakes
as needed. The therapeutic group home shall request permission from the parent
or legally authorized representative to share treatment information with these
providers and shall share information pursuant to a valid release. The therapeutic
group home shall request information from post-discharge providers to establish
that the planning of pending services and transition planning activities has begun,
shall establish that the individual has been enrolled in school, and shall provide
individualized education program recommendations to the school if necessary.
The therapeutic group home shall inform the DMAS contractor of all scheduled
appointments within 30 calendar days of discharge and shall notify the DMAS
contractor within one business day of the individual's discharge date from the
therapeutic group home.

(15) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. Facilities that only provide
independent living services or nonclinical services that do not meet the
requirements of this subsection are not eligible for reimbursement.

(16) Therapeutic group home services providers shall be licensed by the
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) under the
Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46).

(17) Individuals shall be discharged from this service when treatment goals are
met or other less intensive services may achieve stabilization.

(18) Services that are based upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-
specific provider intakes or plans of care shall be denied reimbursement.

(19) Therapeutic group home services may only be rendered by and within the
scope of practice of an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a
QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.

(20) The psychiatric residential treatment facility or therapeutic group home shall
coordinate necessary services and discharge planning with other providers as
medically and clinically necessary. Documentation of this care coordination shall
be maintained by the facility or group home in the individual's record. The
documentation shall include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, what
information was transmitted, and recommended next steps.

(21) Failure to perform any of the items described in this subsection shall result in
a retraction of the per diem for each day of noncompliance.

3. PRTF services are a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and medically necessary
out-of-home program designed to provide necessary support and address mental
health, behavioral, substance use, cognitive, or other treatment needs of an
individual younger than 21 years of age in order to prevent or minimize the need
for more inpatient treatment. Active treatment and comprehensive discharge
planning shall begin prior to admission. In order to be covered for individuals
younger than 21 years of age, these services shall (i) meet DMAS-approved
psychiatric medical necessity criteria or be approved as an EPSDT service based
upon a diagnosis made by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who is
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practicing within the scope of his license and (ii) be reflected in provider records
and on the provider's claims for services by recognized diagnosis codes that
support and are consistent with the requested professional services.

a. PRTF services shall be covered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of
mental health and behavioral disorders when such services are rendered by a
psychiatric facility that is not a hospital and is accredited by the Joint Commission
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of
Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and
Children, or by any other accrediting organization with comparable standards that
is recognized by the state.

b. Providers of PRTF services shall be licensed by DBHDS.

c. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the treatment program is fully in
compliance with (i) 42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151 (a)
and (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156 and (ii) the Conditions of
Participation in 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be service
authorized, and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for clinical
necessity.

d. The PRTF benefit for individuals younger than 21 years of age shall include
services defined at 42 CFR 440.160 that are provided under the direction of a
physician pursuant to a certification of medical necessity and plan of care
developed by an interdisciplinary team of professionals and shall involve active
treatment designed to achieve the child's discharge from PRTF services at the
earliest possible time. The PRTF services benefit shall include services provided
under arrangement furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the PRTF,
as long as the PRTF (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of all services, (ii)
maintains all medical records of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures
that the services are furnished under the direction of a physician. Services
provided under arrangement shall be documented by a written referral from the
PRTF. For purposes of pharmacy services, a prescription ordered by an employee
or contractor of the facility who is licensed to prescribe drugs shall be considered
the referral.

e. PRTFs, as defined at 42 CFR 483.352, shall arrange for, maintain records of,
and ensure that physicians order these services: (i) medical and psychological
services, including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental health
professionals, and other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e.,
nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and substance abuse treatment
practitioners); (ii) pharmacy services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; (iv) physical
therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy for individuals with speech, hearing, or
language disorders; (v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) durable medical
equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic services;
(ix) nonemergency transportation services; and (x) emergency services.

f. PRTF services shall include assessment and reassessment; room and board;
daily supervision; combined treatment services; individual, family, and group
therapy; care coordination; interventions; general or special education; medical
treatment (including medication, coordination of necessary medical services, and
24-hour onsite nursing); specialty services; and discharge planning that meets the
medical and clinical needs of the individual.

g. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a PRTF. The following requirements
for severity of need and intensity and quality of service shall be met to satisfy the
medical necessity criteria for admission:

(1) Severity of need required for admission. The following criteria shall be met to
satisfy the criteria for severity of need:
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(a) There is clinical evidence that the individual has a DSM-5 disorder that is
amenable to active psychiatric treatment.

(b) There is a high degree of potential of the condition leading to acute psychiatric
hospitalization in the absence of residential treatment.

(c) Either (i) there is clinical evidence that the individual would be a risk to self or
others if the individual were not in a PRTF or (ii) as a result of the individual's
mental disorder, there is an inability for the individual to adequately care for his
own physical needs, and caretakers, guardians, or family members are unable to
safely fulfill these needs, representing potential serious harm to self.

(d) The individual requires supervision seven days per week, 24 hours per day to
develop skills necessary for daily living; to assist with planning and arranging
access to a range of educational, therapeutic, and aftercare services; and to
develop the adaptive and functional behavior that will allow the individual to live
outside of a PRTF setting.

(e) The individual's current living environment does not provide the support and
access to therapeutic services needed.

(f) The individual is medically stable and does not require the 24-hour medical or
nursing monitoring or procedures provided in a hospital level of care.

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for admission. The following criteria
shall be met to satisfy the criteria for intensity and quality of service:

(a) The evaluation and assignment of a DSM-5 diagnosis must result from a face-
to-face psychiatric evaluation.

(b) The program provides supervision seven days per week, 24 hours per day to
assist with the development of skills necessary for daily living; to assist with
planning and arranging access to a range of educational, therapeutic, and
aftercare services; and to assist with the development of the adaptive and
functional behavior that will allow the individual to live outside of a PRTF setting.

(c) An individualized plan of active psychiatric treatment and residential living
support is provided in a timely manner. This treatment must be medically
monitored, with 24-hour medical availability and 24-hour nursing services
availability. This plan includes (i) at least once-a-week psychiatric reassessments;
(i) intensive family or support system involvement occurring at least once per
week or valid reasons identified as to why such a plan is not clinically appropriate
or feasible; (iii) psychotropic medications, when used, are to be used with specific
target symptoms identified; (iv) evaluation for current medical problems; (v)
evaluation for concomitant substance use issues; and (vi) linkage or coordination
with the individual's community resources, including the local school division and
FAPT case manager, as appropriate, with the goal of returning the individual to his
regular social environment as soon as possible, unless contraindicated. School
contact should address an individualized educational plan as appropriate.

(d) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of admission, when progress is
not occurring, when substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use and
medications may have a potential adverse interaction. After a positive screen,
additional random screens are considered and referral to a substance use
disorder provider is considered.

(3) Criteria for continued stay. The following criteria shall be met to satisfy the
criteria for continued stay:

(a) Despite reasonable therapeutic efforts, clinical evidence indicates at least one
of the following: (i) the persistence of problems that caused the admission to a
degree that continues to meet the admission criteria (both severity of need and
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intensity of service needs); (ii) the emergence of additional problems that meet the
admission criteria (both severity of need and intensity of service needs); or (iii) that
disposition planning or attempts at therapeutic reentry into the community have
resulted in or would result in exacerbation of the psychiatric illness to the degree
that would necessitate continued PRTF treatment. Subjective opinions without
objective clinical information or evidence are not sufficient to meet severity of need
based on justifying the expectation that there would be a decompensation.

(b) There is evidence of objective, measurable, and time-limited therapeutic
clinical goals that must be met before the individual can return to a new or
previous living situation. There is evidence that attempts are being made to secure
timely access to treatment resources and housing in anticipation of discharge, with
alternative housing contingency plans also being addressed.

(c) There is evidence that the plan of care is focused on the alleviation of
psychiatric symptoms and precipitating psychosocial stressors that are interfering
with the individual's ability to return to a less-intensive level of care.

(d) The current or revised plan of care can be reasonably expected to bring about
significant improvement in the problems meeting the criteria in subdivision 3 ¢ (3)
(a) of this subsection, and this is documented in weekly progress notes written and
signed by the provider.

(e) There is evidence of intensive family or support system involvement occurring
at least once per week, unless there is an identified valid reason why it is not
clinically appropriate or feasible.

(f) A discharge plan is formulated that is directly linked to the behaviors or
symptoms that resulted in admission and begins to identify appropriate post-PRTF
resources including the local school division and FAPT case manager as
appropriate.

(g) All applicable elements in admission-intensity and quality of service criteria are
applied as related to assessment and treatment if clinically relevant and
appropriate.

(4) Discharge criteria. Discharge shall occur if any of the following applies: (i) the
level of functioning has improved with respect to the goals outlined in the plan of
care, and the individual can reasonably be expected to maintain these gains at a
lower level of treatment; (ii) the individual no longer benefits from service as
evidenced by absence of progress toward plan of care goals for a period of 30
days; or (iii) other less intensive services may achieve stabilization.

h. The following clinical activities shall be required for each PRTF resident:

(1) A face-to-face assessment shall be performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-
RS, or LMHP-S within 30 calendar days prior to admission and weekly thereafter
and shall document a DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis.

(2) A certificate of need shall be completed by an independent certification team
according to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification shall occur
at least every 30 calendar days by a physician acting within his scope of practice.

(3) The initial plan of care (IPOC) shall be completed within 24 hours of admission
by the treatment team. The IPOC shall include:

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits that would facilitate recovery
and opportunities to develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications indicating the need for
admission;

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14761&replace=yes 16/53



11/24/2020 Virginia Regulatory Town Hall Show XML
(c) A description of the functional level of the individual,

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term goals;

(e) Any orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental, and any special health
care needs, whether or not provided in the facility; education or special education;
treatments; interventions; and restorative and rehabilitative services, activities,
therapies, social services, diet, and special procedures recommended for the
health and safety of the individual;

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and modification to the plan of care;
(g) Plans for discharge; and

(h) Signature and date by the individual, parent, or legally authorized
representative, a physician, and treatment team members.

(4) The CIPOC shall be completed and signed no later than 14 calendar days after
admission by the treatment team. The PRTF shall request authorizations from
families to release confidential information to collect information from medical and
behavioral health treatment providers, schools, FAPT, social services, court
services, and other relevant parties. This information shall be used when
considering changes and updating the CIPOC. The CIPOC shall meet all of the
following criteria:

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes examination of the medical,
psychological, social, behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's
situation and must reflect the need for PRTF care;

(b) Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of physicians and other personnel
specified in subdivision 3 d 4 of this subsection who are employed by or provide
services to the individual in the facility in consultation with the individual, family
member, or legally authorized representative, or appropriate others into whose
care the individual will be released after discharge;

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that shall include measurable, evidence-based,
and short-term and long-term goals and objectives; family engagement activities;
and the design of community-based aftercare with target dates for achievement;

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, interventions, activities, and
experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives related to the individual
and family treatment needs; and

(e) Describe comprehensive transition plans and coordination of current care and
post-discharge plans with related community services to ensure continuity of care
upon discharge with the recipient's family, school, and community.

(5) The CIPOC shall be reviewed every 30 calendar days by the team specified in
subdivision 3 d 4 of this subsection to determine that services being provided are
or were required from a PRTF and to recommend changes in the plan as indicated
by the individual's overall adjustment during the time away from home. The CIPOC
shall include the signature and date from the individual, parent, or legally
authorized representative, a physician, and treatment team members.

(6) Individual therapy shall be provided three times per week (or more frequently
based upon the individual's needs) provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or
LMHP-S and shall be documented in the plan of care and progress notes in
accordance with the requirements in this subsection and 12VAC30-60-61.

(7) Group therapy shall be provided as clinically indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be documented in the plan of care and progress
notes in accordance with the requirements in this subsection.
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(8) Family therapy shall be provided as clinically indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be documented in the plan of care and progress
notes in accordance with the individual and family or legally authorized
representative's goals and the requirements in this subsection.

(9) Family engagement shall be provided in addition to family therapy or
counseling. Family engagement shall be provided at least weekly as outlined in
the plan of care and daily communication with the treatment team representative
and the treatment team representative and the family or legally authorized
representative shall be part of the family engagement strategies in the plan of
care. For each service authorization period when family engagement is not
possible, the PRTF shall identify and document the specific barriers to the
individual's engagement with his family or legally authorized representatives. The
PRTF shall document on a weekly basis the reasons that family engagement is
not occurring as required. The PRTF shall document alternate family engagement
strategies to be used as part of the interventions in the plan of care and request
approval of the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family engagement is not
possible, the PRTF shall collaborate with DMAS on a weekly basis to develop
individualized family engagement strategies and document the revised strategies
in the plan of care.

(10) Three interventions shall be provided per 24-hour period including nights and
weekends. Family engagement activities are considered to be an intervention and
shall occur based on the treatment and visitation goals and scheduling needs of
the family or legally authorized representative. Interventions shall be documented
on a progress note and shall be outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals
and objectives in the plan of care. Any deviation from the plan of care shall be
documented along with a clinical or medical justification for the deviation based on
the needs of the individual.

(11) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically indicated in the plan of care
and as paired with community-based and facility-based interventions to promote
discharge planning, community integration, and family engagement. Therapeutic
passes include activities as listed in subdivision 2 d (13) of this seetior subsection.
Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per individual, per admission,
without authorization as approved by the treating physician and documented in the
plan of care. Additional therapeutic passes shall require service authorization from
DMAS. Any unauthorized therapeutic passes not approved by the provider or
DMAS shall result in retraction for those days of service.

(12) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and continue throughout the
individual's placement at the PRTF. The parent or legally authorized
representative, the community services board (CSB), the family assessment
planning team (FAPT) case manager, if appropriate, and the DMAS contracted
care manager shall be involved in treatment planning and shall identify the
anticipated needs of the individual and family upon discharge and identify the
available services in the community. Prior to discharge, the PRTF shall submit an
active discharge plan to the DMAS contractor for review. Once the DMAS
contractor approves the discharge plan, the provider shall begin collaborating with
the parent or legally authorized representative and the treatment team to identify
behavioral health and medical providers and schedule appointments for service-
specific provider intakes as needed. The PRTF shall request written permission
from the parent or legally authorized representative to share treatment information
with these providers and shall share information pursuant to a valid release. The
PRTF shall request information from post-discharge providers to establish that the
planning of services and activities has begun, shall establish that the individual
has been enrolled in school, and shall provide individualized education program
recommendations to the school if necessary. The PRTF shall inform the DMAS
contractor of all scheduled appointments within 30 calendar days of discharge and
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shall notify the DMAS contractor within one business day of the individual's
discharge date from the PRTF.

(13) Failure to perform any of the items as described in subdivisions 3 h (1)
through 3 h (12) of this subsection up until the discharge of the individual shall
result in a retraction of the per diem and all other contracted and coordinated
service payments for each day of noncompliance.

i. The team developing the CIPOC shall meet the following requirements:

(1) At least one member of the team must have expertise in pediatric behavioral
health. Based on education and experience, preferably including competence in
child or adolescent psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of the following:
assessing the individual's immediate and long-range therapeutic needs,
developmental priorities, and personal strengths and liabilities; assessing the
potential resources of the individual's family or legally authorized representative;
setting treatment objectives; and prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the
CIPOC's objectives.

(2) The team shall include one of the following:
(a) A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;

(b) A licensed clinical psychologist and a physician licensed to practice medicine
or osteopathy; or

(c) A physician licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy with specialized
training and experience in the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases and a
licensed clinical psychologist.

(3) The team shall also include one of the following: an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee,
LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP.

4. Requirements for independent certification teams applicable to both therapeutic
group homes and PRTFs:

a. The independent certification team shall certify the need for PRTF or
therapeutic group home services and issue a certificate of need document within
the process and timeliness standards as approved by DMAS under contractual
agreement with the DMAS contractor.

b. The independent certification team shall be approved by DMAS through a
memorandum of understanding with a locality or be approved under contractual
agreement with the DMAS contractor. The team shall initiate and coordinate
referral to the family assessment and planning team (FAPT) as defined in §§ 2.2-
5207 and 2.2-5208 of the Code of Virginia to facilitate care coordination and for
consideration of educational coverage and other supports not covered by DMAS.

c. The independent certification team shall assess the individual's and family's
strengths and needs in addition to diagnoses, behaviors, and symptoms that
indicate the need for behavioral health treatment and also consider whether local
resources and community-based care are sufficient to meet the individual's
treatment needs, as presented within the previous 30 calendar days, within the
least restrictive environment.

d. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP, as part of the
independent certification team, shall meet with an individual and the individual's
parent or legally authorized representative within two business days from a
request to assess the individual's needs and begin the process to certify the need
for an out-of-home placement.
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e. The independent certification team shall meet with an individual and the
individual's parent or legally authorized representative within 10 business days
from a request to certify the need for an out-of-home placement.

f. The independent certification team shall assess the treatment needs of the
individual to issue a certificate of need (CON) for the most appropriate medically
necessary services. The certification shall include the dated signature and
credentials for each of the team members who rendered the certification. Referring
or treatment providers shall not actively participate during the certification process
but may provide supporting clinical documentation to the certification team.

g. The CON shall be effective for 30 calendar days prior to admission.

h. The independent certification team shall provide the completed CON to the
facility within one calendar day of completing the CON.

i. The individual and the individual's parent or legally authorized representative
shall have the right to freedom of choice of service providers.

j- If the individual or the individual's parent or legally authorized representative
disagrees with the independent certification team's recommendation, the parent or
legally authorized representative may appeal the recommendation in accordance
with 12VAC30-110.

k. If the LMHP, as part of the independent certification team, determines that the
individual is in immediate need of treatment, the LMHP shall refer the individual to
an appropriate Medicaid-enrolled crisis intervention provider, crisis stabilization
provider, or inpatient psychiatric provider in accordance with 12VAC30-50-226 or
shall refer the individual for emergency admission to a PRTF or therapeutic group
home under subdivision 4 m of this subsection and shall also alert the individual's
managed care organization.

I. For individuals who are already eligible for Medicaid at the time of admission, the
independent certification team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with
competence in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness, preferably in child
psychiatry, and have knowledge of the individual's situation and service availability
in the individual's local service area. The team shall be composed of at least one
physician and one LMHP, including LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP. An
individual's parent or legally authorized representative shall be included in the
certification process.

m. For emergency admissions, an assessment must be made by the team
responsible for the comprehensive individual plan of care (CIPOC).
Reimbursement shall only occur when a certificate of need is issued by the team
responsible for the CIPOC within 14 calendar days after admission. The
certification shall cover any period of time after admission and before claims are
made for reimbursement by Medicaid. After processing an emergency admission,
the therapeutic group home, PRTF, or institution for mental diseases (IMD) shall
notify the DMAS contractor within five calendar days of the individual's status as
being under the care of the facility.

n. For all individuals who apply and become eligible for Medicaid while an inpatient
in a facility or program, the certification team shall refer the case to the DMAS
contractor for referral to the local FAPT to facilitate care coordination and
consideration of educational coverage and other supports not covered by DMAS.

o. For individuals who apply and become eligible for Medicaid while an inpatient in
the facility or program, the certification shall be made by the team responsible for
the CIPOC and shall cover any period of time before the application for Medicaid
eligibility for which claims are made for reimbursement by Medicaid. Upon the
individual's enroliment into the Medicaid program, the therapeutic group home,
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PRTF, or IMD shall notify the DMAS contractor of the individual's status as being
under the care of the facility within five calendar days of the individual becoming
eligible for Medicaid benefits.

5. Service authorization requirements applicable to both therapeutic group homes
and PRTFs:

a. Authorization shall be required and shall be conducted by DMAS using medical
necessity criteria specified in this subsection.

b. An individual shall have a valid psychiatric diagnosis and meet the medical
necessity criteria as defined in this subsection to satisfy the criteria for admission.
The diagnosis shall be current, as documented within the past 12 months. If a
current diagnosis is not available, the individual will require a mental health
evaluation prior to admission by an LMHP affiliated with the independent
certification team to establish a diagnosis and recommend and coordinate referral
to the available treatment options.

c. At authorization, an initial length of stay shall be agreed upon by the individual

and parent or legally authorized representative with the treating provider, and the

treating provider shall be responsible for evaluating and documenting evidence of
treatment progress, assessing the need for ongoing out-of-home placement, and

obtaining authorization for continued stay.

d. Information that is required to obtain authorization for these services shall
include:

(1) A completed state-designated uniform assessment instrument approved by
DMAS;

(2) A certificate of need completed by an independent certification team specifying
all of the following:

(a) The ambulatory care and Medicaid or FAPT-funded services available in the
community do not meet the specific treatment needs of the individual;

(b) Alternative community-based care was not successful;

(c) Proper treatment of the individual's psychiatric condition requires services in a
24-hour supervised setting under the direction of a physician; and

(d) The services can reasonably be expected to improve the individual's condition
or prevent further regression so that a more intensive level of care will not be
needed;

(3) Diagnosis as defined in the DSM-5 and based on (i) an evaluation by a
psychiatrist or LMHP that has been completed within 30 calendar days of
admission or (ii) a diagnosis confirmed in writing by an LMHP after review of a
previous evaluation completed within one year of admission;

(4) A description of the individual's behavior during the seven calendar days
immediately prior to admission;

(5) A description of alternate placements and community mental health and
rehabilitation services and traditional behavioral health services pursued and
attempted and the outcomes of each service;

(6) The individual's level of functioning and clinical stability;
(7) The level of family involvement and supports available; and

(8) The initial plan of care (IPOC).
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6. Continued stay criteria requirements applicable to both therapeutic group
homes and PRTFs. For a continued stay authorization or a reauthorization to
occur, the individual shall meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this
subsection to satisfy the criteria for continuing care. The length of the authorized
stay shall be determined by DMAS. A current plan of care and a current (within 30
calendar days) summary of progress related to the goals and objectives of the
plan of care shall be submitted to DMAS for continuation of the service. The
service provider shall also submit:

a. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no more than 30 business
days prior to the date of submission;

b. Documentation that the required services have been provided as defined in the
plan of care;

c. Current (within the last 14 calendar days) information on progress related to the
achievement of all treatment and discharge-related goals; and

d. A description of the individual's continued impairment and treatment needs,
problem behaviors, family engagement activities, community-based discharge
planning and care coordination, and need for a residential level of care.

7. EPSDT services requirements applicable to therapeutic group homes and
PRTFs. Service limits may be exceeded based on medical necessity for
individuals eligible for EPSDT. EPSDT services may involve service modalities not
available to other individuals, such as applied behavioral analysis and neuro-
rehabilitative services. Individualized services to address specific clinical needs
identified in an EPSDT screening shall require authorization by a DMAS
contractor. In unique EPSDT cases, DMAS may authorize specialized services
beyond the standard therapeutic group home or PRTF medical necessity criteria
and program requirements, as medically and clinically indicated to ensure the
most appropriate treatment is available to each individual. Treating service

providers authorized to deliver medically necessary EPSDT services in therapeutic

group homes and PRTFs on behalf of a Medicaid-enrolled individual shall adhere
to the individualized interventions and evidence-based progress measurement
criteria described in the plan of care and approved for reimbursement by DMAS.
All documentation, independent certification team, family engagement activity,
therapeutic pass, and discharge planning requirements shall apply to cases
approved as EPSDT PRTF or therapeutic group home service.

8. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for individuals younger than 21
years of age for medically necessary stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities
described in 42 CFR 440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of diagnosis and
treatment of mental health and behavioral disorders identified under EPSDT when
such services meet the requirements set forth in subdivision 7 of this subsection.

a. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided under the direction of a
physician.

b. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided by (i) a psychiatric hospital that
undergoes a state survey to determine whether the hospital meets the
requirements for participation in Medicare as a psychiatric hospital as specified in
42 CFR 482.60 or is accredited by a national organization whose psychiatric
hospital accrediting program has been approved by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS); or (ii) a hospital with an inpatient psychiatric program
that undergoes a state survey to determine whether the hospital meets the
requirements for participation in Medicare as a hospital, as specified in 42 CFR
part 482 or is accredited by a national accrediting organization whose hospital
accrediting program has been approved by CMS.
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c. Inpatient psychiatric admissions at general acute care hospitals and
freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of
12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-25.

d. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the treatment program is fully in
compliance with (i) 42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151(a)
and 42 CFR 441.151 (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156 and (ii)
the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission
must be service authorized and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for
clinical necessity.

e. The inpatient psychiatric benefit for individuals younger than 21 years of age
shall include services that are provided pursuant to a certification of medical
necessity and plan of care developed by an interdisciplinary team of professionals
and shall involve active treatment designed to achieve the individual's discharge
from inpatient status at the earliest possible time. The inpatient psychiatric benefit
shall include services provided under arrangement furnished by Medicaid enrolled
providers other than the inpatient psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient
psychiatric facility (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of all services, (ii)
maintains all medical records of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures
that the services are furnished under the direction of a physician. Services
provided under arrangement shall be documented by a written referral from the
inpatient psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy services, a prescription
ordered by an employee or contractor of the inpatient psychiatric facility who is
licensed to prescribe drugs shall be considered the referral.

f. State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, maintain records of,
and ensure that physicians order pharmacy services and emergency services.
Private freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, maintain records of,
and ensure that physicians order the following services: (i) medical and
psychological services including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental
health professionals, and other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e.,
nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and substance abuse treatment
practitioners); (ii) outpatient hospital services; (iii) physical therapy, occupational
therapy, and therapy for individuals with speech, hearing, or language disorders;
(iv) laboratory and radiology services; (v) vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery,
and orthodontic services; (vii) nonemergency transportation services; and (viii)
emergency services. (Emergency services means the same as is set forth in
12VAC30-50-310 B.)

E. Mental health family support partners.

1. Mental health family support partners are peer recovery support services and
are nonclinical, peer-to-peer activities that engage, educate, and support the
caregiver and an individual's self-help efforts to improve health recovery resiliency
and wellness. Mental health family support partners is a peer support service and
is a strength-based, individualized service provided to the caregiver of a Medicaid-
eligible individual younger than 21 years of age with a mental health disorder that
is the focus of support. The services provided to the caregiver and individual must
be directed exclusively toward the benefit of the Medicaid-eligible individual.
Services are expected to improve outcomes for individuals younger than 21 years
of age with complex needs who are involved with multiple systems and increase
the individual's and family's confidence and capacity to manage their own services
and supports while promoting recovery and healthy relationships. These services
are rendered by a PRS who is (i) a parent of a minor or adult child with a similar
mental health disorder or (ii) an adult with personal experience with a family
member with a similar mental health disorder with experience navigating
behavioral health care services. The PRS shall perform the service within the
scope of his knowledge, lived experience, and education.
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2. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP making the recommendation for
mental health family support partners, the peer recovery specialist in consultation
with his direct supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan
based on the LMHP's recommendation for service, the individual's and the
caregiver's perceived recovery needs, and any clinical assessments or service
specific provider intakes as defined in this section within 30 calendar days of the
initiation of service. Development of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan
shall include collaboration with the individual and the individual's caregiver.
Individualized goals and strategies shall be focused on the individual's identified
needs for self-advocacy and recovery. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan
shall also include documentation of how many days per week and how many
hours per week are required to carry out the services in order to meet the goals of
the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall be completed, signed,
and dated by the LMHP, the PRS, the direct supervisor, the individual, and the
individual's caregiver within 30 calendar days of the initiation of service. The PRS
shall act as an advocate for the individual, encouraging the individual and the
caregiver to take a proactive role in developing and updating goals and objectives
in the individualized recovery planning.

3. Documentation of required activities shall be required as set forth in 12VAC30-
130-5200 A, C, and E through J.

4. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall be the same as set forth in
12VAC30-130-5210.

5. Caregivers of individuals younger than 21 years of age who qualify to receive
mental health family support partners shall (i) care for an individual with a mental
health disorder who requires recovery assistance and (ii) meet two or more of the
following:

a. Individual and his caregiver need peer-based recovery-oriented services for the
maintenance of wellness and the acquisition of skills needed to support the
individual.

b. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to develop self-advocacy skills to
assist the individual in achieving self-management of the individual's health status.

c. Individual and his caregiver need assistance and support to prepare the
individual for a successful work or school experience.

d. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to help the individual and caregiver
assume responsibility for recovery.

6. Individuals 18, 19, and 20 years of age who meet the medical necessity criteria
in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 e, who would benefit from receiving peer supports directly
and who choose to receive mental health peer support services directly instead of
through their caregiver, shall be permitted to receive mental health peer support
services by an appropriate PRS.

7. To qualify for continued mental health family support partners, medical
necessity criteria shall continue to be met, and progress notes shall document the
status of progress relative to the goals identified in the recovery, resiliency, and
wellness plan.

8. Discharge criteria from mental health family support partners shall be the same
as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5180 E.

9. Mental health family support partners services shall be rendered on an
individual basis or in a group.

10. Prior to service initiation, a documented recommendation for mental health
family support partners services shall be made by a licensed mental health
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professional (LMHP) who is acting within his scope of practice under state law.
The recommendation shall verify that the individual meets the medical necessity
criteria set forth in subdivision 5 of this subsection. The recommendation shall be
valid for no longer than 30 calendar days.

11. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist shall have the qualifications,
education, experience, and certification required by DBHDS in order to be eligible
to register with the Virginia Board of Counseling on or after July 1, 2018. Upon the
promulgation of regulations by the Board of Counseling, registration of peer
recovery specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. The PRS shall
perform mental health family support partners services under the oversight of the
LMHP making the recommendation for services and providing the clinical
oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan.

12. The PRS shall be employed by or have a contractual relationship with the
enrolled provider licensed for one of the following:

a. Acute care general and emergency department hospital services licensed by
the Department of Health.

b. Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient psychiatric unit licensed by the
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services.

c. Psychiatric residential treatment facility licensed by the Department of
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services.

d. Therapeutic group home licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services.

e. Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by the Department of
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services.

f. Outpatient psychiatric services provider.

g. A community mental health and rehabilitative services provider licensed by the
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services as a provider of
one of the following community mental health and rehabilitative services as
defined in this section, 12VAC30-50-226, 12VAC30-50-420, or 12VAC30-50-430
for which the individual younger than 21 years meets medical necessity criteria: (i)
intensive in home; (ii) therapeutic day treatment; (iii) day treatment or partial
hospitalization; (iv) crisis intervention; (v) crisis stabilization; (vi) mental health skill
building; or (vii) mental health case management.

13. Only the licensed and enrolled provider as referenced in subdivision 12 of this
subsection shall be eligible to bill and receive reimbursement from DMAS for
mental health family support partner services. Payments shall not be permitted to
providers that fail to enter into an enroliment agreement with DMAS.
Reimbursement shall be subject to retraction for any billed service that is
determined not to be in compliance with DMAS requirements.

14. Supervision of the PRS shall meet the requirements set forth in 12VAC30-50-
226 B 7 1.

F. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger than 21 years of age
according to medical necessity when provided by practitioners licensed to engage
in the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of Virginia.

G. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be covered under EPSDT
consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 et seq.

H. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-directed personal care
services consistent with the requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935.
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|. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for individuals younger than 21
years of age.

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in this subsection shall
have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Behavioral therapy" means systematic interventions provided by licensed
practitioners acting within the scope of practice defined under a Virginia
Department of Health Professions regulatory board and covered as remedial care
under 42 CFR 440.130(d) to individuals younger than 21 years of age. Behavioral
therapy includes applied behavioral analysis. Family training related to the
implementation of the behavioral therapy shall be included as part of the
behavioral therapy service. Behavioral therapy services shall be subject to clinical
reviews and determined as medically necessary. Behavioral therapy may be
provided in the individual's home and community settings as deemed by DMAS as
medically necessary treatment.

"Counseling" means a professional mental health service that can only be
provided by a person holding a license issued by a health regulatory board at the
Department of Health Professions, which includes conducting assessments,
making diagnoses of mental disorders and conditions, establishing treatment
plans, and determining treatment interventions.

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 years of age who is
receiving behavioral therapy services.

"Primary care provider" means a licensed medical practitioner who provides
preventive and primary health care and is responsible for providing routine EPSDT
screening and referral and coordination of other medical services needed by the
individual.

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be designed to enhance communication skills
and decrease maladaptive patterns of behavior, which if left untreated, could lead
to more complex problems and the need for a greater or a more intensive level of
care. The service goal shall be to ensure the individual's family or caregiver is
trained to effectively manage the individual's behavior in the home using
modification strategies. All services shall be provided in accordance with the ISP
and clinical assessment summary.

3. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered when recommended by the
individual's primary care provider or other licensed physician, licensed physician
assistant, or licensed nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS to be medically
necessary to correct or ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities
that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, or mental disabilities.
Criteria for medical necessity are set out in 12VAC30-60-61 F. Service-specific
provider intakes shall be required at the onset of these services in order to receive
authorization for reimbursement. Individual service plans (ISPs) shall be required
throughout the entire duration of services. The services shall be provided in
accordance with the individual service plan and clinical assessment summary.
These services shall be provided in settings that are natural or normal for a child
or adolescent without a disability, such as the individual's home, unless there is
justification in the ISP, which has been authorized for reimbursement, to include
service settings that promote a generalization of behaviors across different
settings to maintain the targeted functioning outside of the treatment setting in the
individual's home and the larger community within which the individual resides.
Covered behavioral therapy services shall include:

a. Initial and periodic service-specific provider intake as defined in 12VAC30-60-61
F;
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b. Development of initial and updated ISPs as established in 12VAC30-60-61 F;

c. Clinical supervision activities. Requirements for clinical supervision are set out
in 12VAC30-60-61 F;

d. Behavioral training to increase the individual's adaptive functioning and
communication skills;

e. Training a family member in behavioral modification methods as established in
12VAC30-60-61 F;

f. Documentation and analysis of quantifiable behavioral data related to the
treatment objectives; and

g. Care coordination.

4. All personal care services rendered to children under the authority of 42 CFR
440.40(b)_shall comply with the requirements of 12VAC30-60-65 with regard to
electronic visit verification.

J. School health services.
1. School health assistant services are repealed effective July 1, 2006.

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child screening services under the
State Plan. Diagnostic and treatment services that are otherwise covered under
early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, shall not be
covered for school divisions. School divisions to receive reimbursement for the
screenings shall be enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers.

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall receive screenings from
those organizations. School divisions shall not receive reimbursement for
screenings from DMAS for these children.

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's individualized education
program (IEP) and covered under one or more of the service categories described
in § 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are necessary to correct or
ameliorate defects of physical or mental illnesses or conditions.

3. Providers shall be licensed under the applicable state practice act or
comparable licensing criteria by the Virginia Department of Education, and shall
meet applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. Identification of defects,
illnesses or conditions, and services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall
be performed by practitioners qualified to make those determinations within their
licensed scope of practice, either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified
practitioner outside the IEP team.

a. Providers shall be employed by the school division or under contract to the
school division.

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in subdivision 4 of this
subsection shall occur as allowed under federal regulations and consistent with
Virginia law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall be delivered by
school providers, but may also be available in the community from other providers.

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization control as provided under
42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services described in subdivision 4
of this subsection are medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is in
accordance with standards of medical practice. Medical necessity is defined as
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services ordered by IEP providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid
providers to make the medical necessity determination in accordance with their
scope of practice. The services must be described as to the amount, duration and
scope.

4. Covered services include:

a. Physical therapy and occupational therapy and services for individuals with
speech, hearing, and language disorders, performed by, or under the direction of,
providers who meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This coverage
includes audiology services.

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 440.60. These services are
to be rendered in accordance to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia
Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by licensed registered
nurses or licensed practical nurses but may be delegated by licensed registered
nurses in accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of Nursing,
especially the section on delegation of nursing tasks and procedures. The licensed
practical nurse is under the supervision of a registered nurse.

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a level of complexity and
sophistication (based on assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation)
that is consistent with skilled nursing services when performed by a licensed
registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall
include dressing changes, maintaining patent airways, medication administration
or monitoring, and urinary catheterizations.

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and specifically related to an active,
written plan of care developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written
order from a physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner for skilled nursing
services. This order shall be recertified on an annual basis.

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by licensed practitioners
within the scope of practice are defined under state law or regulations and covered
as physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or other remedial care
under 42 CFR 440.60. These outpatient services include individual medical
psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, and family medical
psychotherapy. Psychological and neuropsychological testing are allowed when
done for purposes other than educational diagnosis, school admission, evaluation
of an individual with intellectual or developmental disability prior to admission to a
nursing facility, or any placement issue. These services are covered in the
nonschool settings also. School providers who may render these services when
licensed by the state include psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school
psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, professional counselors, psychiatric
clinical nurse specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school social
workers.

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 440.167 and performed by
persons qualified under this subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised
by a DMAS recognized school-based health professional who is acting within the
scope of licensure. This professional develops a written plan for meeting the
needs of the individual, which is implemented by the assistant. The assistant must
have qualifications comparable to those for other personal care aides recognized
by the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services. The assistant
performs services such as assisting with toileting, ambulation, and eating. The
assistant may serve as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that enables
transportation to or from the school or school contracted provider on days when
the student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Individuals
requiring an aide during transportation on a specially adapted vehicle shall have
this stated in the IEP.
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e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' services under 42 CFR
440.50 or as medical or other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons
performing these services shall be licensed physicians, physician assistants, or
nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall identify the nature or extent of an
individual's medical or other health related condition.

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 431.53 and described at
State Plan Attachment 3.1-D (12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered
only by school division personnel or contractors. Transportation is covered for an
individual who requires transportation on a specially adapted school vehicle that
enables transportation to or from the school or school contracted provider on days
when the individual is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP.
Transportation shall be listed in the individual's IEP. Individuals requiring an aide
during transportation on a specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the
IEP.

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or reassess the need for
medical services in an individual's IEP and shall be performed by any of the above
licensed practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments and
reassessments not tied to medical needs of the individual shall not be covered.

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review that duplication of
services will be monitored. School divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if
an individual is receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that there will be
coordination of services to avoid duplication of service.

K. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of child-bearing age.

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or performed within the
scope of the license of a practitioner of the healing arts.

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those services that delay or
prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such services shall not include services to treat
infertility or services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall not cover
payment for abortion services and no funds shall be used to perform, assist,
encourage, or make direct referrals for abortions.

3. Family planning services as established by § 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social
Security Act include annual family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for
women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab services for family
planning and STI testing; family planning education, counseling, and
preconception health; sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a
family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved
prescription and over-the-counter contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-
210.

12VAC30-60-65 Electronic visit verification
A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in this section shall have
the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Aide" means the person who is employed by an agency to provide hands-on
care.

"Agency-directed services" means a model of service delivery where an agency is
responsible for providing direct support staff, for maintaining an individual's
records, and for scheduling the dates and times of the direct support staff's
presence in the individual's home for personal care services, respite care services,
and companion services.

"Attendant” means the person who is hired by the individual consumer to provide
hands-on care.
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"Companion services" means nonmedical care, supervision, and socialization
provided to an adult individual (ages 18 years and older). The provision of
companion services shall not entail hands-on care but shall be provided in
accordance with a therapeutic goal in the individual support plan and is not purely
diversional in nature.

"Consumer-directed attendant" means a person who provides consumer-directed
personal care services, respite care services, companion services, or any
combination of these three services, who is also exempt from workers'
compensation.

"Consumer-directed services" or "CD services" means the model of service
delivery for which the individual enrolled in the waiver or the individual's employer
of record, as appropriate, is responsible for hiring, training, supervising, and firing
of an attendant who renders the services that are reimbursed by DMAS.

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance Services.

"Electronic visit verification" or "EVV" means a system by which personal care
services, companion services, or respite care services home visits are
electronically verified with respect to (i) the type of service performed, (ii) the
individual receiving the service, (iii) the date of the service, (iv) the location of
service delivery, (v) the individual providing the service, and (vi) the time the
service begins and ends.

"Individual" means the person who has applied for and been approved to receive
services for which EVV is required.

"Personal care services" means a range of support services that includes
assistance with activities of daily living and instrumental activities of daily living,
access to the community, and self-administration of medication or other medical
needs and the monitoring of health status and physical condition provided through
the agency-directed or consumer-directed model of service. Personal care
services shall be provided by a personal care attendant or aide within the scope of
the attendant's or aide's license or certification, as appropriate.

"Respite care services" means services provided to waiver individuals who are
unable to care for themselves that are furnished on a short-term basis because of
the absence of or need for the relief of the unpaid primary caregiver who normally
provides the care.

B. Applicable services. All of the requirements for an electronic visit verification
system shall apply to all providers, both agency-directed and consumer-directed,
of personal care services, respite care services, and companion services, unless
exempt under Section C, below.

1. Agency providers shall choose the EVV system that best suits the provider
business model, meets regulatory requirements established in this section, and
provides reliable functionality for the geographic area in which it is to be used.

2. For consumer-directed services, the DMAS designee (the fiscal employer
agent) shall select and operate an EVV system to support an individual, or the
employer of record, in managing the individual's care, meeting regulatory
requirements established in this section, and providing reliable functionality for the
geographic area in which it is to be used.

3. Providers of consumer-directed personal care services, respite care services,
and companion services shall comply with all EVV requirements.

4. Providers of agency-directed personal care services, respite care services, and
companion services shall comply with all EVV requirements.
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5. Individuals shall not be restricted from receiving a combination of agency-
directed and consumer-directed services. Nothing in this section shall be
construed to limit personal care, respite care, or companion services; an
individual's selection of a provider attendant or aide; or impede the manner or
location in which services are delivered subject to subsection C of this section.

C. The following entities and individuals shall be exempt from EVV requirements:

1. A DBHDS-licensed provider in a DBHDS-licensed program site, such as a
group home or sponsored residential home or a supervised living, supported
living, or similar facility or location licensed to provide respite care services;

2. The Regional Educational Assessment Crisis Response and Habilitation
(REACH) Program;

3. Schools where personal care services are rendered under the authority of an
individual education program; and

4. Live-in caregivers.

D. System requirements.

1. The EVV system shall be capable of capturing required data in real time and
producing such data as requested by DMAS in electronic format. The following
information shall be retained:

a. The type of the service being performed;

b. The individual who receives the service;

c. The date of the service, including month, day, and year;

d. The time the service begins and ends;

e. The location of the service delivery at the beginning and the end of the service.
EVV systems shall not restrict locations where individuals may receive services;
and

f. The attendant or aide who provides the service.

2. In the event the time of service delivery needs to be adjusted, the start or end
time may be modified by someone who has the provider's authority to adjust the
aide's or attendant's hours.

a. For agency-directed providers, this may be a supervisor or the agency owner or
a designee who has authority to make independent verifications. In no case shall
workers be allowed to adjust a peer worker's reported time.

b. For consumer-directed attendants, the fiscal employer agent shall have this
authority.
3. All EVV systems shall be compliant with the requirements of the American with

Disabilities Act (42 USC § 12101 et seq.) and Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act of 1996 (P.L. 104-191).

4. All EVV systems shall employ electronic devices that are capable of recording
the required data described in subdivision D 1 of this section, producing it upon
demand, and safeguarding the data both physically and electronically.

5. All EVV systems shall be accessible for input or service delivery 24 hours per
day, seven days per week.

6. All EVV systems shall provide for data backups in the event of emergencies;
disasters, natural or otherwise; and system malfunctions, both in the location
services are being delivered and the backup server location.
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7. All EVV systems shall be capable of handling:

a. Multiple work shifts per day per individual or aide or attendant combination;

b. Aides or attendants who work for multiple individuals;

c. Individuals who use multiple aides or attendants;

d. Multiple individuals and multiple aides or attendants or both in the same location
at the same time and date. In such situations, the EVV shall be capable of
separately documenting the services, as well as the other elements set out in
subdivision D 1 of this section, that are provided to each individual; and

e. At minimum, daily backups of the most recent data that has been entered.

8. All EVV systems shall be capable of electronically transmitting information to
DMAS in the required format or electronically transferring it to the provider's billing

system.

E. EVV data shall be submitted to DMAS with the provider's billing claim, in a
manner

that conforms with agency specifications.

F. Agency-directed provider records, audits, and reports.

1. Providers shall select and obtain an EVV system that meets the functional
requirements of DMAS or its designee.

2. All providers shall retain EVV data for at least six years from the last date of
service or as provided by applicable federal and state laws, whichever period is
longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the required retention period, the
records shall be retained until the audit is completed and every exception is
resolved. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even if the provider
discontinues operation.

a. In the event a provider discontinues services, DMAS shall be notified in writing
of the storage location and procedures for obtaining records for review should the
need arise.

b. The location, agent, or trustee shall be within the Commonwealth.

3. All providers shall retain records of minor individuals for at least six years after
such minor individual has reached 18 years of age.

4. All providers shall produce their archived EVV data in a timely manner and in an
electronic format when requested by DMAS or its designee.

5. In the event that a telephone or other verification option that the provider uses is
not available or accessible in the individual's home or location, and delayed data
input is utilized, the provider shall have information on file documenting the reason
that the aide or attendant did not use EVV for the service delivered.

12VAC30-120-766 Personal care and respite care services
A. Service description. Services may be provided either through an agency-
directed or consumer-directed model.

1. Personal care services means services offered to individuals in their homes and
communities to enable an individual to maintain the health status and functional
skills necessary to live in the community or participate in community activities.
Personal care services substitute for the absence, loss, diminution, or impairment
of a physical, behavioral, or cognitive function. This service shall provide care to
individuals with activities of daily living (eating, drinking, personal hygiene,
toileting, transferring, and bewel/bladder bowel or bladder control), instrumental
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activities of daily living (IADL), access to the community, monitoring of self-
medication or other medical needs, and the monitoring of health status or physical
condition. In order to receive personal care services, the individual must require
assistance with their ADLs. When specified in the plan of care, personal care
services may include assistance with IADL. Assistance with IADL must be
essential to the health and welfare of the individual, rather than the

individual's family/earegiver family or caregiver. An additional component to
personal care is work or school-related personal care. This allows the personal
care provider to provide assistance and supports for individuals in the workplace
and for those individuals attending postsecondary educational institutions.
Workplace or school supports through the IFDDS Waiver are not provided if they
are services that should be provided by DARS, under IDEA, or if they are an
employer's responsibility under the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Virginians
with Disabilities Act, or § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. Work-related personal care
services cannot duplicate services provided under supported employment.

2. Respite care means services provided for unpaid caregivers of eligible
individuals who are unable to care for themselves that are provided on an episodic
or routine basis because of the absence of or need for relief of those unpaid
persons who routinely provide the care.

3. Both agency-directed and consumer-directed personal care services and
respite care services shall be subject to the requirements of electronic visit
verification set out in 12VAC30-60-65.

B. Criteria.

1. In order to qualify for personal care services, the individual must demonstrate a
need in activities of daily living, reminders to take medication, or other medical
needs, or monitoring health status or physical condition.

2. In order to qualify for respite care, individuals must have an unpaid primary
caregiver who requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the
individual.

3. Individuals choosing the consumer-directed option must receive support from a
CD services facilitator and meet requirements for consumer direction as described
in 12VAC30-120-770.

C. Service units and service limitations.
1. The unit of service is one hour.

2. Effective July 1, 2011, respite care services are limited to a maximum of 480
hours per year. Individuals who are receiving services through both the agency-
directed and consumer-directed models cannot exceed 480 hours per year
combined.

3. Individuals may have personal care, respite care, and in-home residential
support services in their plan of care but cannot receive in-home residential
supports and personal care or respite care services at the same time.

4. Each individual receiving personal care services must have a back-up plan in
case the personal care aide or consumer-directed (CD) employee does not show
up for work as expected or terminates employment without prior notice.

5. Individuals must need assistance with ADLs in order to receive IADL care
through personal care services.

6. Individuals shall be permitted to share personal care service hours with one
other individual (receiving waiver services) who lives in the same home.
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7. This service does not include skilled nursing services with the exception of
skilled nursing tasks that may be delegated in accordance with 18VAC90-20-420
through 18VAC90-20-460.

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general conditions and
requirements for home and community-based care participating providers as
specified in 12VAC30-120-730 and 12VAC30-120-740, personal and respite care
providers must meet the following provider requirements:

1. Services shall be provided by:

a. For the agency-directed model, a DMAS enrolled personal care/respite care
provider or by a DBHDS-licensed residential supportive in-home provider. All
personal care aides must pass an objective standardized test of knowledge, skills,
and abilities approved by DBHDS and administered according to DBHDS' defined
procedures.

Providers must demonstrate a prior successful health care delivery business and
operate from a business office.

b. For the consumer-directed model, a service facilitation provider meeting the
requirements found in 12VAC30-120-770.

2. For DBHDS-licensed providers, a residential supervisor shall provide ongoing
supervision for all personal care aides. For DMAS-enrolled personal care/respite
care providers, the provider must employ or subcontract with and directly
supervise an RN who will provide ongoing supervision of all aides. The
supervising RN must be currently licensed to practice in the Commonwealth and
have at least two years of related clinical nursing experience that may include
work in an acute care hospital, public health clinic, home health agency, ICF/IID, or
nursing facility.

3. The RN supervisor or case manager/services facilitator must make a home visit
to conduct an initial assessment prior to the start of care for all individuals
requesting services. The RN supervisor or case manager/service facilitator must
also perform any subsequent reassessments or changes to the supporting
documentation. Under the consumer-directed model, the initial comprehensive
visit is done only once upon the individual's entry into the service. If an individual
served under the waiver changes CD services facilitation agencies, the new CD
services facilitation provider must bill for a reassessment in lieu of a
comprehensive visit.

4. The RN supervisor or case manager/services facilitator must make supervisory
visits as often as needed to ensure both quality and appropriateness of services.

a. For personal care the minimum frequency of these visits is every 30 to 90
calendar days depending on individual needs. For respite care offered on a routine
basis, the minimum frequency of these visits is every 30 to 90 calendar days
under the agency-directed model and every six months or upon the use of 240
respite care hours (whichever comes first) under the consumer-directed model.

b. Under the agency-directed model, when respite care services are not received
on a routine basis, but are episodic in nature, the RN is not required to conduct a
supervisory visit every 30 to 90 calendar days. Instead, the RN supervisor must
conduct the initial home visit with the respite care aide immediately preceding the
start of care and make a second home visit within the respite care period.

c. When respite care services are routine in nature and offered in conjunction with
personal care, the 30-day to 90-day supervisory visit conducted for personal care
may serve as the RN supervisor or case manager/service facilitator visit for respite
care. However, the RN supervisor or case manager/services facilitator must
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document supervision of respite care separately. For this purpose, the same
record can be used with a separate section for respite care documentation.

5. Under the agency-directed model, the supervisor shall identify any gaps in the
aide's ability to provide services as identified in the individual's plan of care and
provide training as indicated based on continuing evaluations of the aide's
performance and the individual's needs.

6. The supervising RN or case manager/services facilitator must maintain current
documentation. This may be done as a summary and must note:

a. Whether personal and respite care services continue to be appropriate;

b. Whether the supporting documentation is adequate to meet the individual's
needs or if changes are indicated in the supporting documentation;

c. Any special tasks performed by the aide/CD employee and the aide's/CD
employee's qualifications to perform these tasks;

d. Individual's satisfaction with the service;

e. Any hospitalization or change in the individual's medical condition or functioning
status;

f. Other services received and their amount; and

g. The presence or absence of the aide in the home during the RN's visit.
7. Qualification of aides/CD employees. Each aide/CD employee must:

a. Be 18 years of age or older and possess a valid social security number;

b. For the agency-directed model, be able to read and write English to the degree
necessary to perform the tasks required. For the consumer-directed model,
possess basic math, reading and writing sKills;

c. Have the required skills to perform services as specified in the individual's plan
of care;

d. Not be the parents of individuals who are minors, or the individual's spouse.
Payment will not be made for services furnished by other family members living
under the same roof as the individual receiving services unless there is objective
written documentation as to why there are no other providers available to provide
the care. Family members who are approved to be reimbursed for providing this
service must meet the qualifications. In addition, under the consumer-directed
model, famitylearegivers family or caregivers acting as the employer on behalf of
the individual may not also be the CD employee;

e. Additional aide requirements under the agency-directed model:

(1) Complete an appropriate aide training curriculum consistent with DMAS
standards. Prior to assigning an aide to an individual, the provider must ensure
that the aide has satisfactorily completed a training program consistent with DMAS
standards. DMAS requirements may be met in any of the following ways:

(a) Registration as a certified nurse aide (DMAS-enrolled personal care/respite
care providers);

(b) Graduation from an approved educational curriculum that offers certificates
qualifying the student as a nursing assistant, geriatric assistant or home health
aide (DMAS-enrolled personal care/respite care providers);

(c) Completion of provider-offered training that is consistent with the basic course
outline approved by DMAS (DMAS-enrolled personal care/respite care providers);
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(d) Completion and passing of the DBHDS standardized test (DBHDS-licensed
providers);

(2) Have a satisfactory work record as evidenced by two references from prior job
experiences, including no evidence of possible abuse, neglect, or exploitation of
aged or incapacitated adults or children; and

(3) Be evaluated in his job performance by the supervisor.
f. Additional CD employee requirements under the consumer-directed model:

(1) Submit to a criminal records check and, if the individual is a minor, the child
protective services registry. The employee will not be compensated for services
provided to the individual if the records check verifies the employee has been
convicted of crimes described in § 37.2-314 of the Code of Virginia or if the
employee has a complaint confirmed by the DSS child protective services registry;

(2) Be willing to attend training at the request of the individual or

his famiby/earegivers family or caregiver, as appropriate;

(3) Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS consumer-directed services
requirements; and

(4) Receive an annual TB screening.

8. Provider inability to render services and substitution of aides (agency-directed
model). When an aide is absent, the provider may either obtain another aide,
obtain a substitute aide from another provider if the lapse in coverage is to be less
than two weeks in duration, or transfer the individual's services to another
provider.

9. Retention, hiring, and substitution of employees (consumer-directed model).
Upon the individual's request, the CD services facilitator shall provide the
individual or his famiby/earegiver family or caregiver, as appropriate, with a list of
consumer-directed employees on the consumer-directed employee registry that
may provide temporary assistance until the employee returns or the individual or
his family/earegiver family or caregiver, as appropriate, is able to select and hire a
new employee. If an individual or his famiy/earegiver family or caregiver, as
appropriate, is consistently unable to hire and retain an employee to provide
consumer-directed services, the services facilitator must contact the case
manager and DBHDS to transfer the individual, at the choice of the individual or
his famiby/earegiver family or caregiver, as appropriate, to a provider that provides
Medicaid-funded agency-directed personal care or respite care services. The CD
services facilitator will make arrangements with the case manager to have the
individual transferred.

10. Required documentation in individuals' records. The provider must maintain all
records of each individual receiving services. Under the agency-directed model,
these records must be separated from those of other nonwaiver services, such as
home health services. At a minimum these records must contain:

a. The most recently updated plan of care and supporting documentation, all
provider documentation, and all DMAS-225 forms;

b. Initial assessment by the RN supervisory nurse or case manager/services
facilitator completed prior to or on the date services are initiated, subsequent
reassessments, and changes to the supporting documentation by the RN
supervisory nurse or case manager/services facilitator;

c. Nurses' or case manager/services facilitator summarizing notes recorded and
dated during any contacts with the aide or CD employee and during supervisory
visits to the individual's home;
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d. All correspondence to the individual, to DBHDS, and to DMAS;

e. Contacts made with family, physicians, DBHDS, DMAS, formal and informal
service providers, and all professionals concerning the individual;

f. Under the agency-directed model, all aide records. The aide record must
contain:

(1) The specific services delivered to the individual by the aide and the individual's
responses;

(2) The aide's arrival and departure times;

(3) The aide's weekly comments or observations about the individual to include
observations of the individual's physical and emotional condition, daily activities,
and responses to services rendered;

(4) The aide's and individual's weekly signatures to verify that services during that
week have been rendered;

(5) Signatures, times, and dates; these signatures, times, and dates shall not be
placed on the aide record prior to the last date of the week that the services are
delivered; and

(6) Copies of all aide records; these records shall be subject to review by state
and federal Medicaid representatives.

g. Additional documentation requirements under the consumer-directed model:

(1) Al management training provided to the individuals or their family caregivers,
as appropriate, including responsibility for the accuracy of the timesheets.

(2) All documents signed by the individual or his famity/earegivers family or
caregiver, as appropriate, that acknowledge the responsibilities of the services.

12VAC30-120-924 Covered services; limits on covered services

A. Covered services in the EDCD Waiver shall include: adult day health care,
personal care (both consumer-directed and agency-directed), respite services
(both consumer-directed and agency-directed), PERS, PERS medication
monitoring, limited assistive technology, limited environmental modifications,
transition coordination, and transition services.

1. The services covered in this waiver shall be appropriate and medically
necessary to maintain the individual in the community in order to prevent
institutionalization and shall be cost effective in the aggregate as compared to the
alternative NF placement.

2. EDCD services shall not be authorized if another entity is required to provide
the services (e.g., schools, insurance). Waiver services shall not duplicate
services available through other programs or funding streams.

3. Assistive technology and environmental modification services shall be available
only to those EDCD Waiver individuals who are also participants in the Money
Follows the Person (MFP) demonstration program pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-
120-2000 et seq.).

4. An individual receiving EDCD Waiver services who is also getting hospice care
may receive Medicaid-covered personal care (agency-directed and consumer-
directed), respite care (agency-directed and consumer-directed), adult day health
care, transition services, transition coordination, and PERS services, regardless of
whether the hospice provider receives reimbursement from Medicare or Medicaid
for the services covered under the hospice benefit. Such dual waiver/hospice
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individuals shall only be able to receive assistive technology and environmental
modifications if they are also participants in the MFP demonstration program.

5. Agency-directed and consumer-directed personal care services and respite
care services shall be subject to the electronic visit verification requirements set
out in 12VAC30-60-65.

B. Veluntaryfinveluntary Voluntary or involuntary disenrollment from consumer-
directed services. In either voluntary or involuntary disenroliment situations, the
waiver individual shall be permitted to select an agency from which to receive his
agency-directed personal care and respite services.

1. A waiver individual may be found to be ineligible for CD services by either the
Preadmission Screening Team, DMAS-enrolled hospital provider, DMAS, its
designated agent, or the CD services facilitator. An individual may not begin or
continue to receive CD services if there are circumstances where the waiver
individual's health, safety, or welfare cannot be assured, including butretlimited
te:

a. It is determined that the waiver individual cannot be the EOR and no one else is
able to assume this role;

b. The waiver individual cannot ensure his own health, safety, or welfare or
develop an emergency backup plan that will ensure his health, safety, or welfare;
or

c. The waiver individual has medication or skilled nursing needs or medical or
behavioral conditions that cannot be met through CD services or other services.

2. The waiver individual may be involuntarily disenrolled from consumer direction if
he or the EOR, as appropriate, is consistently unable to retain or manage the
attendant as may be demonstrated by, but not necessarily limited to, a pattern of
serious discrepancies with the attendant's timesheets.

3. In situations where either (i) the waiver individual's health, safety, or welfare
cannot be assured or (ii) attendant timesheet discrepancies are known, the
services facilitator shall assist as requested with the waiver individual's transfer to
agency-directed services as follows:

a. Verify that essential training has been provided to the waiver individual or EOR;

b. Document, in the waiver individual's case record, the conditions creating the
necessity for the involuntary disenrollment and actions taken by the services
facilitator;

c. Discuss with the waiver individual or the EOR, as appropriate, the agency-
directed option that is available and the actions needed to arrange for such
services and offer choice of potential providers, and

d. Provide written notice to the waiver individual of the right to appeal such
involuntary termination of consumer direction. Such notice shall be given at least
10 calendar days prior to the effective date of this change. In cases when the
individual's or the provider personnel's safety may be jeopardy, the 10 calendar
days notice shall not apply.

C. Adult day health care (ADHC) services. ADHC services shall only be offered to
waiver individuals who meet preadmission screening criteria as established in
12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom ADHC services shall be an
appropriate and medically necessary alternative to institutional care. ADHC
services may be offered to individuals in a VDSS-licensed adult day care center
(ADCC) congregate setting. ADHC may be offered either as the sole home and
community-based care service or in conjunction with personal care (either agency-
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directed or consumer-directed), respite care (either agency-directed or consumer-
directed), or PERS. A multi-disciplinary approach to developing, implementing,
and evaluating each waiver individual's POC shall be essential to quality ADHC
services.

1. ADHC services shall be designed to prevent institutionalization by providing
waiver individuals with health care services, maintenance of their physical and
mental conditions, and coordination of rehabilitation services in a congregate
daytime setting and shall be tailored to their unique needs. The minimum range of
services that shall be made available to every waiver individual shall be:
assistance with ADLs, nursing services, coordination of rehabilitation services,
nutrition, social services, recreation, and socialization services.

a. Assistance with ADLs shall include supervision of the waiver individual and
assistance with management of the individual's POC.

b. Nursing services shall include the periodic evaluation, at least every 90 days, of
the waiver individual's nursing needs; provision of indicated nursing care and
treatment; responsibility for monitoring, recording, and administering prescribed
medications; supervision of the waiver individual in self-administered medication;
support of families in their home care efforts for the waiver individuals through
education and counseling; and helping families identify and appropriately utilize
health care resources. Periodic evaluations may occur more frequently than every
90 days if indicated by the individual's changing condition. Nursing services shall
also include the general supervision of provider staff, who are certified through the
Board of Nursing, in medication management and administering medications.

c. Coordination and implementation of rehabilitation services to ensure the waiver
individual receives all rehabilitative services deemed necessary to improve or
maintain independent functioning, to include physical therapy, occupational
therapy, and speech therapy.

d. Nutrition services shall be provided to include;butretrnecessarily-belimited

te;one meal per day that meets the daily nutritional requirements pursuant to
22VAC40-60-800. Special diets and nutrition counseling shall be provided as
required by the waiver individuals.

e. Recreation and social activities shall be provided that are suited to the needs of
the waiver individuals and shall be designed to encourage physical exercise,
prevent physical and mental deterioration, and stimulate social interaction.

f. ADHC coordination shall involve implementing the waiver individuals' POCs,
updating such plans, recording 30-day progress notes, and reviewing the waiver
individuals' daily logs each week.

2. Limits on covered ADHC services.
a. A day of ADHC services shall be defined as a minimum of six hours.

b. ADCCs that do not employ professional nursing staff on site shall not be
permitted to admit waiver individuals who require skilled nursing care to their
centers. Examples of skilled nursing care may include: (i) tube feedings; (ii) Foley
catheter irrigations; (iii) sterile dressing changing; or (iv) any other procedures that
require sterile technique. The ADCC shall not permit its aide employees to perform
skilled nursing procedures.

c. At any time that the center is no longer able to provide reliable, continuous care
to any of the center's waiver individuals for the number of hours per day or days
per week as contained in the individuals' POCs, then the center shall contact the
waiver individuals or familyfearegivers their family or caregivers, as appropriate, to
initiate other care arrangements for these individuals. The center may either
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subcontract with another ADCC or may transfer the waiver individual to another
ADCC. The center may discharge waiver individuals from the center's services but
not from the waiver. Written notice of discharge shall be provided, with the specific
reason or reasons for discharge, at least 10 calendar days prior to the effective
date of the discharge. In cases when the individual's or the center personnel's
safety may be jeopardy, the 10 calendar days notice shall not apply.

d. ADHC services shall not be provided, for the purpose of Medicaid
reimbursement, to individuals who reside in NFs, ICFs/IID, hospitals, assisted
living facilities that are licensed by VDSS, or group homes that are licensed by
DBHDS.

D. Agency-directed personal care services. Agency-directed personal care
services shall only be offered to persons who meet the preadmission screening
criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom it shall be an
appropriate alternative to institutional care. Agency-directed personal care
services shall be comprised of hands-on care of either a supportive or health-
related nature and shall include;but-shaltretrecessariy-be-limitedto; assistance
with ADLs, access to the community, assistance with medications in accordance
with VDH licensing requirements or other medical needs, supervision, and the
monitoring of health status and physical condition. Where the individual requires
assistance with ADLs, and when specified in the POC, such supportive services
may include assistance with IADLs. This service shall not include skilled nursing
services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may
be delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) of
18VAC90-20. Agency-directed personal care services may be provided in a home
or community setting to enable an individual to maintain the health status and
functional skills necessary to live in the community or participate in community
activities. Personal care may be offered either as the sole home and community-
based care service or in conjunction with adult day health care, respite care
(agency-directed or consumer-directed), or PERS. The provider shall document, in
the individual's medical record, the waiver individual's choice of the agency-
directed model.

1. Criteria. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual shall have met
the NF LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as
documented on the UAI assessment form, and for whom it shall be an appropriate
alternative to institutional care.

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-directed personal care
services if the individual meets the criteria. Hours received by the individual who is
receiving both CD and agency-directed services shall not exceed the total number
of hours that would be needed if the waiver individual were receiving personal
care services through a single delivery model.

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be simultaneously provided but may
be provided sequentially or alternately from each other.

c. The individual or family/earegiver family or caregiver shall have a backup plan
for the provision of services in the event the agency is unable to provide an aide.

2. Limits on covered agency-directed personal care services.

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as a reasonable
accommodation as a part of the Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131
through 12165) or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794).

b. DMAS shall reimburse for services delivered, consistent with the approved
POC, for personal care that the personal care aide provides to the waiver
individual to assist him while he is at work or postsecondary school.
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(1) DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor shall review the waiver
individual's needs and the complexity of the disability, as applicable, when
determining the services that are provided to him in the workplace or
postsecondary school or both.

(2) DMAS shall not pay for the personal care aide to assist the enrolled waiver
individual with any functions or tasks related to the individual completing his job or
postsecondary school functions or for supervision time during either work or
postsecondary school or both.

c. Supervision services shall only be authorized to ensure the health, safety, or
welfare of the waiver individual who cannot be left alone at any time or is unable to
call for help in case of an emergency, and when there is no one else in the home
competent and able to call for help in case of an emergency.

d. There shall be a maximum limit of eight hours per 24-hour day for supervision
services. Supervision services shall be documented in the POC as needed by the
individual.

e. Agency-directed personal care services shall be limited to 56 hours of services
per week for 52 weeks per year. Individual exceptions may be granted based on
criteria established by DMAS.

f. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 12VAC30-60-65 shall apply_to
these agency-directed respite care services.

E. Agency-directed respite care services. Agency-directed respite care services
shall only be offered to waiver individuals who meet the preadmission screening
criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom it shall be an
appropriate alternative to institutional care. Agency-directed respite care services
may be either skilled nursing or unskilled care and shall be comprised of hands-on
care of either a supportive or health-related nature and may include;-but-shal-net
belimitedto; assistance with ADLs, access to the community, assistance with
medications in accordance with VDH licensing requirements or other medical
needs, supervision, and monitoring health status and physical condition.

1. Respite care shall only be offered to individuals who have an unpaid primary
caregiver who requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the waiver
individual. Respite care services may be provided in the individual's home or other
community settings.

2. When the individual requires assistance with ADLs, and where such assistance
is specified in the waiver individual's POC, such supportive services may also
include assistance with IADLs.

3. The unskilled care portion of this service shall not include skilled nursing
services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may
be delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) of
18VAC90-20.

4. Limits on service.

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care services shall be limited to
480 hours per individual per state fiscal year, to be service authorized. If an
individual changes waiver programs, this same maximum number of respite hours
shall apply. No additional respite hours beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be
approved for payment for individuals who change waiver programs. Additionally,
individuals who are receiving respite services in this waiver through both the
agency-directed and CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per state fiscal year
combined.
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b. If agency-directed respite care service is the only service received by the waiver
individual, it must be received at least as often as every 30 days. If this service is
not required at this minimal level of frequency, then the provider agency shall
notify the local department of social services for its redetermination of eligibility for
the waiver individual.

c. The individual or familty/earegiver family or caregiver shall have a backup plan
for the provision of services in the event the agency is unable to provide an aide.

d. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 12VAC30-60-65 shall apply_to
these agency-directed respite care services.

F. Services facilitation for consumer-directed services. Consumer-directed
personal care and respite care services shall only be offered to persons who meet
the preadmission screening criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and
for whom there shall be appropriate alternatives to institutional care.

1. Individuals who choose CD services shall receive support from a DMAS-
enrolled CD services facilitator as required in conjunction with CD services. The
services facilitator shall document the waiver individual's choice of the CD model
and whether there is a need for another person to serve as the EOR on behalf of
the individual. The CD services facilitator shall be responsible for assessing the
waiver individual's particular needs for a requested CD service, assisting in the
development of the POC, providing training to the EOR on his responsibilities as
an employer, and for providing ongoing support of the CD services.

2. Individuals who are eligible for CD services shall have, or have an EOR who
has, the capability to hire and train the personal care attendant or attendants and
supervise the attendant's performance, including approving the attendant's
timesheets.

a. If a waiver individual is unwilling or unable to direct his own care or is younger

than 18 years of age, afamiby/earegiver/designated family,_a caregiver, or a

designated person shall serve as the EOR on behalf of the waiver individual in
order to perform these supervisory and approval functions.

b. Specific employer duties shall include checking references of personal care
attendants and determining that personal care attendants meet qualifications.

3. The individual or familyfearegiver family or caregiver shall have a backup plan
for the provision of services in case the attendant does not show up for work as
scheduled or terminates employment without prior notice.

4. The CD services facilitator shall not be the waiver individual, a CD attendant, a
provider of other Medicaid-covered services, spouse of the individual, parent of
the individual who is a minor child, or the EOR who is employing the CD attendant.

5. DMAS shall either provide for fiscal employer/agent services or contract for the
services of a fiscal employer/agent for CD services. The fiscal employer/agent
shall be reimbursed by DMAS or DMAS contractor (if the fiscal/employer agent
service is contracted) to perform certain tasks as an agent for the EOR. The fiscal
employer/agent shall handle responsibilities for the waiver individual including;but
notlimitedto; employment taxes and background checks for attendants. The fiscal
employer/agent shall seek and obtain all necessary authorizations and approvals
of the Internal Revenue Service in order to fulfill all of these duties.

G. Consumer-directed personal care services. CD personal care services shall be
comprised of hands-on care of either a supportive or health-related nature and
shall include assistance with ADLs and may include;butshall-netbelimited
te;access to the community, monitoring of self-administered medications or other
medical needs, supervision, and monitoring health status and physical condition.
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Where the waiver individual requires assistance with ADLs and when specified in
the POC, such supportive services may include assistance with IADLs. This
service shall not include skilled nursing services with the exception of skilled
nursing tasks (e.g. catheterization) that may be delegated pursuant to Part VIl
(18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC 90-20 and as permitted by
Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. CD personal
care services may be provided in a home or community setting to enable an
individual to maintain the health status and functional skills necessary to live in the
community or participate in community activities. Personal care may be offered
either as the sole home and community-based service or in conjunction with adult
day health care, respite care (agency-directed or consumer-directed), or PERS.

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual shall have met the NF
LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented
on the UAI assessment instrument, and for whom it shall be an appropriate
alternative to institutional care.

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-directed personal care
services if the individual meets the criteria. Hours received by the waiver individual
who is receiving both CD and agency-directed services shall not exceed the total
number of hours that would be otherwise authorized had the individual chosen to
receive personal care services through a single delivery model.

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be simultaneously provided but may
be provided sequentially or alternately from each other.

2. Limits on covered CD personal care services.

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as a reasonable
accommodation as a part of the Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131
through 12165) or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794).

b. There shall be a limit of eight hours per 24-hour day for supervision services
included in the POC. Supervision services shall be authorized to ensure the
health, safety, or welfare of the waiver individual who cannot be left alone at any
time or is unable to call for help in case of an emergency, and when there is no
one else in the home who is competent and able to call for help in case of an
emergency.

c. Consumer-directed personal care services shall be limited to 56 hours of
services per week for 52 weeks per year. Individual exceptions may be granted
based on criteria established by DMAS.

d. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 12VAC30-60-65 shall
apply_to these CD personal care services.

3. CD personal care services at work or school shall be limited as follows:

a. DMAS shall reimburse for services delivered, consistent with the approved
POC, for CD personal care that the attendant provides to the waiver individual to
assist him while he is at work or postsecondary school or both.

b. DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor shall review the waiver individual's
needs and the complexity of the disability, as applicable, when determining the
services that will be provided to him in the workplace or postsecondary school or
both.

c. DMAS shall not pay for the personal care attendant to assist the waiver
individual with any functions or tasks related to the individual completing his job or
postsecondary school functions or for supervision time during work or
postsecondary school or both.
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H. Consumer-directed respite care services. CD respite care services are

unskilled care and shall be comprised of hands-on care of either a supportive or
health-related nature and may include;but-shall-retbelimited-te; assistance with
ADLs, access to the community, monitoring of self-administration of medications or
other medical needs, supervision, monitoring health status and physical condition,
and personal care services in a work environment.

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual shall have met the NF
LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented
on the UAI assessment instrument, and for whom it shall be an appropriate
alternative to institutional care.

2. CD respite care services shall only be offered to individuals who have an unpaid
primary caregiver who requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the
waiver individual. This service shall be provided in the waiver individual's home or
other community settings.

3. When the waiver individual requires assistance with ADLs, and where such
assistance is specified in the individual's POC, such supportive services may also
include assistance with IADLs.

4. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 12VAC30-60-65 shall
apply to these CD respite care services.

5. Limits on covered CD respite care services.

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care services shall be limited to
480 hours per waiver individual per state fiscal year. If a waiver individual changes
waiver programs, this same maximum number of respite hours shall apply. No
additional respite hours beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be approved for
payment. Individuals who are receiving respite services in this waiver through both
the agency-directed and CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per state fiscal
year combined.

b. CD respite care services shall not include skilled nursing services with the
exception of skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may be delegated
pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC90-20
and as permitted by Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia).

c. If consumer-directed respite care service is the only service received by the
waiver individual, it shall be received at least as often as every 30 days. If this
service is not required at this minimal level of frequency, then the services
facilitator shall refer the waiver individual to the local department of social services
for its redetermination of eligibility for the waiver individual.

|. Personal emergency response system (PERS).

1. Service description. PERS is a service that monitors waiver individual safety in
the home and provides access to emergency assistance for medical or
environmental emergencies through the provision of a two-way voice
communication system that dials a 24-hour response or monitoring center upon
activation and via the individual's home telephone line or system. PERS may also
include medication monitoring devices.

a. PERS may be authorized only when there is no one else in the home with the
waiver individual who is competent or continuously available to call for help in an
emergency or when the individual is in imminent danger.

b. The use of PERS equipment shall not relieve the backup caregiver of his
responsibilities.
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c. Service units and service limitations.

(1) PERS shall be limited to waiver individuals who are ages 14 years and older
who also either live alone or are alone for significant parts of the day and who
have no regular caregiver for extended periods of time. PERS shall only be
provided in conjunction with receipt of personal care services (either agency-
directed or consumer-directed), respite services (either agency-directed or
consumer-directed), or adult day health care. A waiver individual shall not receive
PERS if he has a cognitive impairment as defined in 12VAC30-120-900.

(2) A unit of service shall include administrative costs, time, labor, and supplies
associated with the installation, maintenance, monitoring, and adjustments of the
PERS. A unit of service shall be the one-month rental price set by DMAS in its fee
schedule. The one-time installation of the unit shall include installation, account
activation, individual and family/earegiver family or caregiver instruction, and
subsequent removal of PERS equipment when it is no longer needed.

(3) PERS services shall be capable of being activated by a remote wireless device
and shall be connected to the waiver individual's telephone line or system. The
PERS console unit must provide hands-free voice-to-voice communication with
the response center. The activating device must be (i) waterproof, (ii) able to
automatically transmit to the response center an activator low battery alert signal
prior to the battery losing power, (iii) able to be worn by the waiver individual, and
(iv) automatically reset by the response center after each activation, thereby
ensuring that subsequent signals can be transmitted without requiring manual
resetting by the waiver individual.

(4) All PERS equipment shall be approved by the Federal Communications
Commission and meet the Underwriters' Laboratories, Inc. (UL) safety standard.

(5) Medication monitoring units shall be physician ordered. In order to be approved
to receive the medication monitoring service, a waiver individual shall also receive
PERS services. Physician orders shall be maintained in the waiver individual's
record. In cases where the medical monitoring unit must be filled by the provider,
the person who is filling the unit shall be either an RN or an LPN. The units may
be filled as frequently as a minimum of every 14 days. There must be
documentation of this action in the waiver individual's record.

J. Transition coordination and transition services. Transition coordination and
transition services, as defined at 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-2010,
provide for applicants to move from institutional placements or licensed or certified
provider-operated living arrangements to private homes or other qualified settings.
The applicant's transition from an institution to the community shall be coordinated
by the facility's discharge planning team. The discharge planner shall coordinate
with the transition coordinator to ensure that EDCD Waiver eligibility criteria shall
be met.

1. Transition coordination and transition services shall be authorized by DMAS or
its designated agent in order for reimbursement to occur.

2. For the purposes of transition services, an institution must meet the
requirements as specified by CMS in the Money Follows the Person
demonstration program at http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F109-
171.html#{t262.

3. Transition coordination shall be authorized for a maximum of 12 consecutive
months upon discharge from an institutional placement and shall be initiated within
30 days of discharge from the institution.

4. Transition coordination and transition services shall be provided in conjunction
with personal care (agency-directed or consumer-directed), respite care (agency-
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directed or consumer-directed), or adult day health care services.

K. Assistive technology (AT).

1. Service description. Assistive technology (AT), as defined in 12VAC30-120-900,
shall only be available to waiver individuals who are participating in the MFP
program pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.).

2. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall have a demonstrated
need for equipment for remedial or direct medical benefit primarily in an
individual's primary home, primary vehicle used by the individual, community
activity setting, or day program to specifically serve to improve the individual's
personal functioning. This shall encompass those items not otherwise covered
under the State Plan for Medical Assistance. AT shall be covered in the least
expensive, most cost-effective manner.

3. Service units and service limitations.

a. All requests for AT shall be made by the transition coordinator to DMAS or the
Srv Auth contractor.

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for all AT covered procedure
codes (combined total of AT items and labor related to these items) shall be
$5,000 per year for individuals regardless of waiver, or regardless of whether the
individual changes waiver programs, for which AT is approved. The service unit
shall always be one, for the total cost of all AT being requested for a specific
timeframe.

c. AT may be provided in the individual's home or community setting.

d. AT shall not be approved for purposes of convenience of
the earegiver/previdercaregiver or provider or restraint of the individual.

e. An independent, professional consultation shall be obtained from a qualified
professional who is knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to
approval by the Srv Auth contractor and may include training on such AT by the
qualified professional. The consultation shall not be performed by the provider of
AT to the individual.

f. All AT shall be prior authorized by the Srv Auth contractor prior to billing.

g. Excluded shall be items that are reasonable accommodation requirements, for
example, of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Virginians with Disabilities Act
(§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), or the Rehabilitation Act (20 USC § 794)
or that are required to be provided through other funding sources.

h. AT services or equipment shall not be rented but shall be purchased.
L. Environmental modifications (EM).

1. Service description. Environmental modifications (EM), as defined herein, shall
only be available to waiver individuals who are participating in the MFP program
pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). Adaptations shall be
documented in the waiver individual's POC and may include;but-shali-ret
necessarily-be-limited-te; the installation of ramps and grab-bars, widening of
doorways, modification of bathroom facilities, or installation of specialized
electrical and plumbing systems that are necessary to accommodate the medical
equipment and supplies that are necessary for the welfare of the waiver individual.
Excluded are those adaptations or improvements to the home that are of general
utility and are not of direct medical or remedial benefit to the individual, such as
carpeting, flooring, roof repairs, central air conditioning, or decks. Adaptations that
add to the total square footage of the home shall be excluded from this benefit,
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except when necessary to complete an authorized adaptation, as determined by
DMAS or its designated agent. All services shall be provided in the individual's
primary home in accordance with applicable state or local building codes. All
modifications must be prior authorized by the Srv Auth contractor. Modifications
may only be made to a vehicle if it is the primary vehicle being used by the waiver
individual. This service does not include the purchase or lease of vehicles.

2. In order to qualify for these services, the waiver individual shall have a
demonstrated need for modifications of a remedial or medical benefit offered in his
primary home or primary vehicle used by the waiver individual to ensure his
health, welfare, or safety or specifically to improve the individual's personal
functioning. This service shall encompass those items not otherwise covered in
the State Plan for Medical Assistance or through another program. EM shall be
covered in the least expensive, most cost-effective manner.

3. Service units and service limitations.

a. All requests for EM shall be made by the MFP transition coordinator to DMAS or
the Srv Auth contractor.

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for all EM covered procedure
codes (combined total of EM items and labor related to these items) shall be
$5,000 per year for individuals regardless of waiver, or regardless of whether the
individual changes waiver programs, for which EM is approved. The service unit
shall always be one, for the total cost of all EM being requested for a specific
timeframe.

c. All EM shall be authorized by the Srv Auth contractor prior to billing.

d. Modifications shall not be used to bring a substandard dwelling up to minimum
habitation standards. Also excluded shall be modifications that are reasonable
accommodation requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Virginians
with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the
Rehabilitation Act (20 USC§ § 794).

e. Transition coordinators shall, upon completion of each modification, meet face-
to-face with the waiver individual and his family/earegiver family or caregiver, as
appropriate, to ensure that the modification is completed satisfactorily and is able
to be used by the individual.

f. EM shall not be approved for purposes of convenience of
the earegiver/providercaregiver or provider or restraint of the waiver individual.

12VAC30-120-930 General requirements for home and community-based
participating_providers

A. Requests for participation shall be screened by DMAS or the designated DMAS
contractor to determine whether the provider applicant meets the requirements for
participation, as set out in the provider agreement, and demonstrates the abilities
to perform, at a minimum, the following activities:

1. Screen all new and existing employees and contractors to determine whether
any are excluded from eligibility for payment from federal health care programs,
including Medicaid (i.e., via the United States Department of Health and Human
Services Office of Inspector General List of Excluded Individuals or Entities (LEIE)
website). Immediately report in writing to DMAS any exclusion information
discovered to: DMAS, ATTN: Program Integrity/Exclusions, 600 East Broad Street,
Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or email to
providerexclusions@dmas.virginia.gov;

2. Immediately notify DMAS in writing of any change in the information that the
provider previously submitted to DMAS;
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3. Except for waiver individuals who are subject to the DMAS Client Medical
Management program Part VIII (12VAC30-130-800 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130 or
are enrolled in a Medicaid managed care program, ensure freedom of choice to
individuals in seeking services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or other
provider qualified to perform the serviee-er services required and participating in
the Medicaid Program at the time the serviee-er services are performed;

4. Ensure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, treatment, and services;

5. Accept referrals for services only when staff is available to initiate and perform
such services on an ongoing basis;

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full compliance with Title VI (42
USC § 2000d et seq.) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 which prohibits discrimination
on the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin; the Virginians with
Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); § 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the
basis of a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (42 USC §
12101 et seq.), which provides comprehensive civil rights protections to individuals
with disabilities in the areas of employment, public accommodations, state and
local government services, and telecommunications;

7. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same quality and in the same
mode of delivery as are provided to the general public;

8. Submit charges to DMAS for the provision of services and supplies to
individuals in amounts not to exceed the provider's usual and customary charges
to the general public and accept as payment in full the amount established by
DMAS payment methodology beginning with the individual's authorization date for
the waiver services;

9. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service documentation. The provider shall
not alter the DMAS forms in any manner without prior written approval from
DMAS;

10. Use DMAS-designated billing forms for submission of charges;
11. Perform no type of direct marketing activities to Medicaid individuals;

12. Maintain and retain business and professional records sufficient to document
fully and accurately the nature, scope, and details of the services provided.

a. In general, such records shall be retained for a period of at least six years from
the last date of service or as provided by applicable federal and state laws,
whichever period is longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the required
retention period, the records shall be retained until the audit is completed and
every exception resolved. Records of minors shall be kept for a period of at least
six years after such minor has reached 18 years of age.

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even if the provider
discontinues operation. DMAS shall be notified in writing of the storage location
and procedures for obtaining records for review should the need arise. The
location, agent, or trustee shall be within the Commonwealth;

13. Furnish information on the request of and in the form requested to DMAS, the
Attorney General of Virginia or their authorized representatives, federal personnel,
and the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's right of access to
provider agencies and records shall survive any termination of the provider
agreement;

14. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, beneficial, ownership, equity,
surety, or other interests in any and all firms, corporations, partnerships,
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associations, business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, or other
legal entities providing any form of health care services to recipients of Medicaid;

15. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., § 32.1-325.3 of the Code of Virginia, and
the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), safeguard and
hold confidential all information associated with an applicant or enrollee or

individual that could disclose the applicant'stenroliee'stindividaals applicant's,

enrollee's, or individiual's identity. Access to information concerning

the apphicant/enrolieefindividual applicant, enrollee, or individual shall be restricted
to persons or agency representatives who are subject to the standards of
confidentiality that are consistent with that of the agency and any such access
must be in accordance with the provisions found in 12VAC30-20-90;

16. When ownership of the provider changes, notify DMAS in writing at least 15
calendar days before the date of change;

17. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-100, 63.2-1509, and 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, if a
participating provider or the provider's staff knows or suspects that a home and
community-based waiver services individual is being abused, neglected, or
exploited, the party having knowledge or suspicion of the abuse, neglect, or
exploitation shall report this immediately from first knowledge or suspicion of such
knowledge to the local department of social services adult or child protective
services worker as applicable or to the toll-free, 24-hour hotline as described on
the local department of social services' website. Employers shall ensure and
document that their staff is aware of this requirement;

18. In addition to compliance with the general conditions and requirements,
adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in the individual provider's
participation agreements, in the applicable DMAS provider manual, and in other
DMAS laws, regulations, and policies. DMAS shall conduct ongoing monitoring of
compliance with provider participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's
noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may result in a retraction of
Medicaid payment or termination of the provider agreement, or both;

19. Meet minimum qualifications of staff.

a. For reasons of Medicaid individuals' safety and welfare, all employees shall
have a satisfactory work record, as evidenced by at least two references from prior
job experience, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of
incapacitated or older adults or children. In instances of employees who have
worked for only one employer, such employees shall be permitted to provide one
appropriate employment reference and one appropriate personal reference
including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of incapacitated or older
adults or children.

b. Criminal record checks for both employees and volunteers conducted by the
Virginia State Police. Proof that these checks were performed with satisfactory
results shall be available for review by DMAS staff or its designated agent who are
authorized by the agency to review these files. DMAS shall not reimburse the
provider for any services provided by an employee or volunteer who has been
convicted of committing a barrier crime as defined in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of
Virginia. Providers shall be responsible for complying with § 32.1-162.9:1 of the
Code of Virginia regarding criminal record checks. Provider staff shall not be
reimbursed for services provided to the waiver individual effective on the date and
thereafter that the criminal record check confirms the provider's staff person or
volunteer was convicted of a barrier crime.

c. Provider staff and volunteers who serve waiver individuals who are minor
children shall also be screened through the VDSS Child Protective Services (CPS)
Central Registry. Provider staff and volunteers shall not be reimbursed for services
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provided to the waiver individual effective on the date and thereafter that the
VDSS CPS Central Registry check confirms the provider's staff person or
volunteer has a finding.

20. Comply with the electronic visit verification requirements set out in 12VAC30-
60-65.

B. DMAS shall terminate the provider's Medicaid provider agreement pursuant to
§ 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia and as may be required for federal financial
participation. A provider who has been convicted of a felony, or who has otherwise
pled guilty to a felony, in Virginia or in any other of the 50 states, the District of
Columbia, or the U.S. territories shall within 30 days of such conviction notify
DMAS of this conviction and relinquish its provider agreement. Such provider
agreement terminations, subject to applicable appeal rights, shall conform to

§ 32.1-325 D and E of the Code of Virginia and Part Xll (12VAC30-20-500 et seq.)
of 12VAC30-20.

C. For DMAS to approve provider agreements with home and community-based
waiver providers, the following standards shall be met:

1. Staffing, financial solvency, disclosure of ownership, and ensuring comparability
of services requirements as specified in the applicable provider manual;

2. The ability to document and maintain waiver individuals' case records in
accordance with state and federal requirements;

3. Compliance with all applicable laws, regulations, and policies pertaining to
EDCD Waiver services.

D. The waiver individual shall have the option of selecting the provider of his
choice from among those providers who are approved and who can appropriately
meet his needs.

E. A participating provider may voluntarily terminate his participation in Medicaid
by providing 30 days' written notification to DMAS.

F. DMAS may terminate at will a provider's participation agreement on 30 days'
written notice as specified in the DMAS participation agreement. DMAS may
immediately terminate a provider's participation agreement if the provider is no
longer eligible to participate in the Medicaid program. Such action precludes
further payment by DMAS for services provided to individuals on or after the date
specified in the termination notice.

G. The provider shall be responsible for completing the DMAS-225 form. The
provider shall notify the designated Srv Auth contractor, as appropriate, and the
local department of social services, in writing, when any of the following events
occur. Furthermore, it shall be the responsibility of the designated Srv Auth
contractor to also update DMAS, as requested, when any of the following events
occur:

1. Home and community-based waiver services are implemented;
2. A waiver individual dies;
3. A waiver individual is discharged from the provider's EDCD Waiver services;

4. Any other events (including hospitalization) that cause home and community-
based waiver services to cease or be interrupted for more than 30 consecutive
calendar days; or

5. The initial selection by the waiver individual or family/earegiver family or
caregiver of a provider to provide services, or a change by the waiver individual
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or famiby/earegiver family or caregiver of a provider, if it affects the individual's
patient pay amount.

H. Changes or termination of services.

1. The provider may decrease the amount of authorized care if the revised POC is
appropriate and based on the medical needs of the waiver individual. The
participating provider shall collaborate with the waiver individual or

the familyfearegiver/EOR family,_caregiver, or EOR, or both as appropriate, to
develop the new POC and calculate the new hours of service delivery. The
provider shall discuss the decrease in care with the waiver individual

or family/earegiver/EORfamily, caregiver, or EOR, document the conversation in
the waiver individual's record, and notify the designated Srv Auth contractor. The
Srv Auth contractor shall process the decrease request and the waiver individual
shall be notified of the change by letter. This letter shall clearly state the waiver
individual's right to appeal this change.

2. If a change in the waiver individual's condition necessitates an increase in care,
the participating provider shall assess the need for the increase and, collaborate
with the waiver individual and familylearegiver/fEOR family, caregiver, or EOR, as
appropriate, to develop a POC for services to meet the changed needs. The
provider may implement the increase in persenal/respite personal care or
respitecare hours without approval from DMAS, or the designated Srv Auth
contractor, if the amount of services does not exceed the total amount established
by DMAS as the maximum for the level of care designated for that individual on
the plan of care.

3. Any increase to a waiver individual's POC that exceeds the number of hours
allowed for that individual's level of care or any change in the waiver individual's
level of care shall be authorized by DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor
prior to the increase and be accompanied by adequate documentation justifying
the increase.

4. In an emergency situation when either the health, safety, or welfare of the
waiver individual or provider personnel is endangered, or both, DMAS, or the
designated Srv Auth contractor, shall be notified prior to discontinuing services.
The written notification period set out below shall not be required. If appropriate,
local department of social services adult or child protective services, as may be
appropriate, shall be notified immediately. Appeal rights shall be afforded to the
waiver individual.

5. In a nonemergency situation, when neither the health, safety, nor welfare of the
waiver individual or provider personnel is endangered, the participating provider
shall give the waiver individual at least 10 calendar days' written notification (plus
three days for mail transit for a total of 13 calendar days from the letter's date) of
the intent to discontinue services. The notification letter shall provide the reasons
for and the effective date the provider will be discontinuing services. Appeal rights
shall be afforded to the waiver individual.

|. Staff education and training requirements.

1. RNs shall (i) be currently licensed to practice in the Commonwealth as an RN,
or shall hold multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) have at least one year of related
clinical nursing experience, which may include work in an acute care hospital,
public health clinic, home health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or NF, or as an
LPN who worked for at least one year in one of these settings; and (iii) submit to a
criminal records check and consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective
Services Central Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child. The RN shall not
be compensated for services provided to the waiver individual if this record check
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verifies that the RN has been convicted of a barrier crime described in § 32.1-
162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if the RN has a founded complaint confirmed by
the VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry.

2. LPNs shall work under supervision as set out in 18VAC90-20-37. LPNs shall (i)
be currently licensed to practice in the Commonwealth as an LPN, or shall hold
multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title
54 .1 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) shall have at least one year of related clinical
nursing experience, which may include work in an acute care hospital, public
health clinic, home health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or NF. The LPN shall
meet the qualifications and skills, prior to being assigned to care for the waiver
individual, that are required by the individual's POC; and (iii) submit to a criminal
records check and consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services
Central Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child. The LPN shall not be
compensated for services provided to the waiver individual if this record check
verifies that the LPN has been convicted of a barrier crime described in § 32.1-
162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if the LPN has a founded complaint confirmed by
the VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry.

3. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care agencies that are
licensed by VDH shall meet the requirements of 12VAC5-381. In addition,
personal care aides shall also receive annually a minimum of 12 documented
hours of agency-provided training in the performance of these services.

4. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care agencies that are not
licensed by the VDH shall have completed an educational curriculum of at least 40
hours of study related to the needs of individuals who are either elderly or who
have disabilities, as ensured by the provider prior to being assigned to the care of
an individual, and shall have the required skills and training to perform the
services as specified in the waiver individual's POC and related supporting
documentation.

a. Personal care aides' required initial (that is, at the onset of employment)
training, as further detailed in the applicable provider manual, shall be met in one
of the following ways: (i) registration with the Board of Nursing as a certified nurse
aide; (ii) graduation from an approved educational curriculum as listed by the
Board of Nursing; or (iii) completion of the provider's educational curriculum, which
must be a minimum of 40 hours in duration, as taught by an RN who meets the
same requirements as the RN listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection.

b. In addition, personal care aides shall also be required to receive annually a
minimum of 12 documented hours of agency-provided training in the performance
of these services.

5. Personal care aides shall:
a. Be at least 18 years of age or older;

b. Be able to read and write English to the degree necessary to perform the
expected tasks and create and maintain the required documentation;

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and have the required skills to
perform services as specified in the waiver individual's supporting documentation;

d. Have a valid social security number that has been issued to the personal care
aide by the Social Security Administration;

e. Submit to a criminal records check and, if the waiver individual is a minor,
consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry. The
aide shall not be compensated for services provided to the waiver individual
effective the date in which the record check verifies that the aide has been
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convicted of barrier crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if
the aide has a founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS Child Protective
Services Central Registry;

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS EDCD Waiver requirements;
and

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the criteria used by the
VDH.

6. Consumer-directed personal care attendants shall:
a. Be 18 years of age or older;

b. Be able to read and write in English to the degree necessary to perform the
tasks expected and create and maintain the required documentation;

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and have the required skills to
perform consumer-directed services as specified in the waiver individual's
supporting documentation;

d. Have a valid social security number that has been issued to the personal care
attendant by the Social Security Administration;

e. Submit to a criminal records check and, if the waiver individual is a minor,
consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry. The
attendant shall not be compensated for services provided to the waiver individual
effective the date in which the record check verifies that the attendant has been
convicted of barrier crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if
the attendant has a founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS Child Protective
Services Central Registry;

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS EDCD Waiver requirements;

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the criteria used by the
VDH; and

h. Be willing to attend training at the individual's or family/earegivers family or
caregiver's request.

12VAC30-122-125 Electronic visit verification

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, the requirements of
12VAC30-60-65 shall apply for personal care services, respite care services, and
companion services.

B. EVV requirements shall not apply to respite care services provided by a
DBHDS-licensed provider in a DBHDS-licensed program site, such as a group
home or sponsored residential home or a supervised living,_supported living, or
similar facility or location licensed to provide respite care services as permitted by
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
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