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This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018), the Regulations for 
Filing and Publishing Agency Regulations (1VAC7-10), and the Form and Style Requirements for the Virginia 
Register of Regulations and Virginia Administrative Code. 
 

 

Brief Summary 
[RIS1] 

 

Provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change (i.e., new 
regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the reader to 
all substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation. 
              

 

Pursuant to Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of the Assembly, this regulatory action establishes the 

education, examination, and experience required to be issued a license as a funeral director or an 

embalmer. Applicants will be required to obtain an associate’s degree in an accredited mortuary 

science program or complete at least 60 hours of coursework with at least 30 hours from a 

funeral directing program approved by the Board. Coursework in embalming will not be required 

for the funeral director license, and coursework in funeral directing and preneed financing will 

not be required for the embalmer license. All funeral interns will be required to complete 2,000 

hours of supervised experience in the area or areas of funeral practice for which they are seeking 
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licensure. Amendments are also necessary to insert the three types of licenses and scopes of 

practice, as applicable, throughout Chapters 20, 30, and 40. 
 

[RIS2]  

Acronyms and Definitions  
 

 

Define all acronyms used in this form, and any technical terms that are not also defined in the 
“Definitions” section of the regulation. 
              

 

N/A 
 

 

Mandate and Impetus 
 

 

Identify the mandate for this regulatory change and any other impetus that specifically prompted its 
initiation (e.g., new or modified mandate, petition for rulemaking, periodic review, or board decision). For 
purposes of executive branch review, “mandate” has the same meaning as defined in Executive Order 14 
(as amended, July 16, 2018), “a directive from the General Assembly, the federal government, or a court 
that requires that a regulation be promulgated, amended, or repealed in whole or part.”  
              

Adoption of amendments to regulations by emergency action is required to comply with the 

second enactment clause of Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of the General Assembly; this 

proposed action replaces the emergency regulations currently in effect.  The Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers was mandated to promulgate regulations to implement the requirement 

for separate licenses for funeral directors and embalmers. 

2. That the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers shall promulgate regulations to 

implement the provisions of this act to be effective within 280 days of its enactment. 

 

The issues to be addressed are the education, examination, and experience requirements 

necessary for a funeral director and embalmers to be qualified for licensure in Virginia. 

 
 

Legal Basis  

[RIS3] 
 

Identify (1) the promulgating agency, and (2) the state and/or federal legal authority for the regulatory 
change, including the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia and Acts of Assembly chapter 
number(s), if applicable. Your citation must include a specific provision, if any, authorizing the 
promulgating agency to regulate this specific subject or program, as well as a reference to the agency’s 
overall regulatory authority.  
              

 

Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 54.1-2400, which provides the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers the 

authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system: 

§ 54.1-2400. General powers and duties of health regulatory boards. 

The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be: 
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1. To establish the qualifications for registration, certification, licensure, permit, or the issuance 

of a multistate licensure privilege in accordance with the applicable law which are necessary to 

ensure competence and integrity to engage in the regulated professions. 

2. To examine or cause to be examined applicants for certification, licensure, or registration. 

Unless otherwise required by law, examinations shall be administered in writing or shall be a 

demonstration of manual skills. 

3. To register, certify, license, or issue a multistate licensure privilege to qualified applicants as 

practitioners of the particular profession or professions regulated by such board. 

4. To establish schedules for renewals of registration, certification, licensure, permit, and the 

issuance of a multistate licensure privilege. 

5. To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, certification, 

permitting, or licensure or the issuance of a multistate licensure privilege and renewal that are 

sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and operation of the Department of Health 

Professions, the Board of Health Professions, and the health regulatory boards. 

6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq.) that are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system, which 

shall include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required continuing education for 

individuals registered, certified, licensed, or issued a multistate licensure privilege by a health 

regulatory board through delivery of health care services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those health services. Such regulations shall 

not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and 

Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.).… 

The specific statutory authority for this action is found in:  

 
§ 1. That the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers shall promulgate regulations that establish 

the requirements of licensure for funeral directors and embalmers as defined in § 54.1-2800. 

2. That the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers shall promulgate regulations to implement 

the provisions of this act to be effective within 280 days of its enactment. 

 
[RIS4] 

Purpose 
[RIS5] 

 

Explain the need for the regulatory change, including a description of: (1) the rationale or justification, (2) 
the specific reasons the regulatory change is essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens, 
and (3) the goals of the regulatory change and the problems it’s intended to solve. 
              

 

The purpose of the regulatory action is to establish requirements for education, examination, and 

experience that will ensure licensed funeral directors and licensed embalmers have adequate 

training and knowledge to perform their duties with competency in order to protect public health, 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2500/
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safety, and welfare in the handling of human remains, conducting funeral services, and arranging 

finances for funerals and disposition of the deceased. 

 
[RIS6] 

Substance 
[RIS7] 

 

Briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both. A more detailed discussion is provided in the “Detail of Changes” section below.   
              

 

Pursuant to Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of the Assembly, this regulatory action establishes the 

education, examination, and experience required to be issued a license as a funeral director or an 

embalmer. Applicants will be required to obtain an associate’s degree in an accredited mortuary 

science program or complete at least 60 hours of coursework with at least 30 hours from a 

funeral directing program approved by the Board. Coursework in embalming will not be required 

for the funeral director license, and coursework in funeral directing and preneed financing will 

not be required for the embalmer license. All funeral interns will be required to complete 2,000 

hours of supervised experience in the area or areas of funeral practice for which they are seeking 

licensure. Amendments are also necessary to insert the three types of licenses and scopes of 

practice, as applicable, throughout Chapters 20, 30, and 40. 
 

[RIS8] 

Issues 
[RIS9] 

 

Identify the issues associated with the regulatory change, including: 1) the primary advantages and 
disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or businesses, of implementing the new or 
amended provisions; 2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; 
and 3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public. 
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, include a specific statement to that 
effect.    
              

 

1) The advantage to the public will be the potential for more individuals to come into the 

profession to ensure a supply of funeral directors and embalmers to serve the needs of 

citizens in the future. The recent workforce survey showed that over 47% of the current 

licensees are over 55 years of age, and growth in the profession has been very modest. There 

are no disadvantages; licensees will be adequately educated and trained to perform the duties 

without their scope of practice. 

2) There are no advantages or disadvantages to this agency or the Commonwealth. 

3) The Director of the Department of Health Professions has reviewed the proposal and 

performed a competitive impact analysis.  The Board is authorized under § 54.1-2400 to 

promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq.) that are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such 

regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 

54.1-100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.)  This proposal is consistent with the 

agency’s statutory responsibility to protect public health and safety in the Commonwealth. 

 
[RIS10] 

Requirements More Restrictive than Federal 
 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-100
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2500
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Identify and describe any requirement of the regulatory change which is more restrictive than applicable 
federal requirements. Include a specific citation for each applicable federal requirement, and a rationale 
for the need for the more restrictive requirements. If there are no applicable federal requirements, or no 
requirements that exceed applicable federal requirements, include a specific statement to that effect. 
              

 

There are no applicable federal requirements. 

 
 

Agencies, Localities, and Other Entities Particularly Affected 
 

 

Identify any other state agencies, localities, or other entities particularly affected by the regulatory change. 
“Particularly affected” are those that are likely to bear any identified disproportionate material impact 
which would not be experienced by other agencies, localities, or entities. “Locality” can refer to either local 
governments or the locations in the Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulation or 
regulatory change are most likely to occur. If no agency, locality, or entity is particularly affected, include a 
specific statement to that effect.  
              

 

Other State Agencies Particularly Affected - none 

 

Localities Particularly Affected - none 

 

Other Entities Particularly Affected - none 

 
 

Economic Impact 
 

 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, identify all specific economic impacts (costs and/or 
benefits), anticipated to result from the regulatory change. When describing a particular economic impact, 
specify which new requirement or change in requirement creates the anticipated economic impact. Keep 
in mind that this is change versus the status quo.  
              

 
Impact on State Agencies 
 

For your agency: projected costs, savings, fees or 
revenues resulting from the regulatory change, 
including:  
a) fund source / fund detail;  
b) delineation of one-time versus on-going 
expenditures; and 
c) whether any costs or revenue loss can be 
absorbed within existing resources 

As a special fund agency, the Board must 
generate sufficient revenue to cover its 
expenditures from non-general funds, specifically 
the renewal and application fees it charges to 
practitioners or entities for necessary functions of 
regulation. All notifications will be done 
electronically.  
Expenditures related to licensing and discipline of 
funeral directors and embalmers are offset by 
collection of application and renewal fees. 

For other state agencies: projected costs, 
savings, fees or revenues resulting from the 
regulatory change, including a delineation of one-
time versus on-going expenditures. 

No impact 

For all agencies: Benefits the regulatory change 
is designed to produce. 

No impact 

 
Impact on Localities 
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Projected costs, savings, fees or revenues 
resulting from the regulatory change. 

No impact 

Benefits the regulatory change is designed to 
produce. 

No benefit 

 
Impact on Other Entities 

 
Description of the individuals, businesses, or 
other entities likely to be affected by the 
regulatory change. If no other entities will be 
affected, include a specific statement to that 
effect. 

Persons most affected by the regulatory changes 
are those who want to be licensed as a funeral 
director or an embalmer. 

Agency’s best estimate of the number of such 
entities that will be affected. Include an estimate 
of the number of small businesses affected. Small 
business means a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that: 
a) is independently owned and operated and; 
b) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or 
has gross annual sales of less than $6 million.   

There are currently 187 funeral service interns 
(not affected by the regulatory changes) and one 
intern in funeral directing. The Board has 
approved one application for a funeral director 
license, and there are four pending applications.  

All projected costs for affected individuals, 
businesses, or other entities resulting from the 
regulatory change. Be specific and include all 
costs including, but not limited to: 
a) projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 
administrative costs required for compliance by 
small businesses; 
b) specify any costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes 
that are a consequence of the regulatory change;  
c) fees;  
d) purchases of equipment or services; and 
e) time required to comply with the requirements. 

There are no additional costs relating to these 
regulations.  

Benefits the regulatory change is designed to 
produce. 

The benefit may come from an increased supply 
of funeral directors to serve the needs of citizens.  

 

 
 

Alternatives to Regulation 
 

 

Describe any viable alternatives to the regulatory change that were considered, and the rationale used by 
the agency to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential purpose of the 
regulatory change. Also, include discussion of less intrusive or less costly alternatives for small 
businesses, as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, of achieving the purpose of the regulatory 
change. 
               

 

The second enactment of Chapter 943 requires the promulgation of regulations to implement 

amended provision of § 54.1-3304.1 of the Code of Virginia. There are no alternatives to the 

adoption of regulations by the Board. 

 

To develop the emergency regulations, the Board appointed a Regulatory Advisory Panel (RAP) 

with representatives of the three funeral/mortuary associations, the Board, and other interested 
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parties. The RAP met on August 14, 2020 and September 1, 2020. Among other agenda items, it 

heard a presentation from the patron of the legislation, Senator Jeremy McPike, and from Imam 

Ammar Amonette on the funerary practices of the Muslim community. The RAP also reviewed 

information from the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards about the 

requirements in other jurisdictions that offer separate licensure in funeral directing and 

embalming. There are 31 jurisdictions in the U.S. and Canada that have a license in funeral 

directing and 25 offer an embalming license. The recommendations of the RAP were the basis 

for adoption of the emergency and the proposed regulations. 

 
 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 
 

 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1B of the Code of Virginia, describe the agency’s analysis of alternative regulatory 
methods, consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic welfare, that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable law while minimizing the adverse impact on small business.  Alternative 
regulatory methods include, at a minimum: 1) establishing less stringent compliance or reporting 
requirements; 2) establishing less stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting 
requirements; 3) consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements; 4) establishing 
performance standards for small businesses to replace design or operational standards required in the 
proposed regulation; and 5) the exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements 
contained in the regulatory change. 
               
 

There is no regulatory flexibility; licensure is mandated by the Code. 

 

 

Periodic Review and  
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings 

[RIS11] 
 
              

 

This regulatory action is not being used as a periodic review or small business impact review. 
 

[RIS12] 

Public Comment 
 

 

Summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of the 
previous stage, and provide the agency response. Include all comments submitted: including those 
received on Town Hall, in a public hearing, or submitted directly to the agency. If no comment was 
received, enter a specific statement to that effect.  
              

 

 

Commenter  Comment  Agency response 

Diane Rencsok 
Funeral 
Consumers 
Alliance of the 
Virginia Blue 
Ridge 

Supports the creation of separate 
licenses but does not believe a 
course in pathology is necessary 
for a funeral directors, so that 
requirement should be removed. 
OSHA guidelines are provided for 
safe handling of human remains. 

The Board declined to amend its emergency 
regulation in the adoption of proposed 
regulation. It continues to support a 
pathology course for all funeral licensees. 

Eugene 
Gardner 

It is unnecessary to require a 
course in pathology, as more 

Same as above 
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consumers are choosing 
cremation. 

Isabel Berney There is no need for a funeral 
director to complete courses 
necessary for an embalmer.  

A person seeking licensure as a funeral 
director is not required to complete courses 
in embalming. 

Joanne Supports the creation of separate 
licenses. 

The Board appreciates the support. 

Linda Plaut Objects to the requirements for 
pathology course or embalming 
qualifications for a funeral director. 

A person seeking licensure as a funeral 
director is not required to complete courses 
in embalming, but the Board continues to 
support a course in pathology for all funeral 
licensees. 

 
 

Public Participation 
 

 

Indicate how the public should contact the agency to submit comments on this regulation, and whether a 
public hearing will be held, by completing the text below. 
                         

 
The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers is providing an opportunity for comments on this 

regulatory proposal, including but not limited to (i) the costs and benefits of the regulatory 

proposal, (ii) any alternative approaches, and (iii) the potential impacts of the regulation. 

 

Anyone wishing to submit written comments for the public comment file may do so through the 

Public Comment Forums feature of the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall web site 

at: https://townhall.virginia.gov. Comments may also be submitted by mail, email or fax to 

Elaine Yeatts, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233; phone (804) 367-4688; 

fax (804) 527-4434; Elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. In order to be considered, comments must 

be received by 11:59 pm on the last day of the public comment period. 

 

A public hearing will be held following the publication of this stage, and notice of the hearing 

will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (https://townhall.virginia.gov) and 

on the Commonwealth Calendar website (https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/). Both 

oral and written comments may be submitted at that time. 

 
 

Detail of Changes 
 

 

List all regulatory changes and the consequences of the changes. Explain the new requirements and 
what they mean rather than merely quoting the text of the regulation. For example, describe the intent of 
the language and the expected impact. Describe the difference between existing requirement(s) and/or 
agency practice(s) and what is being proposed in this regulatory change. Use all tables that apply, but 
delete inapplicable tables.  

                
 

Even though new, separate licenses as funeral directors and embalmers have not been issued 

since 1973, the Board has continued to allow funeral directors and embalmers to renew their 

licenses. Therefore, the license types have been reflected in some current regulations. However, 

with the mandate to begin issuing the three separate licenses with different requirements for 

education, examination, and experience, amendments are needed throughout Chapters 20, 30 and 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:Elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/
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40. Most of the amendments simply clarify the usage of three types of licensure – funeral service 

licensee, funeral director, and embalmer – or to refer to the three types of practice. In the 

following sections, only those edits to denote the separate licenses have been made: 

 

18VAC65-20-130 

18VAC65-20-140 

18VAC65-20-151 

18VAC65-20-154 

18VAC65-20-235 

18VAC65-20-350 

18VAC65-20-630 

 

18VAC65-30-10 

18VAC65-30-50 

18VAC65-30-220 

 

18VAC65-40-10 

18VAC65-40-40 

18VAC65-40-90 

18VAC65-40-110 

18VAC65-40-180 

18VAC65-40-280 

18VAC65-40-340 

 

Other amendments related to the issuance of the three license types are found in the following: 

 
Current 
chapter-
section 
number 

New chapter-
section 
number, if 
applicable 

Current 
requirements 
in VAC 

Change, intent, rationale, and likely impact of 
new requirements 

N/A 18VAC65-20-
321 

N/A New section 231 sets out the requirements for a 
funeral director to be licensed by examination.  
Subsection A requires that an applicant: 
1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school 
diploma or its equivalent;  
2. Have completed a funeral service or funeral 
directing internship prescribed by the board in 
regulation; 
3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary 
science or funeral service accredited by the 
American Board of Funeral Service Education, 
Incorporated, or have completed an Associate’s 
Degree or its equivalent, which consists of at least 
60 credit hours of coursework, from a funeral 
directing program approved by the board;  
4. Have successfully completed coursework in the 
area of pathology as approved by the board;  
5. Have passed the National Board Examination in 
Arts or State Board Examination in Arts of the 
International Conference of Funeral Service 
Examining Boards; and  
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6. Have passed the Virginia State Board 
Examination on the laws, rules, and regulations for 
funeral practice.  
 
Currently, mortuary science programs in the two 
Community Colleges (Tidewater and John Tyler) 
require coursework in all phases of funeral service 
– directing and embalming. The requirements of this 
section specify graduation from an accredited 
program or completion of 60 hours of coursework 
from a funeral directing program. The regulation will 
allow a student to meet the requirement for a funeral 
directing license without having to complete 
coursework in the science of embalming.  
The Board does believe a course in pathology is 
essential for a funeral director to fully understand 
the nature of blood-borne pathogens and the 
science relating to human remains, so such a 
course is required. The course may be completed 
within a mortuary school program or may be a 
course approved by the board that can be taken 
online outside the program. 
 
An applicant for licensure must demonstrate 
competency by passage of a licensing exam – 
either the International Conference exam that is 
currently required for a funeral service license or a 
“State Board Examination in Arts”, which is the Arts 
portion of the National Examination that is offered to 
candidates for licensure in states where a funeral 
directing license is available. The applicant would 
not be required to take the Science portion of the 
national exam. 
 
Applicants for all types of licensure are required to 
pass the state examination on laws and regulations. 
 
Subsection B specifies the documentation that must 
be submitted with an application package to 
determine eligibility. 
 
Subsection C specifies that the Board may license 
someone with a felony conviction. 

 
The Code (§ 54.1-2813) has specific language for 
licensure for the practice of funeral service, 
including (i) must be at least 18 years of age; (ii) 
hold a high school diploma or its equivalent; (iii) 
have completed a funeral service internship 
prescribed by the Board in regulation; (iv) have 
graduated from a school of mortuary science or 
funeral service approved by the Board; and (v) 
have passed the examination for licensure.  
The Board, in its discretion, may license an 
individual convicted of a felony if he has 
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successfully fulfilled all conditions of sentencing, 
been pardoned, or has had his civil rights restored.  
 
The Code authorizes the issuance of a funeral 
directing license but does not provide the 
specifications for that license as is found for the 
funeral service license. Therefore, the provisions of 
section 231 include similar language. 
  

 18VAC65-20-
232 

 Sets out the requirements for an embalmer license 
by examination. 
 
Subsection A requires an applicant for licensure as 
an embalmer to: 
1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school 
diploma or its equivalent;  
2. Have completed a funeral service or embalming 
internship prescribed by the board in regulation; 
3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary 
science or funeral service accredited by the 
American Board of Funeral Service Education, 
Incorporated, or have completed an embalming 
program approved by the board;   
4. Have passed the National Board Examination in 
Sciences or State Board Examination in Sciences 
of the International Conference of Funeral Service 
Examining Boards; and  
5. Have passed the Virginia State Board 
Examination on the laws, rules, and regulations for 
funeral practice. 
 
Subsection B specifies the documentation that must 
be submitted with an application package to 
determine eligibility. 
 
Subsection C specified that the Board may license 
someone with a felony conviction. 
 
Licensure as an embalmer does require the 
coursework in embalming in a mortuary science 
program but would not require the applicant to 
have completed coursework in such areas as 
preneed funeral planning. The examination 
required would be the National Examination of the 
International Conference or the State Examination 
in Sciences, which is the Sciences portion of the 
national examination. 
 
Subsections B and C are identical to those in 
section 231. 

18VAC20-
500 

 Sets our 
grounds for 
disciplinary 
action 

Number 10 is added to provide grounds for 
discipline if a licensee is found to be conducting 
activities or performing services outside the scope 
of one’s practice or for which the licensee is not 
trained and individually competent. 
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With separate licenses and scopes of practice, it is 
necessary for the Board to establish as grounds for 
discipline any practice outside the scope of one’s 
license. 

18VAC65-
40-130 

 Establishes 
the basic 
requirements 
for an 
internship 

Section 130 is amended to specify not only the 
general requirements for all internships in funeral 
practice, but to also specify the particular 
requirements of an internship in funeral directing or 
embalming. 
Subsection A amends the number of hours of 
training from 3,000 to 2,000 for all interns.  
In its regulatory action following a periodic review, 
the Board had already proposed to reduce the 
hours for a funeral service intern. The RAP and the 
Board discussed the hours and compared with 
other states – most of which require a year or the 
equivalent of training. There was concern that a 
reduced number of hours for an embalming license 
would not provide enough opportunity to work with 
a variety of human remains (autopsies, accidental 
deaths, etc.). It was agreed that at least 12 months 
of training is essential for all types of licenses to 
ensure competency. 
 
Subsection D is added to specify that interns in 
funeral directing must assist in at least 25 funerals, 
25 arrangement conferences, as well as visitations 
and financing of funeral services.  
Subsection E is added to specify that interns in 
embalming must assist in at least 25 embalmings, 
as well as treatment, restorative art, safety and 
sanitation, and organ, tissue, or anatomical 
donation. 

 18VAC65-40-
185 

 New section 185 specifies the requirements for an 
application for funeral directing or embalming 
licensure. 
The requirements for a funeral service intern are 
specified in § 54.1-2817 of the Code and in section 
180. Those requirements for an applicant in funeral 
directing or embalming are set out in section 185 in 
the amended regulation. 

18VAC65-
40-220 

 Sets out 
qualifications 
for a site to be 
used as 
training of 
interns 

Subsection A is amended by adding #4 and #5 to 
specify the particular qualifications for a site to be 
used to train a funeral directing intern or an 
embalming intern. The site must have 50 or more 
funerals over a 12-month period for a funeral 
directing intern, or it must have 50 or more bodies 
for embalming for an embalming intern. In both 
cases, the funeral establishment can seek 
approval to use additional training sites if they 
don’t have the requisite number of funerals or 
embalmings. 

18VAC65-
40-250 

 Sets out 
requirements 
for supervision 

Subsection F is added to specify that no more than 
two interns can be concurrently registered by a 
licensed supervisor in any category of licensure 
and to require that the supervisor be actively 
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of a funeral 
intern 

employed or under contract with a funeral 
establishment. 
The intent of the additional subsection is to ensure 
that an intern is being actively supervised rather 
than supervision in name only. The Code of 
Virginia provides the limitation of two per 
supervisor for funeral service interns, but does not 
specifically address a limitation for funeral directing 
or embalming interns. Therefore, the amendment 
to section 250 is necessary for consistency with 
the Code for all three categories. 
§ 54.1-2817: No more than two funeral service 
interns shall be concurrently registered under any 
one person licensed for the practice of funeral 
service, funeral directing or embalming. Each 
sponsor for a registered funeral service intern must 
be actively employed by or under contract with a 
funeral establishment. 

18VAC65-
40-320 

 Sets out 
requirements 
for reporting to 
the Board on 
an internship 

In its periodic review, the Board had already 
proposed the changes in subsection A and B, so 
they are repeated in this action. 
Subsection C is added to specify that an intern 
cannot receive credit for training on a new 1,000 
report until the previous 1,000 hour report has 
been approved by the board.  
The purpose is to ensure that the intern is not 
wasting hours in activity that is not approved for 
the scope of practice or that the intern is being 
solely utilized for activities that do not lead to 
licensure. For example, if a funeral directing intern 
has not assisted in a single arrangement meeting 
in the first 1,000 hours, it would indicate that the 
establishment is not providing adequate training. 
 
Subsection D is added to mirror the language in 
the Code for funeral service interns so it is 
applicable to funeral directing and embalming 
interns. 
 
§ 54.1-2817: Credit shall not be allowed for any 
period of internship that has been completed more 
than three years prior to application for license or 
more than five years prior to examination for 
license. If all requirements for licensure are not 
completed within five years of initial application, 
the Board may deny an additional internship. A 
funeral service intern may continue to practice for 
up to 90 days from the completion of his internship 
or until he has taken and received the results of all 
examinations required by the Board. However, the 
Board may waive such limitation for any person in 
the armed service of the United States when 
application for the waiver is made in writing within 
six months of leaving service or if the Board 
determines that enforcement of the limitation will 
create an unreasonable hardship. 
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If the regulatory change is replacing an emergency regulation, but changes have been made since the 
emergency regulation became effective, also complete Table 3 to describe the changes made since the 
emergency regulation.  
 
Table 3: Changes to the Emergency Regulation 
 

Emergency 
chapter-
section 
number 

Current emergency requirement Change, intent, rationale, and likely 
impact of new or changed 
requirements since emergency stage 

20-231 In subsection A2, an applicant is 
required to complete a funeral 
service internship.  

An applicant for licensure as a funeral 
director may qualify by completion of a 
“funeral directing” internship instead of a 
“funeral service” internship.  
The amendment corrects an oversight in the 
adoption of emergency regulations. 

20-231 In subsection A 3, an applicant for 
a funeral directing license is 
required to have completed an 
accredited associate degree in 
funeral service or at least 60 hours 
of coursework from a funeral 
directing program approved by the 
board. 

The amendment to the emergency 
requirement is the insertion after 
“coursework”, “of which at least 30 hours 
shall be in coursework” from a funeral 
directing program approved by the board. 
The Board does not intend to require 
“board-approval” for all 60 hours – only for 
the 30 hours that pertain to funeral 
directing. The amendment is less restrictive 
and consistent with a guidance document 
(65-7) that the Board adopted at its January 
meeting stating its interpretation of section 
231:  

In determining whether an applicant meets 

the educational requirements, the Board 

provides the following guidance: 

 

• An applicant is required to 

complete at a minimum an 

Associate’s Degree or its 

equivalent, which consists of at 

least 60 credit hours of coursework. 

• As part of or in addition to the 

minimum Associate’s Degree or 60 

hours of coursework required, an 

applicant is required to complete a 

Board-approved program in funeral 

directing (at least 30 credit hours of 

the 60+ total hours).  

• Funeral directing coursework 

should be completed through a 

school of mortuary science or 

funeral service that is accredited by 

the American Board of Funeral 

Service Education, Incorporated 
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(ABFSE) for its mortuary 

science/funeral service program. 
 
 

20-232 In subsection A2, an applicant is 
required to complete a funeral 
service internship.  

An applicant for licensure as an embalmer 
may qualify by completion of an 
“embalming” internship instead of a “funeral 
service” internship.  
The amendment corrects an oversight in the 
adoption of emergency regulations. 

20-500 Current regulations list failure to 
register as a supervisor for a 
funeral service intern as grounds 
for disciplinary action for a 
licensee. 

The amendment in the proposed action 
deletes the words “funeral service” so the 
regulation references “intern” and is 
applicable to any type of intern. 
The amendment corrects an oversight in the 
adoption of emergency regulations. 

30-50 Current regulations prohibit a 
funeral service intern from 
engaging in the sale of preneed 
funeral planning.  

The amendment in the proposed action 
deletes the word “service” so the regulation 
references a funeral intern and is applicable 
to any type of intern. 
The amendment corrects an oversight in the 
adoption of emergency regulations. 

40-130 Section 140 in Chapter 40 sets out 
the requirements for an internship 
in funeral service, funeral directing, 
or embalming. 

Subsection F is added to clarify the process 
for a person who completes an internship 
as a funeral director or an embalmer, but 
who then wants to become a funeral service 
licensee with the full range of tasks and 
responsibilities. The proposed language 
states that registration as an intern expires 
upon issuance of a license as a funeral 
director or an embalmer. If someone wants 
to pursue the funeral service license, a new 
internship may be approved by the Board 
for the duration of time needed to complete 
additional courses and cases. An internship 
cannot be used just for the purpose of 
expanding one’s scope of practice. 
 
Subsection G is added to specify that an 
intern must be appropriately identified to the 
public by use of a title, nametag, or any 
form of communication.  

40-320 In subsection D, the regulation 
specifies the period of 90 days in 
which an intern may continue to 
practice upon completion of 
internship hours or until the intern 
has received the results of all 
examinations required by the 
board, whichever occurs first. 

The phrase “whichever occurs first” is 
deleted to conform the regulatory language 
with statute in 54.1-2817 which states:  
 
A funeral service intern may continue to 

practice for up to 90 days from the 

completion of his internship or until he has 

taken and received the results of all 

examinations required by the Board. 
 
 
 


